Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The French Rennaisance of the 12th Century.
Before the famous Italian Renaissance, you could speak of a French Renaissance in the 12th century as far as literature is concerned.

In Southern France there were the Troubadours, singers and poets, often part of the nobility or their entourage. In the North of France you had Chrétien de Troyes and his Arthurian romances and the Lais of Marie de France,...
Published on 18 May 2006 by Jan Dierckx

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazon is the problem (The lais de Marie de France)
The book itself has no problems, my problem is with Amazon, I use windows 8 Kindle app, when I purchased the book it said in the write up that it came with actual numbered pages that related to the book itself. I needed this book for Uni, so numbered pages are a requirement for my studies, I was over the moon, I paid for the book and a when it arrived what a surprise! the...
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The French Rennaisance of the 12th Century., 18 May 2006
By 
Jan Dierckx (Belgium, Turnhout) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lais of Marie De France: With Two Further Lais in the Original Old French (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Before the famous Italian Renaissance, you could speak of a French Renaissance in the 12th century as far as literature is concerned.

In Southern France there were the Troubadours, singers and poets, often part of the nobility or their entourage. In the North of France you had Chrétien de Troyes and his Arthurian romances and the Lais of Marie de France, to name only two of the most important.

The 'Roman de la Rose' was written in the 13th cent. but is probably the most important masterwork of the French Renaissance.

About the person of Marie de France almost nothing is known for certain.Her 'Lais' - stories about romance or adventure - are based upon

the popular and folkloristic tales that already existed for centuries in Bretagne - a region close to where the Atlantic meets the North-Sea.

These stories were handed down from generation to generation by story tellers.

The Lais of Marie de France excel by diversity. There are love stories - of course - but also vivid descriptions of

tournaments and even a story about a werewolf.

Marie de France proofs that medieval literature can be entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the Lais of Marie de France, 27 May 2010
This review is from: The Lais of Marie De France: With Two Further Lais in the Original Old French (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
An excellent Penguin classic complete with notes, a must for lovers of old poetry styles, something to be savoured and re-read many times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lais of Marie De France: With Two Further Lais in the Original Old French (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I loved this book. I'm taking an English course so this arrived right on time and the stories in here are just awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Charming Tales, 17 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A charming book of short lais written by Marie de France of the 12th Century. The tales differ slightly, but all bear the same themes of chivalry and courtly love. The tales are charming and incredibly easy to follow as the book is written in modern English prose, rather than original Old French tales written in verse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just wonderful!, 30 Dec 2011
By 
Natasha Kikas (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lais of Marie De France: With Two Further Lais in the Original Old French (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I had to read this for an introduction into medieval literature for my university course and had trouble in putting it down. The tales are brilliantly translated and with many of the lais being very short, it meant i whizzed through the book pretty quickly. It is a refreshing read and a book i will definately pick up again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Oct 2014
By 
K. Baines (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lais of Marie De France: With Two Further Lais in the Original Old French (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
A delight for medieval romantics fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazon is the problem (The lais de Marie de France), 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book itself has no problems, my problem is with Amazon, I use windows 8 Kindle app, when I purchased the book it said in the write up that it came with actual numbered pages that related to the book itself. I needed this book for Uni, so numbered pages are a requirement for my studies, I was over the moon, I paid for the book and a when it arrived what a surprise! the pages had no numbers at all, only a percentage bar, and no way of viewing the page numbers. I spent several hours searching the internet to see if there was a way of getting the page numbers, to no avail. I even tried to contact amazon, no reply. That's no good to anyone who needs to be able to cite their work and add bibliographies, so there we are yet another disappointment I've had with amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews