Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some Advice and Approval
Buy the Paperback version. It is cheaper. The Kindle edition I bought had several defects. The maps are very difficult to read on the screen (very small lettering) and it is inconvenient to go back to them when you are reading. I found that some pages seemed to be duplicated which was confusing.
The style and content are excellent and the prologue pointed out that...
Published on 27 Jun 2011 by TheHistoryTeacher

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An authoritative work
This is the standard history of its subject. It is written in a rather dry, academic manner,and seems rather dated. It takes for granted some areas which could have been covered in more detail (eg the Armada), and is very eurocentric, with very little on the American Empire.
Published 21 months ago by John Torrox


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some Advice and Approval, 27 Jun 2011
Buy the Paperback version. It is cheaper. The Kindle edition I bought had several defects. The maps are very difficult to read on the screen (very small lettering) and it is inconvenient to go back to them when you are reading. I found that some pages seemed to be duplicated which was confusing.
The style and content are excellent and the prologue pointed out that when the book was written there were very few or no studies in Spanish or other languages of this period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost forty years on, as majestic as ever, 31 Mar 2002
By A Customer
A still unsurpassed survey of Spain's greatest age of glory and decline. To be read in conjunction with the author's other masterpiece, "The Revolt of the Catalans", recently reprinted. Well worth taking with you on a Spanish beach holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An authoritative work, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the standard history of its subject. It is written in a rather dry, academic manner,and seems rather dated. It takes for granted some areas which could have been covered in more detail (eg the Armada), and is very eurocentric, with very little on the American Empire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the bible book, 3 Mar 2007
This review is from: Imperial Spain 1469-1716 (Paperback)
i take 16c history for a-level and half the course is on spain, i joke with my friend that this book is our bible, i use it for referance in all my essays! it is so detailed and yet so easy to understand. it helps put everything into context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A warning, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imperial Spain 1469-1716 (Paperback)
This book covers administrative, economic and social history of the empire and does an excellent job at that.

However it assumes that you are familiar with the Spanish international political / military history and discusses impacts of involvement in foreign affairs without specifically describing details of those affairs. (For example, there's hardly any mention of the Italian Wars and you won't be able to figure out the extent of Habsburg-Ottoman conflict based solely on this book.) So, if you're more interested in international politics and warfare narrative, you should rather search elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ojo, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imperial Spain 1469-1716 (Paperback)
Very difficult to get into for someone with no history knowledge. Has a very dry style and hard to build up a picture of what is happening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Queen ,fighting for survival as a Queen and as a Woman, 16 May 2014
By 
Ferreira Pinto (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imperial Spain 1469-1716 (Paperback)
Good book , well written , engaging , easy to read .I deeply recommend to someone , who wants to understand this trouble times .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic single volume narrative, 24 Mar 2012
By 
Chris (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Imperial Spain 1469-1716 (Paperback)
An excellent read if you're after a relatively brief narrative of Spanish history. Charts the rise and fall of Imperial Spain in simple yet well written prose, teasing out the theme of an overstretched imperial inheritance built upon unsound foundations. If you're looking for detail on Spanish foreign policy or military history look elsewhere. Fully recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is fantastic, 22 Jan 2004
By 
D. Simons "collectauctionamazon" (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I hated A Level history before I read this.
This book explains all about the history of Spain and how the Moors settled.
Everything became clear after reading this and also this book should be read if studying Elizabeth I as it all interlinks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ill informed, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imperial Spain 1469-1716 (Paperback)
Pretentious, ill informed, chauvinist treatment of the subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Imperial Spain 1469-1716
Imperial Spain 1469-1716 by J. H Elliott (Paperback - 25 July 2002)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews