Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars71
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2013
I feel even worse about this than The Odyssey but really I found this so unspeakably boring! I couldn't finish the thing but I did later read most of the end for study purposes. The language really did not work for me and somehow I didn't relate to any of the characters, no matter how awful their predicaments. Also, the amout of repetition, listings and interruptions in the narrative in order to go off at inappropriate and boring tangents made the whole experience worse for me. In the end I just didn't care for it but it is Homer and there is worse due to the historical interest and so I am giving it two stars.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
Arrived great packaging and my husband at present is enjoying reading the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Warning - does NOT feature the Trojan Horse or Achilles' Heel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There are many theories and arguements over did Homer actually tell the story or was is someone else, or many people etc - but it doesnt taint the powerful story that the Illiad is.
It is a good book because the themes addressed are still relevent to todays society, especially at this time of war and conflict in the world. It is a tale about war, and how it affects the human mind. The world was a beautiful, peaceful place untill the Trojan war started over just one girl, and the honour she represents - and now the war has been fought for so long, it looks like that the war will not only kill people, warriors, women and children, but will kill a civilisation and destruct a way of life and serenity that will never be felt again by anyone. But the gods remain as aloof as ever before.
This tale of Achilles and the war is powerful, and the touching moments of Hector and Andromache, or the lonely death of Patroclus will make even the coldest heart cry out.
So let out a wild war cry - let the gods meddle with your world and let this powerful poem overwhelm you
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2005
The subject of this book may not have been seen as something new. Since hundreds of stories and tales had been already told and written down by the time that Homerus started this one which where very similar in style and storyline. So what is that makes Iliad so special.
Well for one thing it is the first real work of Western literature but that doesn't make it great does it?
No the thing that makes this piece of work is first of all some of the ideas that are hidden behind it which where very radical at the time that this story first occurred. The most important one of them from my point of view is the fact that in this story war isn't seen as something glorious as it was still seen by many in those days (and sadly enough still is seen by many in our time.) The mane hero of this story Achilles is even trying to avoid its horrors during the whole of the story. Some of the actions in the course of story aren't even heroic but rather degrading for the characters in the story. Like for instance the night attack in book 10.
Second of all Homer is the guy who helped to shape the whole Greek religion by giving the Gods background stories and explaining their connections whit each other. And giving them numerous human qualities like the fact that they are forced to eat, drink and sleep. They show human emotions like hatred, love and pain.
Homerus has also asked us a very important question during the coarse of this book namely what is ones life worth? What is friendship worth?
And finally he has delivered us a human tragedy which remains relevant even although ages have passed by between its creation and Homer himself has fallen into oblivions for the only thing known about him remain his works and we aren't even certain wheatear he has written them.
So don't hesitate about whether to purchase this book (or borrow it from your local library). And as for the translation although it is over 50 years in age it is surprisingly modern and easy to read (although I have doubts about the added in my opinion completely useless notes and arguments.)
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
great product well packed prompt delivery Thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2009
The Iliad is a masterpiece and one of the foremost achievements of Western Literature. However to me it is also a high-adrenalin, non-stop thriller, depicting battle scenes to surpass any Holywood Movie. I would recomend this book to anyone simply as a thrilling tale of one epic fight!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2008
To be quite honest its hardly worth them calling this the Iliad. They have ripped the poetic beauty out of this Epic and condensed it into a dusty and boring prose. No one would ever consider changing Shakespeares or Byrons poems into novels; why why why have they treated Homer so abominably. This is not an epic anymore and resembles in no way the sonourous verse of Homer. If you want to read a decent version of one of the best poems written, read a differnet translation. I suggest Robert Fagles: his translations of the Iliad and the Odyssey are wonderful and capture all the poetic force of Homer. Please do not waste your money on this pathetic rendition of a wonderful poem.
33 comments|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
Need I say anything to recommend this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
Bought as a present but an attractive item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse