Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Courage to Love What You Have
Over a period of nearly thirty years Sir Dirk Bogarde established himself as a unique and compelling voice in English literature. This, at times heart rending, always compelling and immensely readable book is his finest hour. It charts the disintegration of the idyll that Bogarde shared with his former manager Forwood in Provence for twenty years. How the onset of old...
Published on 11 Oct 2000 by M. Steele

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good find
I had been looking for this book for ages. Great to find it and in such good condition.
Published on 25 Jan 2010 by Mrs. D. J. Evans


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Courage to Love What You Have, 11 Oct 2000
By 
M. Steele (Komatipoort, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Over a period of nearly thirty years Sir Dirk Bogarde established himself as a unique and compelling voice in English literature. This, at times heart rending, always compelling and immensely readable book is his finest hour. It charts the disintegration of the idyll that Bogarde shared with his former manager Forwood in Provence for twenty years. How the onset of old age in both of them and cancer in Forwood made a return to the UK a necessity. The central relationship is a complex one which has been typically and one-dimensionally assumed to be gay by the popular press. I suspect that the relationship was asexual, that of two bachelors by circumstance rather than confirmation who rather drifted to together and melded like the best of marriages. The treatment of the confusion wrought by disease and infermity is moving in the extreme. Bogarde's unselfpitying struggle to rebuild his life in small flat in Knightsbridge can only engender the sympathy of the reader. Interlaced throughout is a eulogy to the friends and life that he left behind in Southern France. This events charted are actually heroic and this book is a real contender for my favourite read of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartfelt, reserved, intensely personal writing, 4 Sep 1999
By A Customer
I'm a youngster and about as far away from the events depicted in this book as you can get but I have never experienced such a moving and involving description of what it's like to grow old as in this book. I quite liked Dirk Bogarde's films but after reading this unforgettable and honest book my repsect for him has rocketed. He'll be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 29 April 2010
By 
This is one of my favourite reads.I have ordered dirks previous 4 biogs to read since!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Short Walk From Harrods, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this book. Dirk Bogarde writes beautifully. Anyone who like me, remembers Dirk Bogarde and enjoyed his films will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The writer has written a bitter sweet memoir of his final days in southern france, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The writer has written a bitter sweet memoir of his final days in southern france, of his own struggles with ill health and old age and the loss of his partner 'forwood' after 50 odd years. At times it is too sad and affecting to read and I found passages staying with me all day. Reminding me that all we have and hold will one day be dust. Dirk Bogarde manages to recall the good times and bad, the bad are very bad indeed but told without delusion or self pity- he really is a tremendous writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good find, 25 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. D. J. Evans (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had been looking for this book for ages. Great to find it and in such good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Short Walk From Harrods - Audiobook, 19 April 2014
By 
The case for these eight discs is a little bit shabby, and two of the discs have visible scratches. However, the whole book plays well, which is the most important point, and considering that it is an ex-public library discard, it is value for money. Well packaged, swift delivery, and on the whole I am very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great value, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent. bogarde was a top class writer better than he was at acting although his acting was good when he was motivated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable listen, 18 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Justin Edsall (yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Given as a present to a blind relative, a Bogarde fan of the first water, and by the number of times its been played...... its a Hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moving and brilliant, 23 Nov 2011
By 
R. Harris "rjh" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This near final chapter in DB's life is told with uncompromising honesty rarely found in many of today's biographers. Even though it's his own account of how one's life can surely but inevitably "wind down" and pulling on his own experiences, it still remains a compelling account of his final days leaving the reader simply wanting more and asking why he had to move on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Short Walk from Harrods (Penguin audiobooks)
A Short Walk from Harrods (Penguin audiobooks) by Dirk Bogarde (Audio Cassette - 4 Nov 1993)
Used & New from: £2.16
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews