Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An overlooked classic., 28 Sep 2002
By 
Sara Collins (Kanturk,, Co. Cork Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jim and the Beanstalk (Puffin Picture Books) (Paperback)
Jim wakes up one morning to see a tall plant growing outside his window. He climbs up and reaches the top where he finds a huge house. When he goes to the house, the door is opened by a very, very old giant, who was a small boy when Jack climbed the beanstalk. Jim supplies the giant with glasses, false teeth and a flaming red wig over the course of the story, all with a large gold coin given to him by the giant. There is a lovely ending and my three year old loves it. Buy it and read it, you will be enchanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Year Three's View!, 30 May 2011
This review is from: Jim and the Beanstalk (Puffin Picture Books) (Paperback)
A young, nice boy called Jim, who meets a Giant and helps him...will Jim survive like Jack or be eaten by the...G.I.A.N.T.?!

Jim who always helps the Giant and gets a giant big gold coin...

Jim is always keen to make life easier for the bald Giant and always goes down the leafy beanstalk with a gold coin and to get something to help the Giant.

Now Jim is in big trouble...the Giant is actually hungry. He is feeling like small, fried boy. Can lovely Jim survive?

Raymond Briggs has written this in a funny way. It is a stylish, creative and fantastical book. Brilliant for youngsters it has amazing, colourful drawings. This book has a similarity to Jack and the Beanstalk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A favourite, 27 Jun 2010
By 
J. R. Unwin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim and the Beanstalk (Puffin Picture Books) (Paperback)
This has always been one of my favourite books but I haven't read it to a class for some years. When we started to work on 'Jack and the Beanstalk' as part of out topic I didn't want to miss the opportunity to read this as well. As I predicted, the kids absolutely loved it and it inspired loads of creative writing, even from my most reluctant writers. Jim and the Beanstalk (Puffin Picture Books)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Really Great Story, 9 Jun 2010
This review is from: Jim and the Beanstalk (Puffin Picture Books) (Paperback)
I bought this book to for my class at school. It was a really good starting point to writing a story about a beanstalk with the children as the main character.
They also really enjoyed the book and found it funny to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jim and the beanstalk, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim and the Beanstalk (Puffin Picture Books) (Paperback)
Lovely book to teach imaginary worlds in year 2 and 3. Also good for description, speech marks and subordinate clauses. Clever twist on the original too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant variation of Jack & the beanstalk, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim and the Beanstalk (Puffin Picture Books) (Paperback)
If you'd like to read a follow on to the traditional book or want a less gruesome version this is your book. A fun story with excellent illustrations and the repetition of phrases which encourage children to join in.For teachers it can be cross curricular; it brings in measuring; growth; my body; comparing past & present of giants life as well as being a great story to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim and the Beanstalk (Puffin Picture Books) (Paperback)
This is one of my children's favourite book. They love the twist on jack and the beanstalk and thought the giant was brilliant. I have read this story to 4-8 year olds and they all relished it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim and the Beanstalk (Puffin Picture Books) (Paperback)
This is a funny alternative story to the traditional tale of Jack and the Beanstalk. My son loved it and so did I!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars alternative to Jack, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim and the Beanstalk (Puffin Picture Books) (Paperback)
this is an excellent book - recommended story for young children.
beautiful illustrations - a good alternative to a well know story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jim and the Beanstalk (Puffin Picture Books) (Paperback)
I loved this book. I read it to my Year one class during our 'fairytale' topic and they absolutely loved it. A nice twist on the original Jack and the beanstalk story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jim and the Beanstalk (Puffin Picture Books)
Jim and the Beanstalk (Puffin Picture Books) by Raymond Briggs (Paperback - 25 Jan 1973)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews