Customer Reviews


254 Reviews
5 star:
 (171)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Teaching
This has been a great edition to use with my Yr 5 class the text is simplified and it has been quick to read. The children used the text to turn the stories into play scripts. I would recommend this book for primary schools.
Published on 7 July 2009 by Euphmum

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only OK
found this version overly complicated if you tried to get explanation of sailing terms and slang. First read this book in a childrens version 60 years ago and enjoyed it much better then. Maybe it is better to stick with your memories rather than update them.
Published 15 months ago by Raymond J Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treasure Island (Kindle Edition)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 14 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treasure Island (Kindle Edition)
Not as exciting for me a good childrens book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff!, 29 Jan 2004
By 
Justin "Justin" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Treasure Island (Penguin Popular Classics) (Paperback)
After watching "The Muppets Treaure Island" I took it upon myself to read this book to see how the characters in the novel related to those in the film.
I have to say that Mr. Stevenson has produced a literary masterpiece which (unlike many historical works of fiction) is not at all overrated and deserves the upmost praise. Kermit's role as the Captain reflects the deepth of the charcter in the book and Long John Silver is the perfect portrayal of his on-screen counterpart Tim Curry.
Although I was unable to relate to some of the characters and their respective roles due to their abscence in Jim Henson's film I still enjoyed this read and would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treasure Island (Kindle Edition)
i love it very impressed indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best high seas book, 20 Nov 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Treasure Island (Hardcover)
I just finished Treasure Island and I think it's an awsome high seas adventure book. I think Stevenson did a great job on this book and should do more books like it. I was so thrilled with it im now reading Kiddnaped and it's pretty good so far. More people should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 29 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treasure Island (Kindle Edition)
A classic text for ipad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Treasure Island, 30 Dec 2011
Being a new Kindle user, I only purchased this book because it was cheap and proported to come with free audible download and I wanted to experiment first before I dipped further into the audio market. I eventually found the audio link on the very last page of the ebook. It gave a web address to contact for the free download [...] Unfortunately, there are approximately 15 individual files (in different formats) that go to make up the whole book but when you click on the download it simply opens up the file on your computer and starts to play, instead of downloading to your Kindle. I contacted Kindle support but they were unable to help. Instead they directed me to registering with their sister company audible manager where you have to pay. I am not impressed by Amazon for their lack of clarity and support. Only glad I experimented first before wasting any more money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Treasure Island, 13 Mar 2012
This review is from: Treasure Island (Kindle Edition)
I read this book many years ago at school but it has been so long that I had forgotten most of it. It was a good read and lots of which I had forgotten came flooding back when reading this. fairly easy to read for the most of it but on occasions wording had been written which which made some areas difficult so that the word did not flow but on the whole well worth a re read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars arrived quickly!, 19 Nov 2009
By 
J. Gorman "Searcher" (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book arrived quickly and was the same edition as one pictured (have had issue with other orders/vendors). Very satisfied. Also nice that this UK seller had an American published book and we didn't have to have it shipped from there.

Buyer JG
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars returned, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treasure Island (Kindle Edition)
ordered in error
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Treasure Island (Penguin Popular Classics)
Treasure Island (Penguin Popular Classics) by Robert Louis Stevenson (Paperback - 25 Jan 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews