Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You haven't read it yet? - What's your education?!!
Professor Crystal's "The English Language" is a must-read for all language students and in general everyone interested in language. Professor is famous for his reader-friendly style. A quality which is especially beneficial to the historical section of the present book.

The discussion in the book starts with the major aspects of language - vocabulary, grammar,...
Published on 14 Aug 2010 by Annie Martirosyan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but hard to follow
I am about to study English language at sixth form and this was one of the recommended books to read before my course starts. I found the book very interesting at times and very boring at others, I particularly enjoyed the first and third sections of the book but the second section could easily have been cut out as the book became slightly long winded. The language used...
Published 3 months ago by Kate Marshall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You haven't read it yet? - What's your education?!!, 14 Aug 2010
By 
Annie Martirosyan "Annie" (Armenia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The English Language: A Guided Tour of the Language (Paperback)
Professor Crystal's "The English Language" is a must-read for all language students and in general everyone interested in language. Professor is famous for his reader-friendly style. A quality which is especially beneficial to the historical section of the present book.

The discussion in the book starts with the major aspects of language - vocabulary, grammar, and pronunciation. And if language students should think they are familiar enough with these topics - they will, however, find many fascinating nuances and perspectives not encountered or thought about before.

The second part of the book discusses the uses of language such as its proneness to ludicity, idiolect, its different manifestations in different occupational groups, and the ripe effects of technology in the productive evolution of the English language. Professor is quite infecting in his fascination with the unlimited potential of the language.

The third section discusses the historical growth of English - in such an accurate, comprehensible and flexible manner that you are rather quick to grasp the historical situation, get a feel of the language at different periods in history and remember all the important dates through easily associated events.

This section includes a neat demonstration of the relation and differences between British English and American English.

The great merit of this part is also the discussion of Scots and Irish English alongside Australian, New Zealand, South African, Canadian Englishes.

And the introduction to the Plain English campaigns is another fresh topic which has found space in this remarkable book.

I strongly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Introductory, 20 Feb 2006
By 
Debbie (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The English Language: A Guided Tour of the Language (Paperback)
For so long during my English Language A Level i put off reading this book. Yet now i have finished and i am starting my English degree next year, i am reading it. I have to say that this is a great introduction to an A Level course in English, and for those who just want to know more about the language we speak.
It includes information on grammar, vocabulary, RP, spelling, the uses of English now and the history of English. It is a fascinating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Language made Crystal clear, 17 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The English Language: A Guided Tour of the Language (Paperback)
A non-fiction book I couldn't put down! David Crystal, with his reputation as a linguistics guru, presents a remarkably accessible and entertaining jolly into the background of the english language. It would have been so easy to blind us with science and technical terms but this book engages you throughout. The English language belongs to us all and the book certainly made me both feel that and make me want to delve a bit deeper ... in fact: I've just placed an order for another of his books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The E nglish Language: A Guided Tour of the Language., 27 July 2009
By 
Charles R. Mcmorrow (Tarvin. Chester. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The English Language: A Guided Tour of the Language (Paperback)
I would recommend this book to anyone interested in the English language for whatever reason. I am currently studying English with The Open University and find books by David Crystal very useful additions to my other study materials.

Charles R McMorrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 11 Oct 2009
This review is from: The English Language: A Guided Tour of the Language (Paperback)
Thoughtful, creative, and honest. Provides a great read if you are interested in understanding how the English language works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but hard to follow, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am about to study English language at sixth form and this was one of the recommended books to read before my course starts. I found the book very interesting at times and very boring at others, I particularly enjoyed the first and third sections of the book but the second section could easily have been cut out as the book became slightly long winded. The language used was difficult to understand at times so if your vocabulary is quite limited I recommend reading the book on a kindle where the definition of words can be easily looked up. Has some good, interesting facts but some parts are unnecessary and over analysed. Well written and overall a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book from a greatauthority, 8 May 2014
By 
M. S. Windisch "Handel Freak" (Wembley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The English Language: A Guided Tour of the Language (Paperback)
This one for my grandson filled the bill admirably. David Crystal is one of the great authorities and the book is very sensitively written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 15 Oct 2013
By 
G. Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my English Language OU course, but it is a fascinating book anyway whether you are studying or not. David Crystal writes in a most accessible way about language. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, but lightweight, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The English Language: A Guided Tour of the Language (Paperback)
It's full of interesting info on the language - you'll read it quickly and fall in love with David Crystal - like many others before you....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The English Language: A Guided Tour of the Language, 10 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The English Language: A Guided Tour of the Language (Paperback)
Since I bought this book for myself after viewing it on Amazon UK, I am delighted to say that this is a brilliant read because it is very informative. If you enjoy learning about the English Language, I would strongly recommend that you purchase this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The English Language: A Guided Tour of the Language
The English Language: A Guided Tour of the Language by David Crystal (Paperback - 28 Mar 2002)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews