Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful introduction to the cooking of the region, 15 July 2001
By A Customer
I wanted to try Moroccan cookery and was delighted to be given this book as a present. The recipes are clear and easy to follow, many of them can be cooked in advance and the illustrations are lovely - and almost realistic. None of the ones I have tried have failed to delight (my partner asks me to mention especially the Saffron Caramel Cream on p 187). Most of the ingredients have been readily available - even in the provincial outreaches of Leeds (OK so I can't find frozen artichoke bottoms but that's my fault, right, for not living in London - use fresh ones instead from local allotments garden shop!) I have been inspired to ask - and receive - a tagine cooking pot for Christmas and to move on to more dedicated books on specific cuisine such as Moroccan Cuisine by Paula Wolfert. An excellent follow up to, if not in the same league as, The Book of Jewish Food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to cook recipes from the Middle East, 8 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tamarind & Saffron: Favourite Recipes from the Middle East (Penguin Cookery Library) (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book full of easy to cook recipes that taste delicious and will impress your family and friends. The dishes taste exotic but use ingredients that are easily available in most supermarkets. The book includes recipes for salads, soups, main dishes, vegetables and desserts. My sister spent years learning how to cook like this in the Middle East. I can now (almost) reach her standard by using this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simple yet tasty book on Middle Eastern Cooking., 7 Mar 2000
This is the first time that I read a book by Claudia Roden and I was very impressed by it. I have tried about half a dozen recipes from this book within a two week period. The instructions are very simple to follow and the end results are delicious. The only suggestion that I would like to make is to insert a section with explanations of all the spices and ingredients somewhere in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great cookery writer, 17 Sep 2009
By 
J. Fryman "jerryfn" (Herefordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We already owned a copy of this. A friend came to stay and we recommended and bought one for her. Had to Amazon to find a copy as it's now out of print. This is just the kind of food we like, not too pretentious and high on taste.
Certainly worth a reprint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tamarind & Saffron: Favourite Recipes from the Middle East (Penguin Cookery Library) (Paperback)
Got this for a friend who was interested in cooking middle eastern food but is an amateur cook. She found the book inspiring and everything was really easy to make, easy to follow recipes, and the way it is written makes you want to eat everything in it. Would really recommend this to anyone wanting to cook middle eastern food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Middle Eastern Odyssey, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tamarind & Saffron: Favourite Recipes from the Middle East (Penguin Cookery Library) (Paperback)
Quite comprehensive and interesting recipes for a beginner in middle eastern cookery, good for an introduction to the area's cuisine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like tasty food, 21 Aug 2012
By 
William S. Bailey "wsbbailey" (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tamarind & Saffron: Favourite Recipes from the Middle East (Penguin Cookery Library) (Paperback)
Claudia Roden's books have been available for many years and have always been recognised as among the best. My earliest one is a soft-covered Penquin, much used and much revered. Modern books have got larger, with better paper and fantastic pictures. The text is very good, I prefer it to that of Elizabeth David, who is sometimes patronising. The Mediterranean seems to be the centre of attention these days, but Ms Roden has the right to discuss the cuisine of the region due to her experience, family connections and writing skills. Her new Spanish book is also excellent, with a great sense of history, and not the feeling of the writer rushing around in a camper-van hardly stopping to write down the next recipe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Middle Eastern Luxury, 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tamarind & Saffron: Favourite Recipes from the Middle East (Penguin Cookery Library) (Paperback)
What a great recipe book - inspired me to buy more spices (and even more spicejars to keep them in) Fantastic recipes that evoke memories of holidays to Egypt and North Africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An alright book, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tamarind & Saffron: Favourite Recipes from the Middle East (Penguin Cookery Library) (Paperback)
Few recipes there that I would like to try, few bulgur salads that looks interesting, my only complain is the lack of pictures for quite a lot of the recipes, I like it when you can see what the finished dish should look like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tamarind & Saffron: Favourite Recipes from the Middle East (Penguin Cookery Library)
12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews