Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars commas galore
This a good, straightforward, easy-to-read guide to punctuation. The table of contents is clearly laid out with chapters and sub-headings that allow easy searches for what you need to know - whether it's possessive apostrophes, the ellipsis or the slash that you're looking for.
An excellent reference book for those who want to learn and those who just need a reminder.
Published on 3 Dec 2003

versus
23 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very informative
This is a concise book that is no doubt helpful if you do not know much about punctuation. However, if you are looking for a definitive set of rules (especially as concerns puntuation in typed documents), you will be disappointed. I found the book lacking in detail. For example, if you want to know how many blank spaces should be inserted before and after different...
Published on 27 May 2009 by Caren Firth


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars commas galore, 3 Dec 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Guide to Punctuation (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
This a good, straightforward, easy-to-read guide to punctuation. The table of contents is clearly laid out with chapters and sub-headings that allow easy searches for what you need to know - whether it's possessive apostrophes, the ellipsis or the slash that you're looking for.
An excellent reference book for those who want to learn and those who just need a reminder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Penguin Guide to Punctuation by R. L. Task: Review by CPES31, 10 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Penguin Guide to Punctuation (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
"Easy to follow, this step by step guide will dispel the mysteries of punctuation and provide an invaluable aid to writing clear English". This quote from the cover describes "The Penguin Guide to Punctuation" in a nutshell. Well structured, with a clear style and good layout, it deals separately with each area of punctuation, both British and American, and provides illustrative examples for each case.

If you need to learn modern English punctuation quickly and easily, or if you just need a ready reference to verify the punctuation of your writing from time to time, buy this book. Not only is it an excellent book but it is also good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled by its size: this is DEFINITIVE!, 1 Jun 2006
By 
M. Appleton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Penguin Guide to Punctuation (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
Written by an author who clearly has strong feelings on the subject, this guide addresses each punctuation mark in turn, citing examples to cover every conceivable instance of its use. Differences between British and American usages are always highlighted where necessary (which is a nice touch I haven't seen in many other guides).

Despite being such a small book, the content is pretty much exhaustive, and Trask always expresses his opinion without pontificating. It's also written in an approachable style (where most guides are rigidly formal).

Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best English lesson ever, 1 May 2007
By 
This review is from: The Penguin Guide to Punctuation (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
Punctuation is the most confusing part of grammar for writers.

This book details the correct usage for each punctuation, in a way that a thirteen year old would understand.

Most definitely the best English lesson I have had.

If you only buy one book on writing/grammar, than I advise you to buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No more "comma phobia.", 15 Feb 2005
By 
Andrew "docdaneeka" (Zürich, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Penguin Guide to Punctuation (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
If, like me, you were once unsure of when to use a comma; where to place a semi-colon, this book will help you enormously.
Structured simply and written in plain English this book will banish any puzzlement over punctuation.
I really wish someone had shown me this book when I was at school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyably idiosynchratic and easy to read guide, 13 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Penguin Guide to Punctuation (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
This book is a very sound guide to correct punctuation. The author has strong opinions, which makes the book more interesting to read. It is full of examples and easy to understand. The book answered every question I had about punctuation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice book to learn or 're-learn' your punctuation..., 15 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Guide to Punctuation (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
This is a nice little book to get you started or even refresh your memory on correct punctuation. It's a nice and easy book to read through and, though a mere 160 pages or so, very comprehensive, covering all you will need to know about punctuation. I've just quickly read through it today, but will read through it in more detail at my leisure in the hope of purging some of my many bad writing habits. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read, learn and enjoy, 25 Aug 2004
By 
G. Thulbourn (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Penguin Guide to Punctuation (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
An excellent book that gives a very simple recap of how punctuation should be used in the English language. It is logically organised with plenty of excellent examples. Unlike The Penguin Guide to Plain English, a truly awful book, this is both pragmatic and very readable.
I haven't read the 'populist' Eats Shoots and Leaves book yet, and I don't feel compelled to; this little book contains all you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, 12 Sep 2009
By 
J. Walkley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Penguin Guide to Punctuation (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
This book has been invaluable to me, when checking my punctuation for writing assignments for university and learning about punctuation in general. It is a nice easy book to pick up and read a few pages of at the end of a busy day. There appears to be everything I need to know, or I have had a need to know so far, and I would recommend this book to everyone even those with just a vague interest in grammar. I shall definitely buying more books in the penguin reference series and by Trask.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grocer's beware!, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Guide to Punctuation (Penguin Reference Books) (Paperback)
A highly recommended guide which will help you there is no doubt of that as I am sure everyone would agree to avoid long sentences like the one you are currently reading right now and which it should be stressed with the utmost conviction I have every reason to expect are wondering when the end will come if ever and not a moment too soon Id say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Penguin Guide to Punctuation (Penguin Reference Books)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews