Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says on the label
A wonderfully light and uplifting read. Great for the loo, waiting rooms or sharing with a friend over a glass of wine or a cup of coffee. The author has found some wonderfully obscure and diversely interesting examples of lingual communication, which often embarress the native speakers who deny the existance of these words - just because you haven't heard them doesn't...
Published on 28 Mar 2008 by Scardy Cat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as some
There seem to be lots of books on language around. This one is not compelling. Read English in 100 Words by David Crystal or The Horologican by Mark Forsyth instead.
Published 9 months ago by B. Portes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as some, 24 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There seem to be lots of books on language around. This one is not compelling. Read English in 100 Words by David Crystal or The Horologican by Mark Forsyth instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says on the label, 28 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: The Meaning of Tingo (Hardcover)
A wonderfully light and uplifting read. Great for the loo, waiting rooms or sharing with a friend over a glass of wine or a cup of coffee. The author has found some wonderfully obscure and diversely interesting examples of lingual communication, which often embarress the native speakers who deny the existance of these words - just because you haven't heard them doesn't mean they have not been heard before. The origins and roots of the English language would not be recognised by modern English speakers, even today some of my English friends admit to needing an interpreter when they travel to Scotland and Italian friends of mine from the Mountain regions of Italy do not understand a word of my Roman Uncle's Italian and speak with him in French or English, neither deny the authenticity of the other. I love this book. It broadens the vocabulary and the mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The dangers of dictionaries, 30 Nov 2006
By 
John (Conakry, Guinea) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Meaning of Tingo and Other Extraordinary Words from Around the World (Hardcover)
The author doesn't seem to appreciate that there is more to understanding a langauge than looking words up in dictionaries. He is clearly no linguist.

I know the book is supposed to be fun, but many entries are either wrong or misleading.

And whoever did the proofreading should be sacked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Puzzled by the rave reviews, 28 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Meaning of Tingo and Other Extraordinary Words from Around the World (Hardcover)
I picked up this book for the first time couple of days ago and I can't understand why it gets such rave reviews. To me, to such a books sounds like a good idea, but when you actually produce it you get bored after the first few pages. I know its not meant to be read through at one go, but for me it's just a Xmas stocking filler book that you give some one when you can't think of anything else to give them - everybody feigns delight when they get it but are bored within seconds if they actually read it. It's a miss in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quick shipment (to Italy), excellent conditions, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very happy with my purchase: delightful book full of insights and quirky expressions from all over the world. Promptly delivered, perfect conditions. Buy with confidence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I heard about this book on Radio 4 and immediately ordered it. I speak a few languages and have always been fascinated by expressions that exist in one language and not others as the concepts they express are often linked to cultural dufferences and local habits. The book is fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For anyone with a love of language, 27 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for a friend whose job takes him around the world and would have liked to keep it for myself. A list of different ways to say "Hello" and lots of handy phrases in a multitude of languages. A nice tactile book..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing book, but not 100% accurate, 22 Oct 2012
This book if full of weird and wonderful words and gives some insight into other nation's thought processes. It is let down by inaccuracies. The Dutch word 'aardappel' claims to be literally a 'hard apple', whereas it actually is an 'earth apple', cognate to the French 'pomme de terre'. So read it for the fun of the thing, but don't take it seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious Tingo, 28 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Meaning of Tingo and Other Extraordinary Words from Around the World (Hardcover)
I'd read about this book in some of the press and was looking forward to getting it - what a disappointment. Sure there are some amusing words, but the vast majority you could not care less what they meant. After the first few pages it just starts to resemble a directory - and we all know how boring they are. Enough invention and amusement to carry a few pages but not a whole book in my view- but I guess its Christmas and that's when a lot of these tedious supposedly funny list books appear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly researched, inaccurate, 1 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Meaning of Tingo and Other Extraordinary Words from Around the World (Hardcover)
This book is a nice idea, but sadly resorts to stereotypes and relies on very worrying research. I came across a number of nonexistent words in the langauges that I speak....who knows how many more there are. It seems like the author did a lot of google searches and put them together in a book. A shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Meaning of Tingo and Other Extraordinary Words from Around the World
The Meaning of Tingo and Other Extraordinary Words from Around the World by Adam Jacot de Boinod (Hardcover - 29 Sep 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews