Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye-catching exploration of the life cycle of plants
Eric Carle is well known for his fictional accounts of lives of mini-beasts but in The Tiny Seed he unravels the complex life history of plants. This is botany - not in a nutshell - but in a seed pod. He doesn't 'name' the seed or make it into a 'person'. Yet the reader immediately makes a connection with this living being. It is alive in a very real and exciting way. All...
Published on 18 Jun 2001

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite long
I bought this book for my preschool because I had previously bought the Very Hungry Caterpillar and all the children love it. I presumed that this book would be something similar, e.g. short sentences, easy to read, simple story. I was a little disappointed. I found this book to be quite long and the children started losing interest very quickly. I don't think it is...
Published 24 months ago by Lou


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye-catching exploration of the life cycle of plants, 18 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tiny Seed (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
Eric Carle is well known for his fictional accounts of lives of mini-beasts but in The Tiny Seed he unravels the complex life history of plants. This is botany - not in a nutshell - but in a seed pod. He doesn't 'name' the seed or make it into a 'person'. Yet the reader immediately makes a connection with this living being. It is alive in a very real and exciting way. All that potential is held within the seed and as conditions are right, the life is released. It's not a new story but it is expressed in words which zing with anticipation and delight. All bound together with Carle's trademark illustrations, mixing colours and media to entice you further and further into the book. For young readers and adults sharing books with children, this book is a feast for all the senses. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The basics of botany in a beautiful picture book, 25 Mar 2005
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Tiny Seed (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
Eric Carle is great at imparting information to children in an appealing story format and in this book he covers the annual cycle of a flower from a seed. The tiny seed finds a place to grow while many others falling by the wayside, and then grows into a big beautiful flower. Finally we see, in the autumn, the demise of the flower and the release of a new batch of seeds which brings us back to the beginning again. As ever, Eric Carle's illustrations are colourful and refreshingly distinctive and the story is straightforwardly pleasing. My children enjoy following the progress of the tiny seed amongst its bigger siblings, spotting it on each page as well as the one loses its way in that particular paragraph because of snowy or arid ground for example. Also, I like it that it isn't the biggest seed that makes it but the little one against whom you'd think the odds would be stacked. There's a good subliminal message there that you don't have to be the biggest to do the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Tiny Seed by Eric Carle, 30 April 2009
By 
E. Egerton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An excellent story for pre-school children. A useful tool to teach science and dramatize. Received in excellent condition and the illustrations are superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite long, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tiny Seed (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
I bought this book for my preschool because I had previously bought the Very Hungry Caterpillar and all the children love it. I presumed that this book would be something similar, e.g. short sentences, easy to read, simple story. I was a little disappointed. I found this book to be quite long and the children started losing interest very quickly. I don't think it is best suited to 3-4 year olds unless it is condensed but 5-6 year olds would probably love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book for a three or four year old, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Juliette (Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tiny Seed (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
This is a story about a flower that loses its seeds. On each page something happens to one of the seeds but the tiny seed survives and eventually grows up into a tall flower (bigger than a house - the one bit of the story that isn't realistic!) which at the end of the story then loses its seeds.

This isn't a classic but it is a nice book about how the natural world works and how not all seeds survive. Some of the pages have quite a lot of text on them - this is definitely a book for a three or four year old rather than say an 18 month old. I didn't find the text quite as poetic as that in some of Eric Carle's other books but it is fine to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have book for your preschool library, 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tiny Seed (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
Beautiful book, rich in content with fabulous illustrations. Deals with plant life cycles and seasonality (all four seasons so can be picked up at any time although it does start in Autumn)in a really engaging way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, 19 Mar 2012
Got this as used but it looked new! Paid really silly price like 21p but postage was compulsory. Still worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 20 Jun 2014
By 
A. Parry (Middlesbrough England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tiny Seed (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
Everything you would expect from an Eric Carle book beautiful pictures and a delightful easy to follow story for even the youngest children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tiny Seed (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
This book has beautiful pictures as you would expect from Eric Carle. I used it during a science/geography lesson with my Year One class and they loved it. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present for the one I love, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tiny Seed (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
when my wife was young she read a lot but many books got damaged by water some years ago.
We thought they were lost for ever but NO Amazing Amazon has found them all.
Well nearly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tiny Seed (Picture Puffin)
The Tiny Seed (Picture Puffin) by Eric Carle (Paperback - 28 Aug 1997)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews