Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Translation with wit but without true character of original
Alan Sommerstein went to some length to translate the puns and plays on words (as further explained in the endnotes), which results in a very active play, and, for the careful reader, wit in nearly every line. He also uses the endnotes to explain further the Greek personalities mentioned in the plays, which adds to the understanding; my recommendation would be to...
Published on 30 Sep 1998

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lysistrata
Good book but could do with a slightly better cover and could be better laid out inside in terms of page numbering etc...
Published 21 months ago by Brad


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Translation with wit but without true character of original, 30 Sep 1998
By A Customer
Alan Sommerstein went to some length to translate the puns and plays on words (as further explained in the endnotes), which results in a very active play, and, for the careful reader, wit in nearly every line. He also uses the endnotes to explain further the Greek personalities mentioned in the plays, which adds to the understanding; my recommendation would be to read the play straight, then read the associated endnotes, then reread the play in question.
This translation captures the humor of the original, which ranges from low-brow slapstick to witty one-liners to political asides--a union of vaudeville, Oscar Wilde, and Mark Russell. However, what Sommerstein utterly misses is the form of ancient Greek comedy. The lyric choruses are rendered in choppy iambic lines, with many of them set to tunes from Gilbert & Sullivan. Aristophanes meant to use vulgarity in the acting, not in the lines of the Chorus.
Two stars for verbal wit, two stars for completeness of endnotes, and one star for my love of "Lysistrata", minus one star for excessive use of campy tunes.
(For those of you who do like his translations, or those just looking for the other eight plays, they are contained in two more volumes. Sommerstein collaborated with David Barrett in the volume Knights/Peace/Birds/Women's Assembly/Wealth, while Barrett translated Wasps/Women's Assembly/Frogs. Barrett takes less care with the translation of humor, but does not destroy the credibility of the choral lines.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great comedy!, 30 Dec 2005
This review is from: Lysistrata and Other Plays (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Aristophanes was the greatest comedian in the ancient Greek world and this play is, without a doubt, his most entertaining work.
Having recently read books on the role of women in ancient Greek society, it was great to read a play with a women protagonist and the solution to the war was an ingenious one - a sex strike!!! This play is very funny and very worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lysistrata and Other Plays (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I bought this when I was doing my A-Levels, It came in great condition and really helped with my course. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very reasonably priced, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lysistrata and Other Plays (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I am very pleased with this book it is in great condition and it was very reasonably priced. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely story, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfectly good presentation of a Greek classic at a sensible price and reasonably well annotated. Bawdy but effective in telling the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lysistrata and Other Plays (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I wanted to read other plays by Aristophanes so having a collection in one book was super handy, and the product arrived quicker than expected which is always a bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars still all greek to me, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lysistrata and Other Plays (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Another very good book for those at college, school or university. My son loved it and i have to admit that even i started to read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Caution: Contains Filth, 26 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lysistrata and Other Plays (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I bought this because Clouds was mentioned in Bettany Hughes' The Hemlock Cup. Not being that familiar with 2,400-year-old Greek plays, I didn't really know what to expect, but found them hugely entertaining. They're marvellously filthy too. I had to read them twice, the first time only referring to the notes when something made no sense at all to avoid breaking the flow, and then the second time looking at all of them to get a better understanding of the context. Cracking stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dirtiest, filthiest sexiest of all Greek Plays!!!, 22 Jan 2002
By A Customer
You know you want to buy this... its got everything!!! Sexual ineuendo reigns supreme here!!! Honestly, it'll have even the uninitiated non-classicists rolling with laughter!!! Buy it and experience the process of wetting yourself!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lysistrata, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lysistrata and Other Plays (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Good book but could do with a slightly better cover and could be better laid out inside in terms of page numbering etc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lysistrata and Other Plays (Penguin Classics)
Lysistrata and Other Plays (Penguin Classics) by Aristophanes (Paperback - 30 Jan 2003)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews