Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most accessible treatment I've read
Too often, renderings into English of the Hindu classics are overly reverential, or use elaborate or archaic language or feel the need to keep readers (often uncomfortably) aware of the sacred significance of the text - all of this produces clunky unreadable prose. Not with this one. This translator has managed the feat of respecting the living classic while producing...
Published on 18 Sept. 2011 by uma moorthy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This is a great and cheap copy
This is a great and cheap copy. However, the print is wrong... some of the pages are not in the right order and some are missing.
Published 26 days ago by Livvi Lestrange


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most accessible treatment I've read, 18 Sept. 2011
By 
uma moorthy (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Too often, renderings into English of the Hindu classics are overly reverential, or use elaborate or archaic language or feel the need to keep readers (often uncomfortably) aware of the sacred significance of the text - all of this produces clunky unreadable prose. Not with this one. This translator has managed the feat of respecting the living classic while producing an updated and readable text. The introduction is particularly valuable for its summary of the narrative and for setting the context on the relevance and significance of the original work. And all of this at a tiny price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great way into an amazing Indian classic, 13 Jan. 2013
By 
J. R. Dersley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mahabharata (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
First, be aware that this is not a complete translation. As the translator says, 11% is direct translation and the rest is summary. This is unavoidable since the full length work is several times longer than the Bible; I've seen various full length English translations in India and they run to 18 weighty volumes. Second, put aside any expectations of this being like the Odyssey or the Iliad. It's utterly Indian, complete with gods, celestial beings, sages and ascetics, battlefields through which runs a river of blood, mighty warriors who survive multiple arrow piercings and evil demons and other beings. Third, be ready for a style that is as exaggerated as anything you'll have ever encountered. Fourth, don't expect straight line narrative, it's full of digressions, recapitulations, summaries of elements that will be enlarged upon later - it even contains two "sermons" but not as you'll understand the term from a Christian context.

So have I put you off, or intrigued you? I hope the latter, because reading this Penguin abridged version has been one of the best, most engrossing and horizon-widening experiences of a long life of reading. Much of this enjoyment came from the huge contribution that the translator makes with his introduction and appendices including a glossary of main characters.

So if you're tempted, go for it. It's a story of good against evil, it's a manual of how to live your life, it's how to govern a country, it's sheer entertainment. I'm seriously tempted to get the full length translation but I'll certainly be going back to this Penguin edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heroic, 30 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the most remarkable books I have read and all credit has to go to John Smith for the work he must have put into this abridged translation. Coming to this with little knowledge of Hinduism, I found myself glued to the narrative, enthralled by the stories of the war, the earthy but not offensive language, the exposition on dharma, the multiplicity of Hindu legends, the final twists and turns as the story climaxes.
There is some mention of flying chariots, celestial cities, armies incubated in jars, and of course a variety of celestial weapons. Make of this what you will but in places I did wonder if this was perhaps the first science fiction work ever written......or if history is stranger than fiction......
I found the sections on dharma most interesting and apart from the dharma of the warrior most teachings fit easily into Christianity or Buddhism, and may be their source - or the same teachings being passed on in different cultures. Like the Bible and the earlier Sumerian writings there is a story of a great flood, also of a Moses like character abandoned as a baby in the waters.(I think it was Karna). There is a version of the tortoise and the hare story - in the form of a goose and a crow. There is the original of the Princess and the frog; it's a Prince and a frog in the Mahabharata. In the destruction of the Vrsnis city in the section called "The Clubs" one calls to mind Sodom and Gomorrah. Krsna who had the power to avert his death like Christ on the cross did not exercise his power and "having relieved the earth of her burden and granted the world release...returned to his own supreme state."
I read the Books of Enoch some time ago, Dead Sea scroll texts about the fallen angels and these old works do make you wonder - but that's the fun of books isn't it?
I can not recommend this book enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough and complete, 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very unique translation.

The other English translations are either too academic or written by an Indian enthusiast (often with lots of spelling errors). But clearly alot of thought has gone into this one... effort is made to join up the myriad dots that make up the Mahabharata.

Spiritualists be warned, the book is a translation: not a religious exposition. So don't expect flowery explanations around the Gita etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Mahabharata (Penguin Classics), 10 April 2014
By 
stephen Walsh (BRADFORD, West Yorkshire, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mahabharata (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Penguin Classics provide , courtesy of the translator, information that aids the understanding of this monumental work.
Through this translation Westerners can learn something of the major influences on the life of this Hindu people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This is a great and cheap copy, 4 Feb. 2015
This is a great and cheap copy. However, the print is wrong... some of the pages are not in the right order and some are missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mahabharata (Penguin Classics)
The Mahabharata (Penguin Classics) by Penguin Classics (Paperback - 28 May 2009)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews