Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars �One of English language�s greatest achievements�
It is rare to encounter such a well considered and helpful reference work. The thesaurus is based on the work of Peter Roget's original 1852 manuscript and is structured by six classes of word meanings which are later cross referenced in the index. This arrangement is useful for exploring ideas and is a great pleasure to use. The 150th Anniversary Edition includes new...
Published on 6 Sep 2004 by alexkemp

versus
59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Roget's Thesaurus
I bought this copy after my old one literally fell to bits after years of constant use. The content is the same so it has the potential to provide one with a huge variety of different words and phrases in the same way my beloved previous copy did. However, I gave it two stars only as the print is SO small that I had to give up using it after five minutes. I would strongly...
Published on 5 Aug 2009 by Book Lover


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Roget's Thesaurus, 5 Aug 2009
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases (Penguin Reference) (Paperback)
I bought this copy after my old one literally fell to bits after years of constant use. The content is the same so it has the potential to provide one with a huge variety of different words and phrases in the same way my beloved previous copy did. However, I gave it two stars only as the print is SO small that I had to give up using it after five minutes. I would strongly recommend you buy an edition that you can acually SEE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars �One of English language�s greatest achievements�, 6 Sep 2004
It is rare to encounter such a well considered and helpful reference work. The thesaurus is based on the work of Peter Roget's original 1852 manuscript and is structured by six classes of word meanings which are later cross referenced in the index. This arrangement is useful for exploring ideas and is a great pleasure to use. The 150th Anniversary Edition includes new modern vocabulary and several interesting essays explaining the history, purpose and ideas behind the book. This item comes highly recommended as an excellent desk reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An old friend updated, 14 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This edition replaced my battered 1962 version and is predictably much more comprehensive including many new words and phrases. Its layout is much clearer with better spacing but the format is essentially the same. The main innovation is the introduction of literary quotations and text boxes. The latter includes lists of cheeses, cocktails, wines and grapes, chemical elements and terms used in particle physics; all essential for crossword addicts. I am not sure of the value of "It is quite a three-pipe problem" (Sir Arthur Conan Doyle) under 459 Enquiry but the quotes add interest to searches. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


114 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roget's Thesaurus of English Words and phrases, 4 April 2003
This book is extremely useful to all - students, scholars and for general family use. It is easy to use and the thumb indexed edition is especially helpful for speeding up your search. I would recommend this book to anyone who does English or Journalism, or for anyone simply wishing to improve their range of vocabulary. This is the best thesaurus I have come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe not the best choice for crossword solvers, 6 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before buying this I read several reviews, but missed a vital point. It is clearly well organised for assisting with speech or creative writing, but this makes it a bit tricky to navigate if all you really want is lists of alternative words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable for writing better English, 14 Dec 2005
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases (Penguin Reference) (Paperback)
When my old Roget's wore out, I hesitated to buy another – aren't there free on-line services which do the same thing? Wrong. The Penguin Reference Roget's is infinitely superior to the on-line thesaurus services. By narrowing down the scope of the word you're looking for in the index (eg "tired" is subdivided into "inactive", "sleepy" or "fatigued") you rapidly reach exactly the synonyms or related words you're looking for. If you want to improve your English vocabulary and write with concision and style, the printed book remains unbeatable. It's also fun to browse, and makes a great gift.
Conclusion: after 150 years, still a powerful writing tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roget's thesaurus, 14 April 2009
Decided to replace my 1970's edition of this and am delighted with new version, easy to use and full of useful phrases. Great for my crosswords when I need a little help!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pig's Ear Don't Bother, 30 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases (Penguin Reference) (Paperback)
Disappointing to bad update of Roget's magnificent work. The price of a few contemporary words (some already out of use) is the loss of swathes of older terms. The reason for removing words seems to be an ill-defined and inconsistent sense of obsolescence or 'old-fashionedness'; but the presence of such words alongside words in popular usage is one of the values of the thesauraus Roget created. Example: section 794, Merchant. WORDS REMOVED(compared to an older Roget): merchant prince, merchant venturer, liveryman, livery company, concern, slaver, slave trader, wholesale merchant, chandler, stock-jobber, share-pusher, company promoter, moneychanger, cambist, tradesfolk, regrater, storekeeper, monger, provision merchant, rag-and-bone man, itinerant tradesman, colporteur, chapman, cheapjack, coster, huckster, sutler, vivandiere. Some are obsolete (stock-jobber - just - and thankfully slave trader - the Society for the Abolition of Slavery would disagree)); some are historically important (merchant prince, merchant venturer); some are restricted in usage but still current (livery and the City of London}; some are simply no longer in current usage (chapman, sutler); some are barely out of usage (no rag-and-bone men but endless repeats of Steptoe and Son on satellite TV!); some are unusual now but definitely used (cheapjack, 'business' concern). But what about storekeeper (mostly American but common in some parts of Britain) and a 'ship's' chandler? The phrase 'chamber of commerce' has been replaced by 'room of commerce', not English at all and nonsense, a chamber of commerce is an association of local business people not a room where business is conducted. This sounds like the kind of gaffe only a non-native speaker or a computer could make - chamber = old-fashioned word for room! If you are in education, read books, care about history, watch films that weren't made last week, do crosswords, engage in any kind of intellectual activity at all, want to know about your language and cherish it - don't buy this. Its principles are arbitrary, subjective, inconsistent and carelessly profligate when it comes to junking Roget's intentions for his thesaurus. Find a better version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reference book, 21 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. J. P. Bryan "JP" (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases (Penguin Reference) (Paperback)
This was recommended to me and is ideal for my needs as a law student. Price and delivery was competitive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meg, 7 Feb 2009
Really excellent reference book, very,very pleased with it. We use it for Scrabble and Crossword Puzzles and find it most helpful. Obviously it has far, far wider uses ( for Essays etc) for which it would also be an excellent source. It is extremely easy and clear to use and I would recommend it for any type of word study. It is also up-to-date and comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roget's Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases (Penguin Reference)
Roget's Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases (Penguin Reference) by George Davidson (Paperback - 5 Aug 2004)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews