Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and endearing
Being a fan of Peter Mayle's A Year in Provence and Tourjours Provence, I snapped up this gem as soon as I saw the author's name. Boy, Peter Mayle's dog, whose original debut was made in Tourjours Provence, reports on human and canine social conventions with dry humour. The drawings by Edward Koren complimented the book brilliantly, I especially liked the drawings...
Published on 11 Oct 2000

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Maybe for dog lovers.
Entertaining as a collection of short stories about the couples life and dog in France. A good quick holiday read.
Published 4 months ago by Spike


Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and endearing, 11 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Dog's Life (Paperback)
Being a fan of Peter Mayle's A Year in Provence and Tourjours Provence, I snapped up this gem as soon as I saw the author's name. Boy, Peter Mayle's dog, whose original debut was made in Tourjours Provence, reports on human and canine social conventions with dry humour. The drawings by Edward Koren complimented the book brilliantly, I especially liked the drawings accompanying Boy's infallible guide to avoid being punished over doggy peccadiloes. This is a marvellous book that all readers and dog lovers in particular will roar over. (For the record: I don't actually like dogs, but I loved Boy!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny French dog, 5 Jun 2009
By 
Paul Smith "Smiffy" (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Dog's Life (Paperback)
After reading some of Peter Mayle's other books and finding them pleasant to read thought i would give this one a try. I love france and have dogs so it should be a safe bet that i would enjoy it.
Mayle writes the book through the eyes of the Dog, Boy. It is amusing,some parts made me laugh out loud, there are the usual cliches in french books, but any one who has spent time over there should identify with them. If you like dogs or france you will enjoy this latest offering from Mayle, if you like both then you shouldn't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A doggy story, 31 Oct 2010
I would recommend " It's a Dog's life " to all, young or old, dog lover or not. The book, set in France, is written from a dog's point of view.The style is often light and humerous yet pithy, the tone, serious at times. Lots of entertaining asides about writers, visitors, France and the French.
It is an ideal choice for a book club after a ream of "heavy" literature !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A doggy Tale, 13 Feb 2011
By 
Denise K. Church (Cornwall, G.B,) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dog's Life (Paperback)
An amusing tale told from a dog's point of view, a little upsetting to start but funny once he finds 'the management'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely easy and amusing read., 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you love dogs this book is for you. It's an amusing diary of a dog living in France, Peter Mayle really knows how to tell a good story. Book was only 1p + p&p so a real bargain. Arrived in good condition very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Maybe for dog lovers., 5 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dog's Life (Paperback)
Entertaining as a collection of short stories about the couples life and dog in France. A good quick holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good story for animal lovers, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dog's Life (Paperback)
enjoyed the beginning and started to get into the book, but found that the story got very predicable and just not as good as some of his other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laughed out loud, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dog's Life (Paperback)
Bought this following a recommendation from a friend and found it to be a very enjoyable read. Funny throughout and had me laughing out loud at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Mayle, 15 Jan 2013
By 
Jady Lee "Gwennie" (Tasmania, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dog's Life (Paperback)
That poor dog - but what a wonderfuly inciteful critter - I am passing it on to a dog-loving friend of mine - she never married and all her children have been dogs. However, I don't think this book matches up to Peter Mayle's 'Year in Provence' series. He's doing well getting by on his well-known name I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book - would recommend it for any dog owner ..., 2 Aug 2014
By 
T. J. Emeny - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dog's Life (Paperback)
Fantastic book - would recommend it for any dog owner because Peter Mayles' observations are absolutely spot-on!!! I love all of his books anyway but this one really ticks all the boxes for entertainment, humour, life in France and owning a dog. Absolutely brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Dog's Life (Penguin audiobooks)
A Dog's Life (Penguin audiobooks) by Peter Mayle (Audio Cassette - 26 Oct 1995)
Used & New from: £14.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews