Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yep, it is a classic
I first read this when I was in my teans and now I am in my mid-forties I thought it was time for a revisit. I'm a Bond fan, love the films and have read all the various books from Fleming through to Benson and I have to admit I was surprised how much I had forgotten about this book, my memories having been tarnished by the film and the more modern versions of Bond...
Published on 21 Jun 2004 by Nick Brett

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Diamonds are Forever: Ian Fleming - A decent adventure, but lacking a little sparkle.
Published in 1956, this is the fourth outing in print for Ian Fleming's spy James Bond. Here Bond is sent out to follow a diamond smuggling pipeline and to close it down. Inserted into the pipeline undercover, he has to deal with ruthless American Gangsters the Spangled mob, working his way through various scrapes with fixed horse races, hot mud baths and runaway steam...
Published 17 months ago by Victor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yep, it is a classic, 21 Jun 2004
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I first read this when I was in my teans and now I am in my mid-forties I thought it was time for a revisit. I'm a Bond fan, love the films and have read all the various books from Fleming through to Benson and I have to admit I was surprised how much I had forgotten about this book, my memories having been tarnished by the film and the more modern versions of Bond.
Initially I was astonished how old this book was (1956!) and this is more of a detective story with a Bond that is over confident and too casual at times who is at odds with the emerging American mob.
In many ways it does show its age, and this adds to the charm.
Well worth reading to remind oneself where and how it all started...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Diamonds are Forever: Ian Fleming - A decent adventure, but lacking a little sparkle., 19 Nov 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Published in 1956, this is the fourth outing in print for Ian Fleming's spy James Bond. Here Bond is sent out to follow a diamond smuggling pipeline and to close it down. Inserted into the pipeline undercover, he has to deal with ruthless American Gangsters the Spangled mob, working his way through various scrapes with fixed horse races, hot mud baths and runaway steam locomotives before finally getting to the brains of the operation.

It is written with all of Fleming's verve and eye for detail. The opening paragraphs are adsorbing, and the big set pieces, especially the locomotive chase, are thrilling and breathtaking. These are the real strengths of the book. However, it does have a weakness in that the plot really isn't up to much, and the villains are less than impressive. Fleming tries to talk them up, but there is never really any feeling of threat or danger. And the plot does have a few holes in it. In all, these weaknesses are overcome by the strength of Fleming's writing. Even with unimpressive villains and a weak plot it is still an exciting read. Fleming had a real flair for adding in little descriptive touches that really build a vivid image in the mind's eye and transport the reader to the scene, I always find it adsorbing. On balance, 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Diamonds Are Forever - An Enjoyable 007 Thriller, 27 July 2006
I think this may be the most underrated James Bond book by Ian Fleming. It literally is a thrilling read. While not his very best, it is a true gem, just with some rough edges.

Tiffany Case is one terrific leading lady by Fleming, one of his better ones, I think. A woman with a strong wall surrounding her for the most part, and one that you do not get to call all the shots with. She goes through quite a change in the story from being the frosty version we meet with Bond's alias of Peter Franks to the much happier one during their nighttime escape and Queen Elizabeth trip.

If there is one problem with this book, it is the obvious one, the villains. Yes, they are hardly some of Fleming's best. Jack and Serrafimo Spang, the beginning and end of the pipeline from England/Africa to the USA, while described as being some of the toughest of the bunch, and made out to be quite the villains, are never given enough actual time in the book to show off exactly what they are. Serrafimo gets a few minimal scenes with Bond, and Jack is....to save for spoilers...hardly in the book much at all. Wint and Kidd are fairly good though. They receive a general amount of time to be shown as a threat to Bond, as odd as they both may be.

The location switching is often claimed as a huge fault of this book, I even used to always harp on that myself, but I've come to see that it really doesn't bother me much at all. London and the USA are done fairly well for me, and I really, really love the moving around in this book. I like reading about the Tiara in the US, and the House of Diamonds, it just feels like a James Bond book.

Very excellent little aspect in this book...

A strong story overall, at times it gets murky, such as in the horse racing, and that sort, but I don't think anything in this story detracts too heavily from the overall plot.

Death is Forever. Diamonds are Forever. And this book is Forever. 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Diamonds Are Forever - James Bond's Fourth Adventure - A Diamond Maybe Forever? - But This Is Lacking, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A change of direction for in Bond in his fourth outing as he takes on American organised crime in the shape of the Spangled Mob who are smuggling diamonds from Southern Africa via London to the United States which is having an impact on the markets.

This story involves gambling in casinos and race meetings Bond travels across the United States. Along the way Bond meets his friend Felix Leither by fate on the Street. Leither is no longer with the CIA following the injuries he received (In Bond's second adventure - Live and Let Die). He is now working for the Pinkerton Detective Agency. Leither updates Bond on the Spangled Mob and that he is working on corruption in horse racing.

There are some thrills in the Nevada dessert and on the liner crossing the Atlantic. In general this story is slow paced and the two brothers that head up the Spangled Mob lack the charisma of Bond villains. Their two heavies Wint and Kidd are good.

Bond's love interest Tiffany Case has a good part in this and her background and current activities are well described in another well written book by Ian Fleming.

However, in general this lacks something all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Bond story, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bond heads to America to take on the Mafia. Plenty of action and intrigue. Fleming's fourth Bond novel and so far his best written.
Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Diamonds are Forever: James Bond 007, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Diamonds are Forever, James Bond 007, a cracking read, fabulous use of language, well paced, full of susupence and excitement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars cracking good listen for bond fans, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i love james bond stories by ian fleming, so having them on audio is very helpful, good easy listening in bed or in the car. this one is well read, and joanna lumleys voice is fab , perfect choice for this, so very good purchase indeed to add to my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I still want to read more, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While I am working away from home I have decided to read all the Bond novels. Each one so far has been a great romp. Unlike the films (with the exception of from Russia with love and the more recent Daniel Craig films) Bond has no gadgets only his wits and a battery and a pistol.
This is certainly a book of its time. Views o
n homosexuality, women and race can hardly be called enlightened, but Bond is a good man, who will stop at nothing to complete his mission, for Queen and Empire.
Bond is sent to investigate the suspected smuggling of diamonds funding organised crime. The tale takes Bond to the US where old and new friends help him in a fight against a type of foe he knows little of.
Great locations, descriptions, fights and the odd cliff hanger.
I look forward to the next novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Diamonds are Forever, Ian Fleming, Paperback 2009., 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds are Forever (Paperback)
James Bond 'Diamonds are Forever' by Ian Fleming, paperback 2009 edition with beautiful cover artwork by Michael Gillette. Used condition with slight rip in front cover, happy with purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fine novel from Fleming, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The fourth book of 007 from Ian Fleming once again does not disappoint. If anything, DAF has more action and clever sub-plots that come together well than the three precious novels. Still, all 4 have been worth every penny and I look forward to the next adventure Fleming creates for 007!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6c4f318)

This product

Diamonds are Forever (James Bond 007)
Diamonds are Forever (James Bond 007) by Ian Fleming (Paperback - 4 April 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews