Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her greatest work
Less well-known than "Emma", "Pride and Prejudice" or "Sense and Sensibility", this is an absolute gem of a novel, and my favourite of all of Jane Austen's works. It has all the flair and comic brio of her other, more celebrated work, but a sadness and delicacy of tone that elevates it to a different level. Anne is a magnificent character, with an intelligence steeped in...
Published on 27 May 2003 by Lovborg

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Certain passages are missing
I bought this item as "unabridged", but I know the novel very well and am very sure that certain passages are missing. Unfortunately, some of these passages are great favourites of mine, so I was very disappointed on finding they were simply left out. For example, the highly entertaining passage relating Mary's complaints about "her mother-in-law's way with the children"...
Published on 26 Dec 2010 by Nebelfischer


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Persuasion - Self Discipline to read, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is what I require to read it...still keep putting it off, it was meant for a book club meeting which I did not attend. I may be pleasantly surprised!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Persuasion by Jane Austen, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was chosen by our Book Club. We all anticipated a good read but oh dear it is so slow. Each situation takes pages to describe and I have found it a struggle. I suppose this is likely to be the case of many books written a long time ago. When you see the plays or films of the same title it is so much better as all the endless words have been reduced to a minimum. I suppose I will eventually finish it, hopefully before our next meeting in January.
Recommendation, well you need plenty of reading time and patience. It is certainly a good way to drop off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain price, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Paperback)
Great read: the film is not a patch on it. Came quickly and is as described. Looking forward to the book group
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful Jane Austen!, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persuasion (Paperback)
Visited Lyme Regis, where I went on a guided walk to see the places Jane Austen lived which is where she wrote Persuasion. I hadn't read the book, so wanted to buy one there. Much too expensive! Waited until I got home and bought one on Amazon. Couldn't believe how cheap it was and how quickly it arrived. Why shop anywhere else?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars truly enjoyable, 26 Dec 2011
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Persuasion is the 6th published novel by Jane Austen. Anne Elliott is a sweet 27-year-old woman of good breeding and integrity. She is intelligent, thoughtful, considerate. This may come as a surprise, given that, after losing her mother at 14, she has been encumbered with a father, Sir Walter Elliot, and an older sister, Miss Elizabeth, who are both vain spendthrifts and find her inconsequential; both of whom are blind to the fact that Elizabeth's poorer "friend", the fawning Mrs Clay, is intent on marrying Sir Walter to become Lady Elliot. Her younger, married sister, Mary is selfish and self-centred. The only person in her life who cares about her at all is a friend of her mother's, Lady Russell, who, when Anne was nineteen, persuaded her not to accept the offer of sailor Frederick Wentworth, as he had no position. Lady Russell tries to persuade Anne, when her estranged cousin, William, heir to the Elliot estate, reappears, that it would be prudent to accept his offer. But Anne is suspicious of his change of attitude. This is the last full novel written by Jane Austen, probably her most mature novel, and it is a great pity she died not long after this novel was completed. This novel has intrigue and humour and, of course, romance. Truly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not delightful, not disappointing, 15 Jan 2007
By 
M. W. Yeung "HotShotDoc" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The last completed novel and one of the lesser-known works by Jane Austen. The herorine of 'Persuasion' is Anne Ellioit, the second child of Sir Walter Ellioit and also the one of the least consequence to him. The story tells of her rather unhappy existence in a family where her words carry no weight and her opinions are largely ignored. Her good sense and sweet nature is only appreciated by close friend and confidante, Lady Russell. The profligation of her extravagent father eventually plunges family finance into crisis. The family is forced to retrench to Bath and let their extensive estate of Kellynch Hall. A series of events brings Federick Wentworth, a naval officer to whom Anne was once engaged eight years ago, back into the neighbourhood.

Personally for me, the plot for 'Persuasion' was all too reminiscient of another more popular Austen novel 'Pride and Prejudice', only the latter has more substance, more beautifully written and generally, a whole lot better than the former. In both stories, the herorine rejects her love interest to begin with for one reason or another, before eventually seeing the light and changing her mind. That said, it didn't stop me from churning through it in a day and a half. A light and pleasant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her finest novel, 7 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Persuasion (Paperback)
Austen lovers can argue all day about which is the best. Like many people I have a soft spot for Pride and Prejudice but this is the most heartfelt of all her novels. The observation of society is acute. the characters brilliantly drawn but this is an utterly timeless novel about love. How sad that it was published posthumously what else might hse have written had she not died at 42 ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is Abridged, not as advertised, 15 Dec 2010
I ordered this copy because it was described as Unabridged but it clearly says Abridged on the back. Very disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars persuasion: audio cds 1 (classic fiction), 23 July 2009
By 
austen fan (south wales, uk) - See all my reviews
Jane Austen's Persuasion is a brilliant story, and Juliet Stevensons telling of it is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Persuasion - Penguin Classics, 16 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. Martin Mcdonnell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent service. Prompt delivery. Nice edition with clear print - good for my elderly mother. Having sample pages on-line really helped so that we could choose a clear typeface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Persuasion
Persuasion by Jane Austen (Paperback - 25 Jan 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews