Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oscar's first choice eveytime!, 27 Sep 2000
This review is from: From Head to Toe (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
From Head To Toe is an action book where the audience is asked to imitate the actions of some animals by telling them action the animal might do - for example, 'I am an elephant and I stomp my foot' - then asking the same question throughout 'can you do it?'. Our 19 month old son, Oscar, surprised us by being able to do all of the actions, including some we wouldn't have even thought of asking him to do, such as wiggling his toes! This was one of the first books apart from lift-the-flap books that kept his attention throughout because he was actively involved in the book and as an added bonus was excellent for teaching him more parts of the body. Beautifully illustrated in a similar way to The Very Hungry Caterpillar, Oscar also loved the colourful and amusingly drawn animals. When Oscar was asked to choose a book this was always the first off the bookshelf and we enjoyed doing the actions almost as much as he did! We initially had this book on loan from the library and loved it so much we had to buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 28 Dec 2008
This review is from: From Head to Toe (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
My daughter (now 20 months) absolutely loves this and has done since she was about one. She quickly learned all yhe actions, long before she could talk, and still if you mention a giraffe or a penguin in conversation (as you do) instantly inclines or turns her head as the animal requires. It's just the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Head to Toe, 14 Aug 2010
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Head to Toe (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
This is a very exuberant book, as children are asked whether they can move like one of the animals on the page. Probably not best for bedtime, but it is a joyous read, with lots of movement and participation. As always, the illustations are perfect and it is great fun for toddlers. You can always trust Eric Carle to get some learning in alongside the story, so toddlers will learn the names of body parts while they are having fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun with body parts, 15 Jun 2009
By 
Vince Noir (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Head to Toe (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
A brilliant book for learning about parts of the body and getting your little one moving. Lovely illustrations, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Carle Classic, 28 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Head to Toe (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
Wow, what a fantastic book. Illustrated in a way only Eric Carle can this book really captures toddlers imaginations and teaches them new movements.

When we 1st bought this our 16 month old son could clap, stomp, kick and wave but he looked at us like we were mad when we asked him to bend his neck like a giraffe or arch his back like a cat etc but by looking at the pictures of the children in this book he was doing every action in no time. He really has gained a lot from this book.

This is now a firm favourite, along with Brown Bear and the Hungry Caterpillar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interactive book, 10 May 2011
This review is from: From Head to Toe (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
My 20 month old loves this book and it is a favourite at storytime. It didn't take many reads for him to be thumping his chest like the gorilla, turning his head like the penguin, etc. It's fun for parents too to act out the actions of the animals. This title goes well with 'Brown Bear' and 'Polar Bear'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great interactive book for preschool children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic illustrations which encourage children to explore basic movements, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Head to Toe (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
This is a classical illustrated Eric Carle book to capture every Che into the story. The book explores movement using different animals which of course children enjoy. Thoroughly enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Educational Board Book But No Brown Bear, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Dr. Bojan Tunguz (Indiana, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Head to Toe (Board book)
Ever since we came across "Brown Bear" we've become huge fans of Eric Carle's wonderful and deceptively simple illustrated children's books. Now we are well on our way to owning all of his works, and would certainly recommend these educational and quirky books to all parents. However, it's also clear that none of his other books have lived up to the charm of "Brown Bear." This is certainly true of "From Head to Toe." There is no attempt at rhyming in here whatsoever, and reading can feel a bit drab and repetitive as a consequence. Nonetheless, this is still a pretty good children's board book in its own right.

The book is ideally suited for older toddlers (three or four year olds would be my best estimate), but younger and older kids will certainly enjoy it as well. Through a series of parallel and complementary pictures and actions by humans and their animal friends children can easily learn about parts of the body. It's a very carefree and fun educational book, and it has a lot going for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good activity book, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Head to Toe (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
My 19 month love this book and even knows waht actions are to be done for the next page. Good at helping children learn body parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Head to Toe (Picture Puffin)
From Head to Toe (Picture Puffin) by Eric Carle (Paperback - 28 Jan 1999)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews