Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ancient greece
a very good overview of ancient Greece from the bronze age to Alexander. There are good maps. However if one wants to pursue any subject in depth one will have to look else where
Published on 10 Sep 2009 by Ian. ex-pat

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and fairly nasty
For me an atlas is all about the maps. The text can be got elsewhere in better books, although having said that, Morkot's text in the Penguin Greek atlas is excellent.

I've got Penguin atlases of Greece, Rome and Egypt, and they are all the same - well-meaning, but barely worth the money, because they are done too much on the cheap. I find there's a huge amount...
Published on 18 Feb 2010 by Fuficius Fango


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ancient greece, 10 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Greece (Penguin Historical Atlases) (Paperback)
a very good overview of ancient Greece from the bronze age to Alexander. There are good maps. However if one wants to pursue any subject in depth one will have to look else where
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Introduction to Ancient Greece, 6 July 2004
This review is from: The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Greece (Penguin Historical Atlases) (Paperback)
This book offers a excellent basic view of Ancient Greek History in rougly chonological order, from the earliest farms of 7000 BC to the defeat of Mithridates in 63BC.
Each chapter combines concise explinations supported by a variety of colourful maps, photographs and diagrams to keep the reader interested.
Its a must for anyone new to the subject or those who have a general interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and fairly nasty, 18 Feb 2010
This review is from: The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Greece (Penguin Historical Atlases) (Paperback)
For me an atlas is all about the maps. The text can be got elsewhere in better books, although having said that, Morkot's text in the Penguin Greek atlas is excellent.

I've got Penguin atlases of Greece, Rome and Egypt, and they are all the same - well-meaning, but barely worth the money, because they are done too much on the cheap. I find there's a huge amount of stuff I've had to add to the maps and to the indexes. But unfortunately, I'd have to recommend these Penguins, because you've got no real alternative unless you can afford a Barrington.

However, you should look at Samuel Butler's Atlas of Ancient and Classical Geography. Everyman published it in 1907, but their 1933 and 1952 editions used entirely different maps. Amazon now (as from 2010) do a paperback reprint of the original edition (a disaster - see my review of it!), or you can find it on Gutenberg. It is to some extent Victorian or even Georgian guesswork (Butler died in 1839, but his son revised the maps), and you'll need a magnifying glass to read it, but still it is a minor treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical Atlas of Ancient Greece, 17 Jun 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Greece (Penguin Historical Atlases) (Paperback)
I've had this book for several years, and referred to it regularly while undertaking a paper on Ancient Greece. The Penguin range of Historical Atlases are, certainly the ones that I own or have read, very good. They are value for money, offering good summations of major points in the topic they are about. In this instance, the book offers breakdowns of Ancient Greek history as:
Crete, Mycenae and the Heroic Age
Dark Age to Athenian Ascendancy
The Persian Rival
Perikles to Philip
Alexander and After

I do not believe the book purports to be a definitive source; where they are invaluable is that they offer, in summaries of only a few pages long, key points and outlines of particular subtopics, together with timelines putting the topics in a broader historical context. The maps in particular also offer a wonderful visual aid. These Historical Atlases, and this one as well, offer a student a quick and ready reference to any particular place, time or topic. They are to be used best, in my opinion, as additional material to add to serious and scholarly reading for a more indepth learning. However, if you are reading a book on, for example, the Mycenean World, or the Greek settlements in Italy, or the Peloponnesian War, this book offers a valuable additional resource to consolidate and solidify your reading and learning experience.

Key terms are defined, further reading suggestions are offered, and the book offers, as a whole, a resource that I have found myself referring to often. Totally and utterly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK - but expected clearer & larger maps, 9 Oct 2013
By 
Jim (Craigavon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Greece (Penguin Historical Atlases) (Paperback)
I purchased this a a means of having a series of maps which I could easily refer to while I was reading associated books. The book was disappointing - the maps were there, but not a legible and large as I had expected. The binding was such that the book could not be made to stay open at the appropriate page without significant weighting down - not good for constant referral and the accompanying text (historical overview) is so general as to be just taking up good map space. After my initial scan though the book, it has remained unopened on my bookshelf.
Good for those wanting a little information on Ancient Greece but not for the serious student
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book at a bargain price, 22 Sep 2011
By 
A. Adshead "musiclover" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Greece (Penguin Historical Atlases) (Paperback)
Saw the book at the Ashmolean in Oxford at the proper price. Then saw on Amazon once home for a bargain price. Keeps husband quiet. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Greece (Penguin Historical Atlases)
£12.43
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews