Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warm and Friendly Philosophy from Plato
If you are new to philosophy or Plato, or indeed a seasoned and erudite reader, then you really should read and own a copy of this book. Plato is a delight to read (far easier to read than Aristotle, for example), the book being a Socratic dialogue set out very much like the dialogue of a play. I found the ideas and ideologies presented within this book profound and...
Published 18 months ago by B Applechase

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Capricious lecturers
This is a pretty good translation, depending on who you ask. I had a copy of the republic, then needed to buy this exact translation for a specific module on my course. A year or so later, and a different lecturer dismissed the translation as terrible and asked me to get a different copy. I now own four different translations...
Published 14 months ago by Ellie Tucker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Philosophers rejoice, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Republic (Paperback)
The highest example of ancient ellenic culture and intelligence. This is a great book from back when people used to have extraordinary intelligent minds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent explanation of the text., 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Republic (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
The author gives an explanation of the text at the beginning of each book. The explanations are clearly given and allow the reader to understand Plato without any problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent edition!, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Republic (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Very good edition. Precise and distraction-less. Provides a very useful numbering of lines and a good introduction. I recommend this edition for academic purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Republic (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Anyone who has a passion for classical civilisation should own this book. The book is made very easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all politicians, 2 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Republic (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
The republic is my top recommendation for anyone getting to grips with politics, within these weighty pages we find a Socratic dialogue that offers more sense to how to run our country politically than the three main leaders of our political parties combined can bring together.

Covering a vast range of topics via dialogue, Plato's favored writing style, if studied, absorbed and followed, you would put yourself on a sure footing with regards to running a country and fulfilling the needs of the people.
It is a reminder that politicians and Governments are there to serve the constituency, not to serve themselves massive paypackets, expenses and pensions! Plato through the mouth piece of Socrates had Government bang on when he made these claims. He also believed that we should be Governed by philosopher kings. Meaning either a philosopher should enter politics and rule us or that say one of our current leaders, perhaps Cameron, should study the arts of Philosophy so he can do a better job of running the country; it could do little harm I believe.

In fact Aristotle, Platos' student, actually wrote a treatise of Government in two parts, the first his Ethics, the second his Politics. Aristotle believed both Ethics and Politics were intertwined, something which concurs with the Republic.

An excellent read for anyone studying political philosophy or anyone heaven forbid wishing to enter politics as a profession, we need more philosopher kings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Plato's Republic, 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Republic (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Still can't say I've rad it cover to cover but I lost the orginal and couldn't stand the gap on the shelf.....I dip into it occasionally to remind myself what the Great Master said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I understood most of this from just observing life and ..., 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Republic (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I understood most of this from just observing life and being cynical. Most modern states draw similarities to Plato's Republic. Worth a read, but of a slog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Culture, 23 May 2013
By 
This review is from: The Republic (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
To put it simply, the mere act of buying this made me more cultured.

This is a book of great intellectual value. Things originally written inside still hold relevance, and in fact are often commonplace in today's society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plato - The Republic, 15 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Republic (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
If you're thinking about reading The Republic, then I would. But I wouldn't read it as a first work of Plato, and certainly not as one of Plato's first works, as it is quite dense.
I suggest you read Euthyphro, Apology, Crito, Phaedo, (in that order), and the Problems of Philosophy - Bertrand Russell.

The book arrived within a couple of days, and was all in perfect condition. (I've never ordered anything from Amazon which hasn't.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 11 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Republic (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Came just as suggested. Thinner than I expected, but apparently it is the greatest translation and I can see why they say so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Republic (Penguin Classics)
The Republic (Penguin Classics) by Plato (Paperback - 31 May 2007)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews