Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book about Judaism through the medium of food
I can only agree with the previous reviewers - as a cookbook this is excellent, crammed full of a tremendous number and variety of great recipes, sensibly organised. As a historical book of a people told through their food it's even better.
It is nothing less than a social history of both Ashkenazi and Sephardi Judiasm told through the medium of food. The recipes...
Published on 15 Jan 2003

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good cookbook for Kindle.
A very disappointing Kindle book. Completely impossible to find recipes as the Kindle version has no index or list of contents beyond the general chapters.

I'm sure this is not the case in the actual book, but for Kindle readers it is useless.
Published 2 months ago by Angela


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars book of jewish food, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful book, good price, fast and safe delivery.
I would recomment to those who has time for reading and watching the pictures, and of course has time for cooking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cook book and good service, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Jewish Food: An Odyssey from Samarkand and Vilna to the Present Day (Paperback)
I was really pleased that for a second hand book it was in such good quality - clearly an unwanted Xmas present! The book arrived promptly and was well packed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars book of Jewish food, 18 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Book of Jewish Food: An Odyssey from Samarkand and Vilna to the Present Day (Paperback)
This book was interesting in that there was a lot of historical and cultural information covering a wide geographical area. Europe and the middle east. What makes it alive is that the author Roden intersperses the book with personal and anecdotal references as well. The recipes are quite basic but that is probably just a reflection of the availability of ingredients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 2 Jan 2013
By 
Pendragon (Brittany, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Jewish Food: An Odyssey from Samarkand and Vilna to the Present Day (Paperback)
I love Claudia Rodens books they don't just set you on the path to good food, but the stories are great. I love the stories as much as the recipes. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've wanted this cook book since I left home (about 17 years ago) now I have it
It's great quality, pretty happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding book on cooking and culture, 22 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really Claudia Rodin is such a great definitive cookery writer .Not knowing a great deal about Jewish food we found this both a very reliable cook book and a really well written cultural history -great present for any cook of any culture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, great recipes, 3 Dec 2011
By 
Tarrentez (Welwyn England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Book of Jewish Food: An Odyssey from Samarkand and Vilna to the Present Day (Paperback)
An all-time classic which is a very interesting read with history from the many jewish cultures. The review of the interplay between festivals, ordinary life and where the food came from is fascinating. The recipes are worth a try, especially as they come from such a rich diversity of backgrounds (and many are delicious).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Book of jewish Food, 28 Oct 2010
This is a wonderful book giving not only recipes from all over and their variations but also a lot of history. This is my second copy. My son who also loves cooking, kept stealing it so eventually I had to buy him his own copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good cookbook for Kindle., 9 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very disappointing Kindle book. Completely impossible to find recipes as the Kindle version has no index or list of contents beyond the general chapters.

I'm sure this is not the case in the actual book, but for Kindle readers it is useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only One Thing Missing!, 14 Mar 2005
By 
Mr C. D. Beard (Elgin, Moray United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Jewish Food: An Odyssey from Samarkand and Vilna to the Present Day (Paperback)
This is not so much a cook book more an encyclopedia of Jewish cooking and as such is very comprehensive. I doubt anyone could have any complaints with the amount of information or the number of recipes contained within its pages.
The only drawback to this book is the total lack of photographs of the finished dishes and as such it does not inspire me to try creating any of them. Food is as much a visual experience as well as one of smells and tastes.
As a cookbook it fails to inspire the reader to try and recreate the recipes but as a history of Jewish cooking it excels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book of Jewish Food: An Odyssey from Samarkand and Vilna to the Present Day
£17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews