Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you buy one Middle Eastern cookery book...
...make it this one. The recipes easy to follow, and Roden's writing style is peppered with amusing anecdotes about her childhood in Egypt and historical information that make this book a good read outside the kitchen as well as in.
Whereas many Middle Eastern cookbooks leave out ingredients (presumably to make the dishes seem less scary to Western palates), Roden's...
Published on 23 Nov 2002 by cranktheswank

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
no pictures but more to the point, all sound the same
Published 2 months ago by miss malta


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you buy one Middle Eastern cookery book..., 23 Nov 2002
This review is from: A New Book of Middle Eastern Food (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
...make it this one. The recipes easy to follow, and Roden's writing style is peppered with amusing anecdotes about her childhood in Egypt and historical information that make this book a good read outside the kitchen as well as in.
Whereas many Middle Eastern cookbooks leave out ingredients (presumably to make the dishes seem less scary to Western palates), Roden's recipes are authentic. Many include alternate suggestions and regional variations from family recipes submitted by her friends and readers from across the region, so chances are you'll always have the proper ingredients to hand.
I cook from this regularly, both for everyday meals and special occasions (the appetiser section has loads of dishes that are great for parties). Middle Eastern cooking seems to be designed to make expensive ingredients like meat go a long way, and (although they're not flagged as such) there's some great recipes here if you're on a tight budget.
In other words...absolutely essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


108 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on middle-eastern kitchen!, 12 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A New Book of Middle Eastern Food (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
I had one of the earlier editions of this book and it taught me how to cook. The new edition is even better than the previous. How is that possible? Maybe I have, with age, learned to appreciate culinary culture more than I used to.
I am a Turkish woman and most of the recepies Roden explains in her marvellous book are no strangers to me. I have ben living abroad now for many years. Every time I open Roden's book I can smell my grandmother's kitchen.
Here is a personal "thank you" to Claudia Roden from me. Maashallah, forty one times, as we say back home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rich and wide-ranging collection, 22 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A New Book of Middle Eastern Food (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
This cookbook celebrates the culinary diversity of the Middle East with a wealth of traditional recipes from many countries. The author's enthusiasm for the dishes she describes is evident throughout, and the recipes span the spectrum from everyday meals to more elaborate preparations for holidays and special occasions. Most of the ingredients are readily available, and the food is nutritious, flavorful, and economical. Whether you are an experienced cook or only a beginner, this book has something for you.
Also recommended: "Recipes and Remembrances from an Eastern Mediterranean Kitchen: A Culinary Journey through Syria, Lebanon, and Jordan," by Sonia Uvezian. This seminal work captures the essence of the region's traditional foods in hundreds of distinctive recipes interspersed with superlative cultural and culinary background material, including unparalleled information on ingredients and utensils.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best middle eastern cookery book on the market, 18 Jun 2002
This review is from: A New Book of Middle Eastern Food (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
I have always been a fan of Claudia Roden's books but this is her best yet. The background text is fascinating and the recipes are always reliable, which is not always the case with this type of book. I was a bit dubious about buying a cookery book without any photographs of the food, but quite honestly it doesn't need them - the descriptions are more than enough to give a picture of how it should look. It is the most used book in my kitchen and never fails to inspire me when I'm having trouble deciding what to cook. If you only buy one Middle Eastern cookery book, make sure it is this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adam and a Packet of Chick Peas, 5 Jan 2003
By 
Mrs. M.C. Lyons (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A New Book of Middle Eastern Food (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
I bought Claudia Roden's original book in 1973 (the year my son was born) and have used it regularly ever since. He has just rung me for a "hummus" recipe and to ask what to do with the extra chick peas he has soaked. Naturally, I immediately turned to my copy of "A Book of Middle Eastern Food", found a recipe for "Chick peas with Potatoes and Tomatoes" which I handed on to him, and, hoping it was still in print, decided to order him a copy. I am delighted to find there is a new book, and feel sure he will enjoy it as much as I have the old one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of my cookbook collection (over 300 books!), 20 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: A New Book of Middle Eastern Food (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
I bought the original edition many years ago, and I found it so useful and delightful to read that I bought the new one as soon as it came out. The author mixes folk tales with personal anecdotes, an outline of the origins of certain dishes and of course, a bounty of clear and wonderful recipes. Each one of them is the best I have ever found for the dish in question, well explained, and comes out perfect every time. Thanks to Mrs Roden I have opened a treasure chest, her book is a voyage of discovery of Middle Eastern food, tradition, way of life, folklore, etc. The sun shines on every page!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 19 Oct 2005
By 
August Davis "august_in_uk" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A New Book of Middle Eastern Food (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
What a delight to find this book. All of the other reviewers are spot on with their championing of this treasure-trove of gorgeous recipes. As with her other books, Roden gives amusing and interesting anecdotes while relating the recipes and you can imagine the communities and individuals whence the recipes derive.
It is a must for any kitchen, with informal and easy to follow recipes making effortlessly delicious meals and treats.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, 15 Nov 2011
This review is from: A New Book of Middle Eastern Food (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
What a great cookbook! It's not like one of those new cookbooks full of fancy images but it's "oldschool"- full of tasty recipes (it also contains some nice images). The book is full of easy to follow recipes that produce utterly delicious food. Highly recommended to everybody!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic food, 13 Sep 2011
I already have the previous edition but, as I live abroad part of the year, I wanted another copy so not to have to carry the book about. This is one of my favourite cookery books: the recipes are easy to follow and the results are great; the notes on the origins and uses of the various food items are informative and entertaining. I recommend this book highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good compact recipe book, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Book of Middle Eastern Food (Cookery Library) (Paperback)
This is a penguin compact paperback without pics, beware. But lovely street scene sketches throughout the book. the recipes are tasty, simple for most, with not too many ingredients or hard to get ones. This is a mix of recipes from Morocco to Iran, but listed by courses/main ingredients, rather than by their origin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A New Book of Middle Eastern Food (Cookery Library)
A New Book of Middle Eastern Food (Cookery Library) by Claudia Roden (Paperback - 30 Oct 1986)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews