Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars invaluablel forstudents of international relations
This reference work is extremely well written. It is thoroughly cross-referenced and, crucially, its content is accurate and thoughtful. Theories of international relations are explained, clearly and concisely with relevent, up to date comment. Everything from wars to economic theories is also there! I'm studying for a degree in politics and have chosen international...
Published on 18 April 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good book for IR terms
good book but for a student of IR i dont think you need this book it is a bit long winded and may not always come handy for your studies
Published on 22 Jan. 2013 by IR FREAK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars invaluablel forstudents of international relations, 18 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Penguin Dictionary of International Relations (Penguin Reference) (Paperback)
This reference work is extremely well written. It is thoroughly cross-referenced and, crucially, its content is accurate and thoughtful. Theories of international relations are explained, clearly and concisely with relevent, up to date comment. Everything from wars to economic theories is also there! I'm studying for a degree in politics and have chosen international relations papers. This book has been invaluable: I have been able to access information and definitions in a fraction of the time it would have taken to plough through books. AND it's easy to understand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A detailed and accurate account of International Relations., 11 Mar. 2001
This review is from: The Penguin Dictionary of International Relations (Penguin Reference) (Paperback)
This is not a book that you can just sit down and read. It is a reference book. However it summaries key points in a manner I have not seen before. Unlike other reference books it doesn't just give you an explanation that is so detailed you still don't understand. Its written in a way that presumes you don't have knowledge on the subject. I gave this book five stars not because of the content but because the way it was written. I would recommend any student considering or taking a degree in international relations or another international affairs subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for IR students: 10 Years Ago, 3 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The Penguin Dictionary of International Relations (Penguin Reference) (Paperback)
This is a really excellent book, but is in dire need of an update and republish. Bearing in mind the ever-changing nature of International Relations, this book was written in 1998 and so it was published pre-9/11, pre-Afghanistan, pre-War on Terror, pre-Iraq, pre-Great Recession, pre-Obama and before the formation of several sovereign states in their current forms, including South Sudan, East Timor, Montenegro and Kosovo.

I realise that it is difficult to keep a published work of print up-to-date but 14 years old is way over the top. If Penguin could please update and reissue this book, its usefulness and intellectual value would increase five-fold, especially considering how much has happened in world events in the last 2 decades.

An ace book, but in serious need of repair!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for IR students!, 7 July 2008
This review is from: The Penguin Dictionary of International Relations (Penguin Reference) (Paperback)
As an International Relations student with a lot of things to learn and understand the jargons of IR, it is advisory to have this book as a reference. It is quite useful for the whole course of your studies whether as an Undergrad, Postgrad or even a Doctorate. It's worth all that money as it will be useful for a long period of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great reference book for International Relations, 9 May 2014
By 
EJ Jones "Words Worth" (Twickenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Dictionary of International Relations (Penguin Reference) (Paperback)
International Relations like many subjects has its unique terminologies and quirky languages. I was brand new to the subject at Masters Level and this really helped me to check key terms whenever I needed that information quickly and in an accessible format. I returned to this book again and again throughout my studies. Everything became clearer with this book to hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for students and readers of history and politics, 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Dictionary of International Relations (Penguin Reference) (Paperback)
Found this in University Library.
Explains those often used but not really understood words used in the subjects of history and international relations.
Combined with a good dictionary this book enables through its clear and guiding style the reader to enter into areas of discussion and research that previously would be daunting to say the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars friend and helper, 15 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Dictionary of International Relations (Penguin Reference) (Paperback)
Was really helpful during my IR studies!
Some good definitions in there that you can use for your essays as well.
Often found definitions in there that I couldnt find anywhere else!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good book for IR terms, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Dictionary of International Relations (Penguin Reference) (Paperback)
good book but for a student of IR i dont think you need this book it is a bit long winded and may not always come handy for your studies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Penguin Dictionary of International Relations (Penguin Reference)
The Penguin Dictionary of International Relations (Penguin Reference) by Richard Newnham (Paperback - 27 Aug. 1998)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews