Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Many Appealing Facets of Shakespeare's Talent!
As You Like It has many qualities to attract readers and audiences. Rosalind is one of the great heroines of all romantic literature. The play has more outstanding speeches than almost any other that has ever been written. Astonishing plot complications are quickly resolved in the simplest possible way, reflecting a playwright's tour de force. The Forest of Arden appears...
Published on 5 July 2004 by Donald Mitchell

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very useful if you are putting on a production
i'm not going to review the actual play as this was done very well by another reviewer, however when wishing to purchase this play you may realise their are loads of different editions to choose from, and you may be wondering 'is this edition right for you?'

This really breaks down the text by having the play on every right-hand page and on the left has a short...
Published on 30 Sep 2008 by Amy Kinmond


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Many Appealing Facets of Shakespeare's Talent!, 5 July 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
As You Like It has many qualities to attract readers and audiences. Rosalind is one of the great heroines of all romantic literature. The play has more outstanding speeches than almost any other that has ever been written. Astonishing plot complications are quickly resolved in the simplest possible way, reflecting a playwright's tour de force. The Forest of Arden appears as a character in creating a magical atmosphere whereby all perceptions change, and all are healed. Right wins out, especially in drawing on good character . . . even from formerly badly behaving people. And for those who love marriages, this book has one of the most impressive ceremonies of all time in literature. Humans have never looked nobler in the end than in this play. Yet the play also abounds with some of the greatest lines of Shakespeare's fools that cause all of us to see that humility is more called for than pride or ambition. Certainly, As You Like It will make you feel the presence of an unmatched genius, that should inspire even the most arrogant to feel humbled in the Bard's presence.
My recommendation is that you first see a performance (whether in person, or on a recording). If that's not possible, try for an audio. Many outstanding actors have been taped. After you have the sights and sounds of the play firmly in mind, then read the play. You'll find that your earlier experiences will unlock more of the play's depths, imagery and pleasures for you.
Where in life is being true to your word very important? How can you improve your life by being more reliable in this way?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enchanting., 15 May 2006
By 
Mrs. D. L. Cox (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i could not imagine a more foolish and silly afternoon in a forest. lol. i loved this so much it has everything anyone ever wanted of shakespear!

what a fantastic play i really want to see it but i fear it could never live up to my reading of it. i wish it were translated into modern language for all the people who have trouble understanding it.

well i loved it anyway. should be read under the trees on a sunny afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very useful if you are putting on a production, 30 Sep 2008
i'm not going to review the actual play as this was done very well by another reviewer, however when wishing to purchase this play you may realise their are loads of different editions to choose from, and you may be wondering 'is this edition right for you?'

This really breaks down the text by having the play on every right-hand page and on the left has a short description of what is happening on the page opposite as well as a glossary of some of the page's most challenging words and phrases, just like in the heinemann shakespeare. This is what attracted me to this edition, however i found myself just slightly disappointed.

As well as the description and glossary on the left-hand page there are various exercises for you to do either alone or in groups that will help drama students to understand the text and the context in which it should be played. These exercises looked very helpful to those studying drama, even including photos from past productions. However as i was doing this play for english i would have liked a little more indepth insight to the actual text.

At the end, after the play there are analysis of the characters and setting as well as some on the context of the play which ive just started reading and have found very helpful, as well as more information on staging 'as you like it'. This is all great, i would just have liked a little more specific insight during the reading of the play.

in short, this edition is ideal for anyone practicing drama, and while it is more than adequate an edition for anyone who needs a little help while reading the text, it lacks a little for those wishing for a more indepth insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As i very muxh like it, 15 Jun 2011
This review is from: As You Like It (Kindle Edition)
how lovely. a portable readimg device holding such a great tale as one of shakespeares all in your pocket or handbag or wherever. and its free and a classic so theres no reason not to get this. get it now why not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Many Appealing Facets of Shakespeare's Talent!, 10 April 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
As You Like It has many qualities to attract readers and audiences. Rosalind is one of the great heroines of all romantic literature. The play has more outstanding speeches than almost any other that has ever been written. Astonishing plot complications are quickly resolved in the simplest possible way, reflecting a playwright's tour de force. The Forest of Arden appears as a character in creating a magical atmosphere whereby all perceptions change, and all are healed. Right wins out, especially in drawing on good character . . . even from formerly badly behaving people. And for those who love marriages, this book has one of the most impressive ceremonies of all time in literature. Humans have never looked nobler in the end than in this play. Yet the play also abounds with some of the greatest lines of Shakespeare's fools that cause all of us to see that humility is more called for than pride or ambition. Certainly, As You Like It will make you feel the presence of an unmatched genius, that should inspire even the most arrogant to feel humbled in the Bard's presence.

My recommendation is that you first see a performance (whether in person, or on a recording). If that's not possible, try for an audio. Many outstanding actors have been taped. After you have the sights and sounds of the play firmly in mind, then read the play. You'll find that your earlier experiences will unlock more of the play's depths, imagery and pleasures for you.
Where in life is being true to your word very important? How can you improve your life by being more reliable in this way?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars highly witty, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As You Like It (Kindle Edition)
this is witty and not so long. You can read it in one setting. I really enjoyed this as a 16 year old and still find it amusing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 17 Mar 2013
This review is from: As You Like It (Hardcover)
The only book I have received in the collection of Folio Society Shakespeare was a bit of a let down. The binding is badly faded so that the spine is brown where the cover should be pale green. OK it's quite an old book but I don't remember the description mentioning the state of the cover otherwise i might not have ordered it. Inside the book is perfectly accepable but it was a bit of a let down after having received so many fine editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As You Like It (Kindle Edition)
Anyone who likes Shakespeare's comedies will like this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A preferred text!, 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this version as recommended by the tutor of a course which included a close reading of 'As You Like It'. Apparently the Arden series is preferred by professional directors of Shakespeare plays. The introduction gives a comprehensive history and analysis of the play. I thoroughly enjoyed this play and the rigorously researched notes which accompany the text. I fully recommend this book which would be suitable for both the academic and the interested general reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good copy, 20 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book received in very good acceptable condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shakespeare's "As You Like it" (Critical Studies)
Shakespeare's "As You Like it" (Critical Studies) by Peter Reynolds (Paperback - 5 Sep 1988)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews