Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Snowman has no text!
I am amazed that people buy this book and are disappointed that it has no story! The whole point of the story is that it has no words. The pictures tell the story. It isn't poor value for money as some claim, the value is in the artwork which is beautiful. Generations of children & adults have loved this story and I for one think its a lovely book for small children,...
Published on 12 Nov 2012 by AML

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Snowman Sound Book
I bought this book for my 20 month grandson. He had fun with the story and listening to the 'Jingle Bells'. I was a wee bit disappointed that there were no words for me to read for him but that was my fault for not checking the details before purchase.
Published on 3 Feb 2012 by Cassandra


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Snowman has no text!, 12 Nov 2012
I am amazed that people buy this book and are disappointed that it has no story! The whole point of the story is that it has no words. The pictures tell the story. It isn't poor value for money as some claim, the value is in the artwork which is beautiful. Generations of children & adults have loved this story and I for one think its a lovely book for small children, especially in an age where everything has to be a gadget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and unique, 30 Mar 2007
This review is from: The Snowman (Picture Puffin) (Paperback)
This is one of the all time favourite books of our two children currently aged 4 and 6. Whenever it's Christmas or snowing and time for a bedtime story, you just know this will be the one they drag out for you to "read". I say read because there are no words - the story is 100% told in pictures and I think that is the involvement they enjoy as we talk about what is going on in each scene.

A magical story, illustrated in a style that matches the story being conveyed very well, guaranteed to draw you in regardless of your age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Snowman board book, paperback size, 19 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Snowman (Board book)
This is a lovely book to share with a small child, and has solid board pages so is satisfying for them to turn themselves. It is not the same story as the original, so no visit to the North Pole is included, no Father Christmas nor snowmen party, not even any flying. This renders any connection with the song 'I'm Walking in the Air' meaningless. But the little pictures are great for talking about and to get the child used to extracting information from the page. A bit disappointing if you are expecting the full story, but a worthwhile gift for a toddler all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!!, 8 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This book was just great! It take you back to when you were a child, and makes you feel warm and happy inside...
perfect illustrations & a wonderful christmas story. Would be such a memorable christmas gift to a child!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original story by Raymond Briggs, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowman (Paperback)
Beautiful illistrations with no text so wonderful for children to exert their own language and imagination skills.
Drawn like a story board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowman (Paperback)
Every home should have one.....a DVD for all the family to suit together and enjoy. A Christmas ritual fir us, and a feel good factor! Swift delivery and well packed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect book for 2 1/2 - 3 year olds, 4 Feb 2014
By 
Mrs. S. G. H. Green "SusieB" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowman (Paperback)
A beautiful book, read to my children and grandchildren. Do you know, incidentally, that no one knows about it in Australia - or the film? My nearly-3-year old absolutely loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely story, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowman (Paperback)
when my son was small thi was his ultimate best book. It's just the right length for a bedtime story,, and setting the mood for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful classic, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowman (Paperback)
Bought this to accompany the DVD in our 23 month old's stocking. She loved the DVD but the book has been less of a hit. I love it though - beautiful illustrations, the original story and with no text, the potential for imaginative storytelling as our little girl grows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 27 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Snowman (Paperback)
I love reading this book to my son, You can make it as detailed as you like. Such a wonderful story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Snowman (Picture Puffin)
The Snowman (Picture Puffin) by Raymond Briggs (Paperback - 29 Oct 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews