Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly great version of the three little pigs: the wolf's side of the story!
There are two sides to every story and this fun book tells the three little pigs story from the much maligned Wolf's side. Told in the first person, Mr Wolf explains how the well known version is a misconception and the real story began when he started to make a cake for his dear old granny, needed to borrow a cup of sugar from a neighbour, and sneezed the house down...
Published on 17 May 2008 by ELH Browning

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting
The book was too old for the age group I was hoping to use it with. Arrived on time and in good condition though.
Published 19 months ago by Chirpy Bluebird


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly great version of the three little pigs: the wolf's side of the story!, 17 May 2008
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The True Story of the Three Little Pigs (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
There are two sides to every story and this fun book tells the three little pigs story from the much maligned Wolf's side. Told in the first person, Mr Wolf explains how the well known version is a misconception and the real story began when he started to make a cake for his dear old granny, needed to borrow a cup of sugar from a neighbour, and sneezed the house down resulting in a terrible misunderstanding. Once the house has fallen down killing the poor pig, it would have been a shame to waste such a great ham dinner! And once the newspaper got hold of the story and hammed it up (excuse the terrible pun), the article gave a dog a bad name...... and poor Mr Wolf was cast as the bad guy through and through.
This is an imaginative retelling and an entertaining story. The illustrations are great, a tad dark but not scary, and match the plot perfectly. In addition, it's interesting for children to see that there are often two different sides to any story. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very very funny. Children and Adults will love it, 29 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The True Story of the Three Little Pigs (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
I read this book to a group of Year2 children (age 6-7), and they loved it. It is very very funny and the children and myself laughed right through it. Definately worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant re-take of the story, 15 Mar 2006
This review is from: The True Story of the Three Little Pigs (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
This book is all about point of view.
Told for the first time from the point of view of the "Big, bad wolf", the story of what really happened that day with the three little pigs and their houses sounds quite different. The main facts are the same - you can't contest that the houses actually fell down and the pigs were gone, but was it the wolf's fault?
Interpreted by the wolf, the story takes on a completely different character and we begin to wonder about those really rude and unhelpful pigs. It is also told with great humour that should have children of all ages laughing.
The book shows readers that there are always two sides to every story and that the facts alone are often insufficient. Written by the winners, the story is obviously going to be biased in their favour. But when written by the loser - will it be truth? It's certainly very different (apart from being hilarious).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for primary school kids!!, 22 Aug 2008
By 
N. Shaw "Niknak5858" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The True Story of the Three Little Pigs (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
The True Story of the three little pigs was used greatly within my 1st year drama class at secondary school (Ages 11-12)and they loved it. I used the story as a context to do with stereotypes which lead on to many drama activities involving lawyers defending Mr Wolf, the pig community and witnesses of Mr Wolf. This lead on to a court case and even 't.v shows and documentaries' being created by the pupils to re-build or tarnish Mr Wolf's reputation!! An excellent story which created many meaningful, fun and diverse lessons!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for teaching!, 27 July 2010
This review is from: The True Story of the Three Little Pigs (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
I have been able to do so much with this book in the classroom. First, the kids love the twist on the original tale of "The Three Little Pigs." I am able to use it for reading, listening, and most fun of all, for writing. I have had second graders in the US rewrite other tales after learning this story and they have a great time doing it. It gets them thinking and putting their words on paper without making them feel like it is work. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic!, 27 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This book like Scieszka's others will make even the toughest character snigger! Lots of fun, my god daughter loved it! The writing credits children with the intelligence they have! Brings enjoyment to all. The illustrations are fantastic - buy two copies and frame them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the version we've all been waiting for, 21 Dec 2010
This review is from: The True Story of the Three Little Pigs (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
As adults we realize there are always two sides to every story and with this book we see the side of Mr Wolf and you know what? He has a point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable!, 2 Nov 2009
This review is from: The True Story of the Three Little Pigs (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
I first borrowed this book from the university school library to do a series of lesson plans for grades 5 & 6 (English as a second language). It was a huge success. My own kids loved it as well so I just had to buy it. Very cleverly written and funny too. Highly recommendable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the true story of the three little pigs, 7 Jan 2004
By 
L. Mant (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book for my niece on the strentgh of online reviews and have had such good feedback fron my sisters family that i am now ordering it for my children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for children of all ages to enjoy, 22 July 1999
By A Customer
Jon Scieszka's "biography" of Al wolf's tru tale of a sneeze and a cup of sugar is an exciting and funny book. Al Wolf tells his tale as a simple misunderstanding and a Wolf that ate 2 pigs because he didn't want to waste any food. This new twist of the original story creates a new story for young kids to enjoy. Al Wolf makes the kids believe that the pigs are evil and that Al shouldn't be considered big and bad because his diet consists of cute fury animals. An excellent picture book for kids to see how the wolf is illustrated as a proper man, and the pigs illustrated as slobs. A must-buy book for all children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The True Story of the Three Little Pigs (Picture Puffin)
The True Story of the Three Little Pigs (Picture Puffin) by Jon Scieszka (Paperback - 31 Oct 1991)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews