Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (42)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good - but a cyncial marketing / sales exercise?
Make no mistake - as an avid Clancy fan I still found this book a good read. Clancy is, for the most part, still in a different league for details and well constructed plots.
But.......I was left, ultimately, feeling disapointed on 2 counts. (1) whilst good, and definately better than Red Rabbit, it is no where near as good as the Jack Ryan and Clark novels; and (2)...
Published on 15 Sep 2003 by Tricky Dickie

versus
34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful
Unfortunately Teeth of the Tiger can only be described as another downward step on the alarmingly declining career of Tom Clancy. Much shorter than most of his earlier work, this novel still takes an age to really get going and much of the book seems to be used as little more than a platform for the author’s own political (very right wing) agenda.
The story is...
Published on 15 Sep 2003


‹ Previous | 18 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NSA, CIA, Black operations, 10 Mar 2005
This review is from: The Teeth of the Tiger (Jack Ryan Jr 1) (Paperback)
Just 3 words.
I loved this Book. It's all there.
Black operations, NSA, muslim terrorism, drugs cartel.
When I read some negative reviews about this book, I was a little afraid to buy this book.
For my surprise, i began reading and couldn't stop it.
I think that this is one of the books in which Tom Clancy explains and show us, how S.I.S can track you life with software programs.
Buy it !!you will enjoy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Classic Clancy!, 30 Dec 2003
By 
Debbie (Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
Again, an excellent story, this time centering on a younger generation of characters, Jack Ryan Jr and his cousins.
The plot is gripping as always, and at times so realistic that you do tend to wonder just how much is based on fact and how much is fiction!
Don't buy this book if you are expecting to read more about Jack Ryan Sr. There are snipets of information about what has happened to previous characters though and although the references are brief, the information is at times highly suprising, for example, the name of the current president!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deserves a good review, 8 Feb 2004
This review is from: The Teeth of the Tiger (Hardcover)
OK this book has gotten a beating in this review section and i want to change that, because honestly its a good book. I'm not an avid Clanct fan, I read Rainbow Six and to be honest I thought it was a long book that could have been cut and trimmed to at least half the size, but with this book everything was well paced, sometimes a little fast, but good storytelling made up for this. Jack Jnr does seem like an excuse to relate back to the other books (which I havent read) and some things are a little too coincidental, thats the bad parts. Now the good parts are exciting story telling, interesting character development (its interesting to read what each character will do when put in a certain situation) even unimportant characters are quite interesting, like "the senator". The two main characters the Caruso brothers play off each others personality well and you really feel as though they ARE brothers not just "two brothers in a book". That said this book is very enjoyable and i for one would recommend it to new clancy fans as pretty much cuts loose its main ties to his other novels involving Jack Ryan snr and concentrates on fresh blood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 31 May 2007
This review is from: The Teeth of the Tiger (Jack Ryan Jr 1) (Paperback)
Another typical Tom Clancy - a big book in all respects, which he handles in his usual competent manner. The plot may be somewhat over the top, though there are some parallels in the real world with unacknowledged covert units operating in the murky world of counter-terrorism. He writes action scenes with authority, and the characters are real and almost entirely believable - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teeth of the Tiger, 2 Sep 2004
This review is from: The Teeth of the Tiger (Jack Ryan Jr 1) (Paperback)
I always like to read Tom Clancy's work, in fact I found this book so good that I could not put it down, and read it from cover to cover in about 5 hours. One thing that really pleased me was the lack of armed forces that had begun to make this series begin to look a little jaded. However, this book is a radical departure from that arena, to the secret world of the spy and assassin, whilst continuing the main story line - that of Jack Ryan; as such it really scores with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 4 April 2006
This review is from: The Teeth of the Tiger (Jack Ryan Jr 1) (Paperback)
This is the first book of Tom Clancy ive read (although i have watched the film version of The Hunt For Red October).
I must say that i agree with the comment made earlier about it taking a while to get going, but i found that it was somewhat addictive. The writing style is good, always mixing the different aspects and side stories into each other in a fashion where you can read the book and not lose track of who is who etc.
I would highly recommend the book to anyone with an interest in this genre, and i will also say that having got 8/10's of the way through Teeth of The Tiger, i will definately be venturing into other books from Tom.
Im normally a reader of Andy McNab books but as of late i lost interest in them as they all seemed the same, so thought id take a change of author and so far im pleasently surprised.
Well worth a read in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A positive step forward..., 29 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Teeth of the Tiger (Hardcover)
This new Clancy is DEFINATELY a postive step in the right direction for Mr Clancy.The characterisation is very good and the plot hammers along nicely like Clancy's other greats.The two Caruso brothers , in my opinion , are very decent, well-rouded characters, who relly make the book exciting in the Viginia mall shootout.There are only TWO MAIN FAULTS in this book and they are: There is a lack of interesting sub-plots like in Rainbow Six or Executive Orders, and also the books seems to end abruptly even though the ending is well written and fits the story nicely.This would be a good Clancy to start on for beginners, but not the best.The bottom line is, Clancy is improving and his next book should be back to his utmost best...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The teeth in this book were removed for safety reasons, 23 April 2006
By 
James Williams (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Teeth of the Tiger (Jack Ryan Jr 1) (Paperback)
Firstly this is definatly not the best of Clancys work. However it is not as bad as ther other reviews made it. I agree that the characters are weak at times, and the story does wander a bit, but overall a decent read. I get the feeling the book was rushed but still a very good read, proof that Clancy is undisputed king of this genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Teeth of the Tiger (Jack Ryan Jr 1)
The Teeth of the Tiger (Jack Ryan Jr 1) by Tom Clancy (Paperback - 26 Aug 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews