Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best translations into English of any long poem from any language
Nearly every Russian sees Pushkin as their country's greatest writer. This perception, however, is not shared by many foreigners. The problem, of course, is translation. Pushkin's verse is supremely elegant, witty and musical. Few, if any, great poets are harder to translate.

Charles Johnston's version is not at all bad, and conveys much of Pushkin's wit -...
Published on 23 Dec 2011 by R. H. Chandler

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why is it so acclaimed?
I was disappointed with this novel in verse, having read and loved The Golden Gate by Vikram Seth which was apparently inspired by Pushkin. I enjoyed the verse form and became involved with the characters (it is essentially a doomed romance), but found the constant digressions so distracting. It also felt unfinished - tension was created, but then resolved too quickly. I...
Published 8 months ago by joyfrankie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best translations into English of any long poem from any language, 23 Dec 2011
By 
R. H. Chandler (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eugene Onegin: A Novel in Verse (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Nearly every Russian sees Pushkin as their country's greatest writer. This perception, however, is not shared by many foreigners. The problem, of course, is translation. Pushkin's verse is supremely elegant, witty and musical. Few, if any, great poets are harder to translate.

Charles Johnston's version is not at all bad, and conveys much of Pushkin's wit - though not his lyricism. James Falen's version (Oxford World's Classics) is better still. Stanley Mitchells's long-awaited version (just published by Penguin Classics (2008) is truly outstanding. I enjoyed it every bit as much as the original - something I would never have believed possible. It deserves ten stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent ttranslation, 6 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eugene Onegin: A Novel in Verse (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
This translation by Stanley Mitchell is astonishingly good. The rhyme scheme of Pushkin's 14-lines stanzas is extremely complex and very important to convey the fast rhythm of the poem. Mitchell manages to keep this constraint, although rhymes in English, especially feminine ones are scarce. I cannot comment on how the translation is faithful to the original but it is quite clear that the translator commands Russian (whereas many translations are produced by poets that do not know the original language and depend on literal line translations written by others).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONEGIN translated S. Mitchell, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eugene Onegin: A Novel in Verse (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
This Onegin is full of verve, wit and poetry; a marvellous translation. On reading one understands why this work took many years. The work has been done for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 7 July 2012
By 
M. D. Jenkins (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eugene Onegin: A Novel in Verse (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Eugene Onegin, is possibly the greatest work of an author, Alexander Pushkin (1799-1837), who is considered by many to be the greatest Russian poet and the founder of modern Russian literature. As someone unable to appreciate this work in the original, I am reliant on the work and dedication of a translator in order to experience this text. Having been informed by those able to read the work in the original that this was a truly outstanding translation this was the translation I chose. I was not disappointed. The work reads beautifully. To translate anything is difficult but to translate a great work of poetry in one language into a great work of poetry in another must surely be the most difficult task of all. To my mind however, Stanley Mitchell (emeritus professor of aesthetics at the University of Derby) has achieved this.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent translation, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really faithful translation which added to my enjoyment of ths work. Worth spending the extra money to get this version which I have found to be the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great piece of Russian Literature, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Truly, a novel in verse. I can not judge Pushkin's verse, or the translation, but the story with the description of characters in the different environments and situations is very good. A lot of the additional information on Pushkin's importance on the development of russian literature, and complementary notes, were also very valuable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic, 19 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Eugene Onegin: A Novel in Verse (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I read this book after watching a movie on the story. One thing for sure is that James Falen did a perfect job on the translation of EUGENE ONEGIN. Much of the Russian nature of glows in this English translation, brining out the humor, wittiness, emotions, grief, sadness and vitality of the original story, which mirrored the Russian society at the time Pushkin lived.
The lessons from the story are strong. Never fight against somebody who is not out to hurt you even if you feel he hurt your pride. That was the case between Eugene and his friend and neighbor Vladimir Lensky, which ends tragically over a nonexistent rivalry over Olga Larin: Another lesson is to appreciate the genuine and selfless love of others for, especially when we are lost in life. That was the case of Olga's sister Tatiana, whom Eugene initially rejects, only to fall in love with her later at a time when she had lost faith in him and had committed herself to a man she did not love but respected. Pushkin himself could be seen in the writing. The loss of what we did not know we loved is the overriding theme in this book. In this direction, there are many lessons to learn from Russia .We can see that in UNION MOUJIK, WAR AND PEACE.I enjoyed reading this book, so if you are undecided about reading it, pick it up and do yourself a favor by knowing about this great work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eugene Onegin: A Novel in Verse (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Great novel, I am new to the works of Pushkin, whom I became interested in after visiting Moscow. He is definitely Russia's "Shakespeare". Something is always lost in translation I believe, but it is better to read a translated version that is done quite well than not at all, and this version is pretty good. I will definitely read more of Pushkin. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and enjoyable content, rip-off publisher!, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The translation is an excellent one, the best I have read and very enjoyable.

However my view of Penguin Classics is not so good! I would have given 5* but for the price. I give zero stars to the publisher's pricing policy. To charge more than the paper version is reprehensible and shows a complete lack of respect for their customers. My view is that the author's 'take' should be identical, whatever form the book takes, whilst the publisher's 'take' should reflect the true cost of manufacture and supply. I think they are using the 'Apple' model - shame on you Penguin...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why is it so acclaimed?, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eugene Onegin: A Novel in Verse (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I was disappointed with this novel in verse, having read and loved The Golden Gate by Vikram Seth which was apparently inspired by Pushkin. I enjoyed the verse form and became involved with the characters (it is essentially a doomed romance), but found the constant digressions so distracting. It also felt unfinished - tension was created, but then resolved too quickly. I know it must seem like effrontery, daring to criticise such an acclaimed author, but surely this novel needed the attention of an editor! At the end there is a further chapter of unfinished verses, following Onegin's travels around Europe, which was apparently originally intended to be placed in the novel itself. And then a further chapter of snippets of verse which are really just political comments and not related to the story at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbab55c48)

This product

Eugene Onegin: A Novel in Verse (Penguin Classics)
Eugene Onegin: A Novel in Verse (Penguin Classics) by Alexander Pushkin (Paperback - 4 Sep 2008)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews