Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lyrical journey through early life, a song of a book., 13 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Favourite Game (Paperback)
This is a masterpiece and one that will strike chords with anyone who has experienced the angst, confusion, despair and ecstatic happiness that accompanies the tortuous journey to adulthood.
This is a semi-autobiographical novel charting the early years of Breavman, an aspiring writer and philosopher through his relationships with his family, best friend and lovers. Cohen's early poetic style is evident throughout. Emotion and humour are meted out in equal measure moving the reader from pain to laughter with remarkable regularity.
As a novel this is, without doubt, the finest rites of passage story I have read. As a book of prose poetry it is incredible. The quality is consistent throughout, and the ending will tear you apart. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book !!!, 14 Jun 2005
By 
I had to enter a review for this book, I think it is the most excellent book I've ever read, turned me into an eternal Leonard Cohen fan. Every line is absolutely beautiful and profound, I think if I were to read it 100 times over (which I intend to do!)I would still find lines words and lines that perhaps didn't impact the first time round. It is the most poetic and inspiring book, as are his other books and his music - I think they should have a talking book with Leonard reading it because his voice is sooooooo sexy. Buy this book; it's excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Darkly intelligent humour, 25 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Favourite Game (Paperback)
Cohen's writes energetically and with loads of dark humour and insight into the human condition. Reading this book is just like listening to his music really quietly and for a long time. Cohen fans will love it, but the uninitiated may hate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Six stars, 15 Mar 2009
By 
P. A. KRIJGSMAN (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a top ten read, alongside Le Grand Meaulnes, To Kill a Mockingbird and The Catcher in the Rye, tempered and cured by the passage of time. The story concerns Lawrence Breavman, a Montreal jew who sketches vividly how we react to the mysteries of relationships and life. Like his songs, the author relieves the melancholy with humour. The writing is, in places astounding. Other reviewers have noted that they will re-read this book 100 times. It is richly quotable on most subjects that deserve thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leonard, 17 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Favourite Game (Paperback)
Leonard Cohen's first novel is certainly more conventional in form than Beautiful Losers, but is nevertheless very Leonard in substance. Perhaps more accessible than Beautiful Losers (nevertheless/Leonard/etc.). Definitely one to read - it's about growing up (people do that), about love (same), about being, well, unhappy. Universal themes, really. There's the whole poet theme as well. Leonard Cohen is a poet, so that follows. Yeah, you want to read this. A fine novel from a fine Leonard Cohen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the greates books about growing up, 22 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Favourite Game (Paperback)
this is without question one of the greatest books written about growing up. based on his own backround cohen has written a book that might well be better than all his songs put together. in his lyrical words we are brought on a journey through the earliest childhood to maturity. it is at least as good as joyce's portrait of the artist as a young man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Join the game!, 19 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this book as a gift for a friend and so I was wanting quality as well as a realistic price. I would thoroughly recommend it to other people. I was really pleased by the quality of the book I received and ordering it through Amazon was brilliant - good price, was kept informed of the progress of my order and it was despatched swiftly. Way to go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Favourite Game
The Favourite Game by Leonard Cohen (Paperback - 25 Oct 2001)
Used & New from: 9.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews