Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vibrantly illustrated alphabetic menagerie: A Must See!
Animalia is a stunning example of what fun an imaginative illustrator can have with the simplest of subjects. Base takes the alphabet to a whole new level in this fabulous book of outrageous animal-oriented situations. My personal favourite, the letter H, has the particularly fantastic title: "Horrible Hairy Hogs Hurrying Homewards on Heavily Harnessed Horses."...
Published on 22 Oct 1996

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Be warned : poor print quality
Whilst Animalia is undoubtedly a great book, like a previous reviewer, I have concerns as to whether this is a genuine or authorised version. The print quality is very poor, in particular the front page which looks like a (poor) colour photocopy. The lack of publisher and copyright details further raises suspicion. I am returning my copy and would urge Amazon to...
Published 12 months ago by A Reviewer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vibrantly illustrated alphabetic menagerie: A Must See!, 22 Oct 1996
By A Customer
This review is from: Animalia (Hardcover)
Animalia is a stunning example of what fun an imaginative illustrator can have with the simplest of subjects. Base takes the alphabet to a whole new level in this fabulous book of outrageous animal-oriented situations. My personal favourite, the letter H, has the particularly fantastic title: "Horrible Hairy Hogs Hurrying Homewards on Heavily Harnessed Horses." It features just that, but in colours and detail that Michaelangelo must have only dreamt of. To fulfill the alphabetic premise, Base scatters letter-related, yet logically incongruous, images (a pair of hamsters stand innocently in a tuft of grass as the Hogs ride rapidly past) throughout each scene in an amazing, but successful, test of harmony. These miscellaneous images let the readers, ages 2 to 90, gleefully search the exquisite scenes for an amazing variety of alphabetic inhabitants. I recommend this book for anyone -- if, however improbably, the ideas alone don't make it worthwhile, the genius and execution involved certainly will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An alphabetic tour of the animal kingdom, 1 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Animalia (Paperback)
Animalia joins some beautiful illustration of animals in incredible situations, each an interpretation of the alphabet. A treat for tired tigers tearing at their toupees!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An 'oldie' but definitely a 'goodie', 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animalia (Library Binding)
I first came across this book over 20 years ago and it still continues to amuse and intrigue. For those who aren't familiar with it, it's worth taking the opportunity to 'look inside'. As you'll see, there's a single or double page illustration for each letter of the alphabet. The objective is to find as many words beginning with that letter. What makes it special is that each illustration is a visual feast; more importantly, it's a fun way to challenge and expand your child's vocabulary. Suitable for 7-8 years upwards. One small point. In some editions, there is a section at the back of the book that lists the images/words on each page (useful, even for adults). However, the library edition does not have this feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinationg children's picture book, 9 Jun 2009
By 
H. Campion (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animalia (Hardcover)
I ordered this as a present for an eight-year-old, & after looking through it, wanted another one to keep at home. I'd already seen, & given as a present Graeme Base's "The Water Hole" and this book is just as fascinating. The pictures are delightfully witty & really motivate a child - or an adult - to play with words imaginatively. It has a picture page for each letter of the alphabet, with just one sentence of text, but the moment you start to name the objects & creatures in the picture you have fun - for instance, on the T page there are two tigers taking the two-thirty train to Timbuktu, while three tortoises play tunes on a tuba, a trombone & a trumpet. It's a superbly entertaining book to stimulate imagination & language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic artistic work, 5 Oct 2009
This review is from: Animalia (Hardcover)
I have used this book for some years in my role as reading help at a local primary school so when I wanted to purchase it for a young relative it was upsetting to find it was out of print - thank you Amazon for introducing me to your new and used section.

It is not only educational but very enjoyable for both the young reader and parent or teacher to progress through the alphabet in such a unique way. The skill of the artist must be a great part of the enjoyment and I congratulate such a clever author and artist (one and the same).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, amazing, amazing!, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The illustrations in this book are absolutely beautiful! See new things hidden in the pictures every time we open it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully illustrated children's book, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing illustrations and such innovative rhyming poems depicting the alphabet.
I bought it for myself as I fell in love with the illustrations when I saw a friend's copy.
But it's such fun to read the poems that I will have to share it with the children I work with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really excellent book with fantastic illustrations. Really good for the kids and my 33 year old sister loved it too; she couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Be warned : poor print quality, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst Animalia is undoubtedly a great book, like a previous reviewer, I have concerns as to whether this is a genuine or authorised version. The print quality is very poor, in particular the front page which looks like a (poor) colour photocopy. The lack of publisher and copyright details further raises suspicion. I am returning my copy and would urge Amazon to withdraw this product from sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grandchild, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animalia (Hardcover)
This book was purchased for out grand daughter. It was all that I thought it would be and the service from Amazon was as good as it gets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Animalia
Animalia by Graeme Base (Paperback - 1990)
Used & New from: £3.12
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews