Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! A turning point in 20th Century literature!
This is a work of pure genius. It is a great favourite among all my family and friends. Combining a scintilating plot with Dodd's clear mastery of poetic technique makes for an unforgettable read. The parrot and hairy dog are both hilarious. I would recommend this masterpiece to anyone!
Published on 20 Aug 2003 by pagan_water_vole

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
We like this book, but not nearly as much as we enjoy the original or Slinky Malinky. It lacks the repetition our daughter enjoys about the other books.
Published on 19 Sep 2011 by Genevieve Fu


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! A turning point in 20th Century literature!, 20 Aug 2003
This review is from: Hairy Maclary's Rumpus At The Vet (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Paperback)
This is a work of pure genius. It is a great favourite among all my family and friends. Combining a scintilating plot with Dodd's clear mastery of poetic technique makes for an unforgettable read. The parrot and hairy dog are both hilarious. I would recommend this masterpiece to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect rhyming stories with bright, funky illustrations., 28 Jun 2014
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hairy Maclary's Rumpus At The Vet (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Paperback)
This is the 1991 re-issue of the original book in paperback with card covers. The books runs to a total of 32 pages.

I'm collecting the Lynley Dodd series of 'Hairy Maclary' for my grandson. He loves them. The illustrations are gorgeous, really bright, funky colours than draw younger children straight in. For me though it's more about the rhyming story. I love reading these books at bedtime they're ideal. He nods his head up and down in time to the rhyme and it's so cute. Each of the books in the series have a story that's simple yet deep enough they hold his interest. He's only two and a bit but he learns the words really fast and can often repeat them with me even when he's not looking at the pictures. Great characters and a perfect read for small children (and grandparents!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful read for parents too, 24 April 2003
This review is from: Hairy Maclary's Rumpus At The Vet (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Paperback)
The Hairy Maclarey books have it all, beautiful illustrations, funny stories which captivate small children, and a rhythm to the verse which makes them a joy for parents to read too. This story builds the chaos of a group of animals running amok at the vets beautifully, ending with a twist which brings you right back to the beginning again. Buy one and you will find yourself coming back for the others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So readable for any age!, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hairy Maclary's Rumpus At The Vet (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Paperback)
I bought this for my friends 4 yr old daughter, I read it through first & thoroughly enjoyed it, so I'm sure the recipient will too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hairy Maclary's Rumpus At The Vet (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Paperback)
my boy loves these books very happy with this buy will buy more also ,......... happy happy haqppy happy happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it but second favourite, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hairy Maclary's Rumpus At The Vet (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Paperback)
Second favourite to Hairy Maclary from Donaldsons dairy but it's all down to how you read it! Will definitely buy the whole series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love love love it!!, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hairy Maclary's Rumpus At The Vet (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Paperback)
A beautifully illustrated book. Very easy to read as the words just roll of the tongue. Very well put together. A great way to get youngsters interesting in reading and also poetry. Just the right size for small hands to hold comfortably. A very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars family favourite, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hairy Maclary's Rumpus At The Vet (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Paperback)
we had the whole set of these for our kiddies (now teenagers) have stored them for our future grandchildren and now enjoy buying them as gifts for friends children. essential childhood reading -all of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely poem-story, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hairy Maclary's Rumpus At The Vet (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Paperback)
Really pleasant to read with young children. All of her books are good. They feel like playful classics and have remained in the bookcase even though the children have grown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hairy Maclary's Rumpus At The Vet (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Paperback)
Really good fun as hairy mclary causes all sorts of trouble during his visit to the vet and we enjoyed spotting drawings of characters who appear in other stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hairy Maclary's Rumpus At The Vet (Hairy Maclary and Friends)
Hairy Maclary's Rumpus At The Vet (Hairy Maclary and Friends) by Lynley Dodd (Paperback - 28 Nov 1991)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews