Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
37
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2003
Astonshing and humbling account of heroism, immaculately researchred. You can no longer consider McQueen and Pat Reid as the POWs of WW2. Considering that this was so recent our kids should know what happened, so that they can understand the origins of what is occurring on our continent today.
Read this book and count the number of times you shake your head in disbelief at how so many ordinary men dealt with the extremes of cruelty, bad luck and bloody ill-fortune.
Not only that it is just really, really good reading
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2003
This book tells in graphic detail the horrors undergone by thousands of British, Commonwealth and American POW's in the prison camps and on forced marches as the Second World War ground to a close. As well as telling the hitherto untold story of their experiences, it also uses extracts from a number of their memoirs. The descriptions of theor forced marches and the hell they underwent leave nothing to the imagination, and the events after their liberation also show how unready the allied command was for dealing with the thousands of displaced POW's. The book is very well written and many of the descriptions bring a lump to your throat when you realise just how badly most of our POW' wre treated in the camps.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2002
This is a truly excellent book. It reveals how POWs braved shocking conditions with bravery and fortitude. It shows that most POWs rose to the challenge of captivity but the authors do not shy away from exposing ccowards and n'eer do wells. The authors also show how the Allied governments could have done more to help POWs but did not. Most Germans do not emerge with credit but some do. If there is a moral here in what is a many sided book it is this: being a POW is often as hard as being a combatant.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2003
This is quite simply one of the best and most moving books I have ever had the pleasure of reading. It is the often overlooked story of the marches forced upon the British, Commonwealth and American Prisoners of war as the Germans began to walk them from areas of Russia and Poland back towards Berlin after it became apparent that the war was coming to an end.
What these men went through (and largely survived) has to be read to be belived and 'humbling' doesn't begin to describe the feelings you are left with after reading the story of these forgotton hero's.
A beautiful, hard back, book which would be a bargain at twice the price!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2011
Over the years I have read many books about WW2 including POW and escape stories, but I; and I would imagine most people, were unaware of the sheer brutality and neglect that the Allied prisoners of the German POW camp system were subjected to from the time that the camps were about to be over-run by the Red Army, until the very last days(and in some cases after)of the European war.
One must wonder how it is that the facts of what occurred have been kept so quiet for so long. It is; shamefully, one of the last, and worst stories to emerge, albeit 60 years on, about the final chaotic months of the European war.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2010
"The Last Escape"A book brought to my attention by my wife, who in turn had it loaned to her by an old gentleman whom she looks after. He is a veteran of the 2nd world war,at 96 he is living history. Ex RAF aircrew. He obviously had some knowledge of this tragic story of POW evacuation from east to west as the allies closed in at the beginning of 1945.
As the Russian army advanced into Germany in the worst winter for many years, allied POW were without warning moved from camps in the east, westwards. This was not an act of protection and it is still not clear exactly what the motive was. However with no warning prisoners were assembled sometimes in the middle of the night and marched out of the camps in their thousands. They were totally unprepared. Thus started a trail of suffering that covered many hundreds of miles. The suffering and privations these men suffered was horrific.
The last months of the war as the allies advanced is well documented. The fate of Pow as Germany began to collapse is not well known but should be known. Acts of comradeship and compassion unsurpassed. Anyone remotely interested in that world changing time should read this. The authors John Nichol & Tony Rennel have done these men and us, a great service in telling about this largely unknown period of history still in living memory.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2005
My late mother always said that her father was a hero, captured at St Valery and destined to spend the next 5 years in Stalag XXA. She told me he had to walk home.
Until I read this account of the hardship and horrors, I took in the Colditz/Great Escape/Wooden Horse hype. No longer.
The fortitude and inner strength displayed by these men is astounding and should be essential reading for any damn fool politician considering yet another immoral and illegal bloody misadventure. And, unusually for a military history, its human interest element makes it come alive.
I now KNOW that my grandfather was a silent hero.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2002
This is an excellent and thought provoking book. It shows that many POWs were as heroic as men on the front line and it reveals how POWs were often callously abandoned in the interests of the realpolitik of the countries they served. A smashing book.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 April 2014
This book tells you everything you might want to know about the POW in wartime Germany. It not only examines the actual first-hand experiences but also tells you what was going on behind the scenes politically that affected their lives as prisoners. I really can't fault it; eminently readable, well researched, fascinating stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2007
What an astonishing read this book is. I never knew about this remarkable story of bravery, courage and fortitude by so many Allied prisoners of war.

Told in a brilliant fashion, this should be read by everybody with an interest in WW2
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)