Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good buy
I bought this for my son's Russian girlfriend- her English is excellent but she is often baffled by idioms - now the cat is really out of the bag for her and she loves it.
Published on 5 Jan 2010 by Lambert Leek

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative and a fascinating read but ...
True to its name, this book gives plenty of English idioms with definitions, examples of use in a sentence and a clue as to their tone where necessary. Under "dry as a bone" it defines normal use and suggests the humorous application when someone wants an alcoholic drink very badly but, if you forget where this idiom is, it is hard to find it again in the index...
Published on 27 April 2012 by Doc Barbara


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good buy, 5 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Penguin Dictionary of English Idioms (4,000+ Idioms) (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
I bought this for my son's Russian girlfriend- her English is excellent but she is often baffled by idioms - now the cat is really out of the bag for her and she loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most useful and entertaining as well, 2 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Penguin Dictionary of English Idioms (4,000+ Idioms) (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
I find this new edition most useful and entertaining as well. The examples used are very helpful, carefully researched and documented. I book worth to be recommended to native speakers as well as to foreigners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and Entertaining!, 1 Feb 2008
This review is from: The Penguin Dictionary of English Idioms (4,000+ Idioms) (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
This book is recommendable to everyone who is interested in the Englsih language as well as to those which want to polish their english skills. The organisation of the idioms in categories instead of in alphabetical order is what makes this book very special in comarision to the other books on the market. Idioms are easy to find and once found you can inspire yourself while reading the other idioms in this particular category.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative and a fascinating read but ..., 27 April 2012
By 
Doc Barbara "Barbara Daniels" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Dictionary of English Idioms (4,000+ Idioms) (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
True to its name, this book gives plenty of English idioms with definitions, examples of use in a sentence and a clue as to their tone where necessary. Under "dry as a bone" it defines normal use and suggests the humorous application when someone wants an alcoholic drink very badly but, if you forget where this idiom is, it is hard to find it again in the index because it appears under "bone" but not under "dry." The index is necessary because the editor/authors have decided to group the idioms in sections rather than merely alphabetically: colours, weather, time, life and death etc. The index needed to find a particular idiom takes several pages and is incomplete, as I have suggested. I am not sure which reader would require this arrangement: a writer on a certain topic would not need a list of cliches and a student of English would want the most direct route to an expression. There are bound to be omissions but I was surprised that, with four definitions of 'hot spot' (not listed in the index so I couldn't find it to check that I am right), it didn't give the wi-fi meaning, surely now very common. I think this is more a book to read, savour and enjoy rather than a reference tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dictionary of English Idioms, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Dictionary of English Idioms (4,000+ Idioms) (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
I am fascinated by languages and the use of idioms and colloquiums, and in particular how they came about. To that end, this book was a disappointment, as the origins of many idioms have not been explained, for example: "Pig in a poke". This saying was born in medieval times, where some "fly-by-night" market traders would display healthy little piglets, which could be purchased and carried home in a bag (poke) "kindly" provided by the vendor. However, whilst the customer was distracted, the wily trader would stuff a worthless cat into the bag. The tort was not discovered until such time as the unfortunate purchaser returned home; when the cat was let out of the bag! The book does go some way towards explaining the origin of pig in a poke, but for some reason fails link it with letting the cat out of the bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, concise, useful, intuitive & accessible - it's pretty perfect!, 23 Jun 2011
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Dictionary of English Idioms (4,000+ Idioms) (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
In my job as a copywriter, this has turned out to be a pretty useful book. It's packed full of the sayings or 'Idioms' you've been hearing all your life, and is organised in a way that's intuitive and easy to use. It'll save you time wracking your brains for ideas when you write, as well as explain to you exactly what sayings like 'give a dog a bad name and hang him' (for example) mean.

Each entry gives an explanation and example of use, and all entries are organised in categories for extra easy reference - which are: Colours, Elements, Weather, Time, Life & Death, Trees & Plants, Animals, Birds, Fish, Insects, Body, Mind, Illness & Ailments, Relations, Town & Around, The House, Furniture & Household Articles, Food, Clothes, Ships, The World And Its Places, Languages & Nationalities, Names, Monarchy & Parliament, War & Peace, Weapons, Tools, Numbers, School & Education, Work & Occupations, Money & Valuables, Games & Sports, Music & Theatre, Word & Words.

So, if you're writing a piece on a certain subject (for instance I was writing something the other based on colours) you can simply flick to that section a find all the sayings and idioms you could ever want to on the subject. Also, there is an index so you can look up individual words - this too is laid out in a way that is very quick and easy to use. For example, let's suppose you need a saying that uses the word 'String'. A quick glance in the index and you will see:

String, a second string to one's bow 258/1; harp on the same s.315/10; have someone on a s. 320/13

So you see, you not only get a list of all the saying in the book that use the word string (so you don't have to look up each one individually), you also get directions to the entries should you find a saying you're not familiar with and are unsure what it means... Again, taking the above example - I'm sure most of us are familiar with the idioms and meanings of ' a second string to one's bow' and 'to have someone on a string', but what about 'harp on the same string'?

A quick flick to page 315 - and a read of entry number 10 on that page reveals:

10. to harp on the same string - to make the same point over and over again. 'I wish you wouldn't harp on the same string every time I light a cigarette. I know smoking is bad for your health but I won't give up!'

All in all, a worthwhile and very useful and accessible tool for working writers or people with an interest or love of language. Around 377 pages in length I can see this getting as much use as my Rhyming Dictionary - another item I couldn't live with out: Collins Rhyming Dictionary

The front cover of this book sums it up nicely... from cloud nine to seventh heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More formal less fun, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Dictionary of English Idioms (4,000+ Idioms) (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
Very formal dictionary of idioms rather than origins (i was seeking the latter). Nevertheless, i bought it as a gift and one for myself - cant say i read it a lot but it was fun for the parts i did but then i realised it is more of a dictionary than an "origin of words"

Good gift though for those Countdown viewer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not really what I expected, 29 Dec 2013
By 
J. Thomas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Dictionary of English Idioms (4,000+ Idioms) (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
The English idioms are very basic and would be more suited for a non-English speaking reader. I was hoping for some idioms to enhance my use of the English language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Dictionary of English Idioms (4,000+ Idioms) (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
Packed full of sayings and their meanings, but would have preferred it to have explained more origins of the sayings. Howevera very interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Dictionary of English Idioms (4,000+ Idioms) (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
This is a present for my daughter in law. Time will tell if she likes it - but what's not to like. A fascinating tome, which I wish I had bought for myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Penguin Dictionary of English Idioms (4,000+ Idioms) (Penguin Reference Books)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews