Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy of the great lady.
Linda Lear must be a very patient and dedicated author indeed to have researched and produced a book like this.A labour of love this must surely be,you would think that that any book containing so much painstaking detail might tend to bore the reader to death. No such thing ,it is one of those you dont want to put down. If you want to know anything about the life and...
Published on 23 April 2008 by Anthony B. Whittle

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well researched but a very dull read
THe author has clearly immersed herself in her subject but she has turned a fascinating life into a very boring biography. The book needed to be edited more thoroughly to engage the reader. The photographs are very nice but do not compensate for the turgid style of writing.
Published 14 months ago by Barbara K


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy of the great lady., 23 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Beatrix Potter: The extraordinary life of a Victorian genius (Paperback)
Linda Lear must be a very patient and dedicated author indeed to have researched and produced a book like this.A labour of love this must surely be,you would think that that any book containing so much painstaking detail might tend to bore the reader to death. No such thing ,it is one of those you dont want to put down. If you want to know anything about the life and times of Beatrix Potter you are almost certain to find it here,it is so interesting and well written not to mention the inclusion of some beautifull paintings by the great lady plus ample photographs.You certanly get your moneys worth with this comprehensive work, I can think of nothing bad to say about it, on the contrary -quite brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Less is more, 28 July 2010
By 
E. Hood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beatrix Potter: The extraordinary life of a Victorian genius (Paperback)
This is without doubt the most researched biography I have read on Beatrix Potter being a specialist interest. The research done is amazing. No stone is left unturned. Every detail you want and don't want is there descriptions of her farmers people she met there sons who took an interest in her books. Nothing is missed and I mean nothing.

Unfortunatly this book is a case of less is more. I sometimes just put the book down after reading desriptions of someones son who was good looking, had blonde hair and blue eyes. Many bits of conversation are included. One friend read the book to review it for a book group and by the time she got to the end she had forgotten about the start so switched to reading Margaret Lanes biography (also on Amazon and published a few years after Beatrix Death. Revised in 1985) which is not so long and detailed but tells you all about her.

If you want a complete scholarly work or doing research then this is your book. No detail is missed and I mean NO detail.

5 stars for the work, collection of information and vast amount of knowledge. The authors research is quite incredible. However if you want a more general read I would probably suggest Margaret Lanes book. One star was deducted as I think it has too much information. A case of less is more.

Still great if its your kind of book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book, 30 Sep 2009
By 
C. Seibert "Clare" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beatrix Potter: The extraordinary life of a Victorian genius (Paperback)
This is a very detailed book. At the beginning, you really do have to persevere as it discusses in extraordinary detail, Beatrix's research into spores and fungi. This is quite trying at times but worth trawling through for the rest of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!!, 6 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beatrix Potter: The extraordinary life of a Victorian genius (Paperback)
A brilliant book from start to finish - there's so much more to Beatrix Potter than her children's books - I never knew quite how gifted and knowledgeable she was until I read this excellent book. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so well writtern, 4 Feb 2010
This review is from: Beatrix Potter: The extraordinary life of a Victorian genius (Paperback)
I enjoy biographies and read quite a few-being a painter I usually find myself reading about artists.When you find something that is so well written it is a delight-sadly, because it was so absorbing and easily digested I doubt whether I can read it for some years as I'm sure I can remember it too well!It put me in mind of Vera Brittains 'Testament of Youth'-another gripping read.
I gave my first copy of Linda Lears book to a friend who I know will find it as good as I do,then I bought myself another copy!
Read it-you wont be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beatrix Potter - The Extraordinary Life of a Victorian Genius, 17 Mar 2009
By 
Mrs. M. Tuck (Haverhill, Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beatrix Potter: The extraordinary life of a Victorian genius (Paperback)
After watching the recent film about Beatrix Potters earlier life, I wanted to know more about her. I was not disappointed with this book, which told of her 'tale' up to her death. The photographs of her, especially in her old age, were lovely to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatrix Potter Great British Treasure, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beatrix Potter: The extraordinary life of a Victorian genius (Paperback)
A real page turner
fantastic read. wonderfully written. a great and interesting life story.none of which i knew. well done Linda Lear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars xmas, 3 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beatrix Potter: The extraordinary life of a Victorian genius (Paperback)
made a well received xmas present
had a recent holiday in hawkshead so
made ideal holiday reading for my wife
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well researched but a very dull read, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beatrix Potter: The extraordinary life of a Victorian genius (Paperback)
THe author has clearly immersed herself in her subject but she has turned a fascinating life into a very boring biography. The book needed to be edited more thoroughly to engage the reader. The photographs are very nice but do not compensate for the turgid style of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars insite into an extaordinary lady, 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very interesting if some what sad life, worth reading. a good insite to her life as a writter and a farmer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beatrix Potter: The extraordinary life of a Victorian genius
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews