Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended
This book is extremely useful. It will help anyone at any level, from a regular or professional writer to someone trying to create a CV or letter.
Everything is explained in simple layman's terms, and is supported by useful everyday examples. The best thing is that it's not at all patronising, it's just very matter of fact.
I would strongly recommend this book,...
Published on 18 Nov 2004 by J. Clifford

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How trustworthy?
This book has, on the whole, good reviews, but any book on the English Language that has a section headed 'Grammer' really should be treated with extreme caution even if it has been published by Penguin.
Published 20 months ago by G Talboys


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 18 Nov 2004
By 
J. Clifford (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Penguin Writer's Manual (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
This book is extremely useful. It will help anyone at any level, from a regular or professional writer to someone trying to create a CV or letter.
Everything is explained in simple layman's terms, and is supported by useful everyday examples. The best thing is that it's not at all patronising, it's just very matter of fact.
I would strongly recommend this book, and would also recommend "The Penguin Guide to Punctuation" by Robert L. Trask in the same series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to turn everyone into a writer, 20 April 2007
By 
Mrs. R. "Polymath" (London, England, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Writer's Manual (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
I write for a living and I also train others to improve their writing and this lovely little book as been a godsend. I encourage everyone I ever teach to buy it (or get the boss to buy it for them).

It's written so well that you can relax with it over a cup of tea or read it on the train home after a tiring day's work and it won't send you to sleep! It is practical, approachable and has everything it says that good writing should: clarity, simplicity, economy, variety, vigour and suitability.

Mind you, I would have called it the Penguin Writers' Manual. I wonder if they agonised over that. Maybe they want us all to have one each, not to share.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on., 2 Sep 2009
By 
G. Phethean "GP" (South East, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Penguin Writer's Manual (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
The Penguin Writer's Manual is a perfect addition to any writer's bookshelf. In fact it's a valuable reference for anyone who lays their hand on a pen, pencil or quill.
The book covers pretty much everything from the most basic punctuation; to usage and even writing essays and taking notes.
This book has helped me a lot and I've used it a lot (I've nearly destroyed it from the overuse of a highlighter).
You should get this book if you're looking to brush up on English skills or at college or Uni and want an easy-to-dive-in-and-read reference. Honestly, just get this book it's very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic little book!, 7 Jan 2012
By 
Gemma (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Penguin Writer's Manual (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
I am a bit of a pedant when it comes to writing, which makes this book perfect for me! Whether it's to find out whether I should use 'different to' or 'different from' or to give me a bit of info about abbreviations, this is my 'go to' book. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who cares about the words they use!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First-time the Title says what it means, 24 May 2004
This review is from: The Penguin Writer's Manual (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
I purchased "The Penguin Writer's Manual (Penguin Reference Books)". Although it says reference - it actually is teaching you how to group words into paragraphs. Over-all how to construct paragraphs into an essay.
Not only that, it starts from basics to advance writing essays or novels.
I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn from scratch or use it as a reference book.
The great thing about this book is that it is so easy to understand. The author has taken great deal of pains taking to explain how the paragraph's can be constructed in a lay man's term.
It is definitely better book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How trustworthy?, 18 Nov 2012
By 
G Talboys - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Penguin Writer's Manual (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
This book has, on the whole, good reviews, but any book on the English Language that has a section headed 'Grammer' really should be treated with extreme caution even if it has been published by Penguin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every day practical use, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Writer's Manual (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
Apparently over 40% of our actions are a result of habit. Scary when you think about speech. You start noticing how to improve when you start reading. highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Quality Issues, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A few pages into this book - which promised hints and tips on how to write better English - I noticed a subtitle spelt 'Grammer'. This must have been an omen of things to come, as some of the examples given for correct usage were underlined and the rest were left to interpretation. I didn't even manage to read a quarter of this book as I felt the explanations of Grammar and the components of English were not described clearly.

I would have expected better quality from a Penguin guidebook, especially one for 7.99. Needless to say, I got a refund!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Guide, 27 May 2013
By 
Mr. Colin Mcelhatton (Malta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Writer's Manual (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
Offers some great tips and guidelines, more importantly in a concise package. You don't get a hefty tome here, but a useable book you can carry around with you in your laptop carrycase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Penguins writers Manual, 10 May 2013
This review is from: The Penguin Writer's Manual (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
Brilliant book and perfect to use as a reference book to check grammar . This is excellent and would definitely recommend it to anyone who has an interest in getting their English right .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Penguin Writer's Manual (Penguin Reference Books)
The Penguin Writer's Manual (Penguin Reference Books) by Stephen Curtis (Paperback - 28 Mar 2002)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews