Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What our class thinks of Princess Smartypants
In our class, we have been looking at stories of princesses and this one is great!
It's a really funny story because Princess Smartypants is an extraordinary princess.
She doesn't do normal princess things, in fact she has a really cool motorbike. She is so wild!
The problem is Princess Smartypants does not want to get married so she puts her princes to...
Published on 23 Oct 2003 by CHILDREN OF 3CB WATERLOO SCHOOL

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A let down
I was looking for an inspiring book for a little girl who loves the typical princess story but with a modern twist on the archaic gender roles which are rife in all the other princess stories.

Unfortunately the first page let's this book down HUGELY (although the end is fun and challenging and what I was hoping for).

To summarise, all the princes...
Published 10 months ago by tam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What our class thinks of Princess Smartypants, 23 Oct 2003
This review is from: Princess Smartypants (Paperback)
In our class, we have been looking at stories of princesses and this one is great!
It's a really funny story because Princess Smartypants is an extraordinary princess.
She doesn't do normal princess things, in fact she has a really cool motorbike. She is so wild!
The problem is Princess Smartypants does not want to get married so she puts her princes to test. Read the book to find out what they are!
Read to the end because you are in for a big surprise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book review for princess smarty pants, 16 Nov 2005
This review is from: Princess Smartypants (Paperback)
Katreece The story is about A very intelligent princess that rides moterbikes and wants to stay a miss. All of the princes like her .Well find out in the book who completes her challenge? I like this book because Smarty pants is untidy just like me and some girls like normal princess but this one is crazy and shes mischevious I would recommend this book to all ages from 1 to 1000! its exselent! I give it 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Princess with Girl Power, 21 Jun 2002
By 
J H Therezien (St Martin, Jersey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Princess Smartypants (Paperback)
This delightful story is a must for little girls who are brought up on a diet of princesses ever grateful to handsome princes for rescuing them from a life of nothingness. This Princess has her own identity, her own agenda, and an independant outlook. Good for her! Would also be great for little boys who think that it is their purpose in life to go around earning the gratitude of little girls & princesses alike purely because they are little boys/princes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Princess keeps her independance., 4 May 2001
By A Customer
Princess Smartypants is pretty and rich so all the princes want to marry her. But Smartypants enjoys being a Ms and fights to maintain her independence. Cole's excellent use of parody in this fast and lively paced version of Cinderella will arouse children's interest and persuade them to reconsider conventional stereotypes. Imaginative, colourful and comic illustrations support the text, which can be used to explore differences and consider which features of the traditional genre have been kept. Great for role-play, transitional and independent readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Princess Smartypants-its fab!!, 7 Dec 2005
By 
Year 3 (Amington Heath School, Tamworth, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Princess Smartypants (Hardcover)
We are a year 3 class and have used Princess Smartypants in our literacy lessons. We think that the book Princess Smartypants has colourful and funky pictures, she is a strange princess, with horrid and enormous pets. But, overall Princess Smartypants is a fantastic and an exciting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sankey Primary School from Warrington think this book is ace!, 6 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: Princess Smartypants (Paperback)
We thought that this book was fabulous! This is a book about Princess Smartypants, who is different to all the other princesses in fairytales. She does not want to get married. She has unusual pets such as alligators, dragons and giant snails. The Princess set up tasks for each prince which are impossible and hilarious!

Our favourite part was when one prince had something strange happen to him when he was kissed...

From Year 3/4F

We would recommend this book for anybody aged between 2 and 90!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Year 3HW from Victoria Community School in Burton-on-Trent - a review of Princess Smartypants, 13 Oct 2006
By 
3HW (Burton-on-Trent) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Princess Smartypants (Paperback)
PRINCESS SMARTYPANTS ROCKS!!! Year 3HW have read Princess Smartypants in our Literacy lessons and we loved it! We thought it was exciting, funny and a bit silly. It was also clever, because Princess Smartypants tricked the Princes who wanted to marry her. The pictures were really bright and colourful, the motorbike one was really cool! Princess Smartypants is a scary princess and would make a very scary wife - none of the boys in 3HW want to marry her! We would recommend this book to children at any school, and to boys and girls everywhere. PRINCESS SMARTYPANTS ROCKS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bumblebee Class' Most Honeylicious Book Review, 29 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Princess Smartypants (Paperback)
We thought Princess Smartypants by Babette Cole was a HUGE HIT!!! It was excellent. We especially liked it when the princess turned Prince Swashbuckle into a toad. We felt sorry for Prince Vertigo, and we thought the motorbike was really cool! We would recomend this book for anyone from 2 - 100.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A let down, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Princess Smartypants (Paperback)
I was looking for an inspiring book for a little girl who loves the typical princess story but with a modern twist on the archaic gender roles which are rife in all the other princess stories.

Unfortunately the first page let's this book down HUGELY (although the end is fun and challenging and what I was hoping for).

To summarise, all the princes love the princess because she's so pretty. What a depressing message for little girls who are surrounded by these horrible demeaning pressures around how they look! Lame start.

Can't there be a princess story that doesn't feature some tired recycled idea that men just go after pretty women and that to be a princess you have to be really pretty? So many flaws in that start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fairy tale with a funny twist, 19 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Princess Smartypants (Paperback)
A hilarious story about a princess who treasures her freedom. It gives the reader an insight on how females do not have to conform to the traditional image of being a damsel in distress.
A good book to have for teaching children about re-written fairy tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Princess Smartypants
Princess Smartypants by Babette Cole (Paperback - 30 May 1996)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews