Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome return of this modern classic, 24 Aug 2002
By 
DL (Gower, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mediterranean Seafood (Paperback)
Mr Davidson's book is more than a book about food, more than a book about fish, more than a book about the Mediterranean. It is a highly readable treasury of information about Mediterranean and European cultural history, the taxonomy of edible sea creatures of the warmer European waters, and an unparallelled guide to identifying, buying or catching, and preparing the catch for the table.
This book is as much at home in the study and on the bedside table as in the kitchen. No informed reader's bookshelves should be without it - even if he or she is not interested in fish. Well done to Tom Jaine for publishing this updated and beautifully illustrated reissue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seafood cookery, 3 Aug 2009
By 
Mme Jane Mann - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterranean Seafood (Paperback)
A brilliantly clear and concise book. The drawings and titles of the fish make them easy to recognise in several languages, mediteranean recipes help you know what to do with them and to appreciate and enjoy the huge variety of seafood available in the mediterranean ( and in most good fishmongers in the uk).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A classic reference work, 15 Feb 2010
This review is from: Mediterranean Seafood (Paperback)
We had a copy of this book in an earlier paperback edition, and it had pride of place on the shelf alongside our other cookery books, until it simply fell apart due to years of use.

Quite simply - if you've even been on holiday around the Med and wondered what that fish you saw in the market was, and/or how you should cook it - then this book has the answer.

Beautiful line drawings, detailed information about the fish in question, and simple to follow recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So much more than a cookery book, 14 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterranean Seafood (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
For anyone with any interest in Mediterranean seafood this book will become your most prized text. The author is witty, erudite and very knowledgeable. The first part of the book is a very comprehensive guide to the fishes and crustations. Most useful is that each entry is named in the languages of the countries that border the Mediterranean as well as English. Illustrations are in the form of sketches which in my opinion are so much better in this context that photographs. The second part of the book is a selection of recipes and methods of cooking the fish. Cross referencing between the species of sea creature and ways to prepare them are contained in the text and also in the comprehensive indices.
This is a very useful book for English speaking people living in the Mediterranean area, as well as tourists who want to understand more of what they eat in the restaurants and Tavernas, or simple those at home with access to good fish supplies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterranean Seafood (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
Exactly as advertised, it has everything one would wish to know about Mediterranean Seafood and a must for any amateur cook!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterranean Seafood (Paperback)
I bought this one to replace my paper book one that I used to take on holiday to France to find my way around the fish market slabs, and that eventually died of exhaustion. It's a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mediterranean Seafood in Devon, 26 May 2009
By 
B. M. Lewis (Devon England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mediterranean Seafood (Paperback)
I am in my own little heaven with this book. Devon has its own wonderful seafood all fresh and delicious and this adds the mediterranean flavour. Roll on summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, a pleasure to read, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mediterranean Seafood (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
Great book, a pleasure to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mediterranean Seafood (Cookery Library)
Mediterranean Seafood (Cookery Library) by Alan Davidson (Paperback - 28 May 1987)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews