Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entirely accessible
These are excepts from four other volumes of poetry as well as six poems from The World's Wife. I particularly liked the latter, with particularly amusing viewpoints from Mrs Midas, and Mrs Aesop. I also particularly liked two poems from the collection "Selling Manhattan:" "Miles Away," - about missing someone - and "The Virgin Punishing the Infant:" - about the...
Published on 5 Dec 2009 by Four Violets

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars The book is brilliant buts it condition is not
When buying a second hand book at it says excellent condition you don't expect to have lots of pen annotations all over it...
Published 3 months ago by Ollie Camp


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entirely accessible, 5 Dec 2009
By 
Four Violets (Hertford UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
These are excepts from four other volumes of poetry as well as six poems from The World's Wife. I particularly liked the latter, with particularly amusing viewpoints from Mrs Midas, and Mrs Aesop. I also particularly liked two poems from the collection "Selling Manhattan:" "Miles Away," - about missing someone - and "The Virgin Punishing the Infant:" - about the difficulties of being the mother of God when he was a baby. I also liked "Moments of Grace" from "Mean Time," about experiences that make life worth living. This is the first volume of poetry I have read right through and enjoyed for a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Be positive, 9 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Robin M. Cain "Rob C" (Bolton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
Looking at the last review I suppose its hard to believe this work as credible.

This is a person who writes from heart, belief & experience.

It is clever, incisive, witty, incredibly funny, poignant, dark and so much more.

It displays method as much as content.

From Mrs Darwen to the Onion. Education to Leisure gives a gritty account of an individuals pain.
I want to learn all areas not just 1.

But this is a great place to start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius at work, 29 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Selected Poems: Carol Ann Duffy (Penguin Poetry Library) (Paperback)
Carol Ann Duffy is blessed with the rare gift of describing people and things as they really are, from the inside. Here, you will see people you know, in situations you have been in. Every word is precisely right, in the most satisfying way imaginable. She is not only thematically, but also technically, brilliant. Her poems have new levels which appear with every re-reading. I will never tire of reading this book. Do yourself a favour and buy a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great poetry!!, 22 Jun 2009
By 
Joyce Åkesson (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Selected Poems: Carol Ann Duffy (Penguin Poetry Library) (Paperback)
Carol Ann Duffy, the first woman poet laureate, explores many different themes in this selection of poems from childhood memories to relationships.
Her poems are accessible and entertaining and yet she is touching, sensitive and witty.
Joyce Akesson, author of Love's Thrilling Dimensions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rare Talent, 16 May 2009
By 
Paul D "Paul" (Darwen, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
Ms Duffy has recently been appointed Poet Laureate, the first women so honoured. This collection goes a long way to explaining why. Her subject is herself and, through a deep examination of her experiences, thoughts, and feelings, she come to an understanding of what it is to be human, of the impact of memory on all our lives. For her experiences are transmuted by talent into something at once unique and universal, a genuine voice for those who have no voice.

Anyone who doubts the worth of poetry in the modern world should explore Ms Duffy's work without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The book is brilliant buts it condition is not, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems: Carol Ann Duffy (Penguin Poetry Library) (Paperback)
When buying a second hand book at it says excellent condition you don't expect to have lots of pen annotations all over it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
My daughter needed the books for an exam that she was sitting - she said she thoroughly enjoyed the poems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Duffy bashers back off!, 21 Mar 2009
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
Duffy is one of those poets who divides opinions to such extremes, she must be doing something good. The reactionary anti-feminism or passive misogyny that is evident in criticism of her, overlooks the fact that her work is engaging and accessible, while other 'superior' poets remain in the realm of academic snobbery.
Duffy is a poet with a bit of spit and bile and personally I love her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Selected Poems: Carol Ann Duffy (Penguin Poetry Library) (Paperback)
I got into Carol Ann Duffy's poetry mainly because some of her poems were set for my GSCE English exam. After I stopped analysing them, I began reading them and found them to be really good. This book is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
A blight on the world of English literature. Why this is on the A level literature syllabus I will never know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa8b0e58)

This product

Selected Poems: Carol Ann Duffy (Penguin Poetry Library)
Selected Poems: Carol Ann Duffy (Penguin Poetry Library) by Carol Ann Duffy (Paperback - 25 Aug 1994)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews