Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


96 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Light in Christian Revelation
I live in Norwich and am a member of the (at present) small number of admirers of the work of Julian of Norwich. "Mother" Julian is however being discovered by people all over the world and I believe that a time will come when her Revelations will become very famous and widespread - the world is just not yet ready for the details of her extraordinary experiences in...
Published on 31 Dec. 2008 by Rej Brown

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars KINDLE COSIMO CLASSICS EDn all there but no extras
This KINDLE COSIMO CLASSICS translation has only the text with a list of contents. There are textual notes but no introduction. The text is untranslated. I suggest that unless you want the 'original thing', you try a modern translation such as the Penguin Classics, which has both the short and long text, a general introduction and a translators introduction. However the...
Published on 21 Jan. 2013 by Nicky01


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

96 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Light in Christian Revelation, 31 Dec. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelations of Divine Love (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I live in Norwich and am a member of the (at present) small number of admirers of the work of Julian of Norwich. "Mother" Julian is however being discovered by people all over the world and I believe that a time will come when her Revelations will become very famous and widespread - the world is just not yet ready for the details of her extraordinary experiences in Christian mysticism. Her writings are so different and challenging - remember too, she was expressing her mysticism in a time when she could have been excommunicated from the church - or, worst scenario, ? burnt as an heretic.

The Church of St Julian is still a fully functioning one in the "red light" area of Norwich - a curious oasis of peace in the maelstrom of a space full of potential and actual misery where sex workers are forced to ply their "trade" to support their addiction to "Class
A" drugs.

Attached to the church is Julian's "cell" where she lived as an anchorite and gave advice to the population here during her lifetime. For those open "to the vibes" (yes, I'm an ageing "hippy", upon entering the small chapel designated as her cell, a wonderful presence and feeling of peace and disembodied love may be experienced. Truly a place where the "Holy Spirit" dwells. I strongly recommend coming to visit St Julian's to all inclined to visit this remarkable place [it's on the internet]. And, by the way, although the windows get smashed from time to time in the cell - such is life - the tranquility endures.

I first encountered her work (sadly unread!) in the philosophy department at the library at my university (Uni of East Anglia) and have been fascinated by her writings for the past twenty years. The concept of "God as Mother" is so radical for the time in which she lived and is still a revolutionary concept - particularly with the current row about women being ordained as Bishops. (Surely the Spirit of Christ can dwell in all of us - gender is irrelevant? - For us convinced Christians we all seek to become like Him.)

All I can say about the book itself is READ IT - and share it - it can be consulted upon a daily basis - just as if Julian is still living today - which, in the spiritual sense, is so. I recommend the modern translation unless you have a grasp of late mediaeval/early modern English though. It is my favorite book in my library. There is an abridged "pocket" version of her Revelations - also beautiful - which are useful as an aid to meditation and contemplation wherever one may be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars KINDLE COSIMO CLASSICS EDn all there but no extras, 21 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This KINDLE COSIMO CLASSICS translation has only the text with a list of contents. There are textual notes but no introduction. The text is untranslated. I suggest that unless you want the 'original thing', you try a modern translation such as the Penguin Classics, which has both the short and long text, a general introduction and a translators introduction. However the KINDLE edtion is only 77p so it was a bargin really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a peculiarly modern medieval mystic!, 13 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Revelations of Divine Love (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Julian Of Norwich was an anchoress living in Norwich in the late 14th century. Aged 30, she receieved her showings, or revelations of Divine Love. She then became enclosed, devoting to the rest of her life to writing down her visions, and understanding them.
Julian can be easily placed within a series of female medieval mystics - women such as Hildegard of Bingen, Hadewich of Brabant, Clare of Assisi. Where she differs is in the simple uncluttered honesty of her approach; in her exploration of God as Mother, as well as of Father; and in her acceptance of our bodily nature, even joy in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Woman Writer, 13 Mar. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Revelations of Divine Love (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book by the first British writer who can be identified as female. Although she led a secluded life, it gave her the time and space to ruminate over her 'visions' in relation to philosophy and theology. The images are beautifully crafted, the visions described intricately. Perhaps the most interesting element of this book is that Julian uses a site of patriarchal power to investigate femininity - Jesus is a mother, his love is the love of a mother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super book for researchers, or seekers, 3 Dec. 1998
By A Customer
I read this book form the point of view of someone seeking spiritual enlightenment and I was not disappointed. Julian's words make you reconsider the nature of good, evil and belief.
The many footnotes, references and the preface giving the historical background would make this book just as valuable for an academic theologan or historian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revelations of Divine Love - Spiritually Uplifting, 29 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although raised as a Catholic, I had never heard of Mother Julian of Norwich until the other day, when I was watching a programme which featured the Rev. Lionel Fanthorpe (used to host a programme many years ago called 'Stranger than Fiction') and he mentioned her works.

After scribbling down the name, I went and researched on the Internet and, to my delight, found a copy of her work available via Amazon.

The book is all it was listed to be in the write up, and is very spiritually uplifting; the version I bought is standard English, but I think I will try to find the Middle English version to read, so as to get more of an insight into Mother Julian (sometimes known as Lady Julian) and her time.

Even after many centuries, Mother Julian sends a quite clear and loud message to us about just how much Jesus Christ really does love us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rewarding challenge., 17 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. M. Reid (Peterborough England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelations of Divine Love (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
This is a classic of immense depth and quality.

England's first and one of its greatest female philosophers takes serious work to understand.

The way her discoveries are expressed are at first utterly bewildering to the modern ear. Once you realise that she is framing things that we all experience to this day in the terms that one would in those days because of the cultural background, you start to see breathtaking philosophical insights.

Not for the faint-hearted but very rewarding of effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jesus as mother, 29 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Revelations of Divine Love (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Inspiring piece of writing for those who wish to become closer to a feeling of God's presence in daily life.

Julian of Norwich presents Jesus as mother which I have never thought of before and which I find very appealing because most of the time he is presented as lover. This idea of Jesus as feminine as well as masculine makes the Godhead seems more rounded, accessible and balanced. Julian portrays a very warm picture of God (and again there is the sense that God is both male and female) and the affirmation 'All shall be well, and all shall be well, and all manner of thing shall be well.' is a comforting mantra to live by.

Her revelations of Christ on the Cross are graphic and I found it difficult to forget the images that she portrayed as they were so vivid. The blood and pain and heart riven in two became almost tangible and the images lingered for days. Be prepared for these scenes. They are potent and a strong reminder of our own crucifixion in life when we start to investigate the inner life. We are asked to take up the cross and bear the pain that leads to unconditional love.

A sensible woman who deeply lived her faith and provides us with a fine mystical portrait of God but grounded in the reality of daily life. I visited her shrine in Norwich three years ago and was struck by how small was the space in which she lived (it is a reconstruction but it is on the very site where she lived). There is a little shrine and the words 'Thou art enough to me.' leap out at the visitor.

Worth sessions of lectio divina and silent meditation on her words and images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revelation from a Nun that will surprise you....., 18 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a beautiful book though maybe not the easiest to read because of the olde English. Julian's revelations gave her a dilemma between what she was 'seeing' and what she had learned in her Church teachings. She experienced God as a benevolent benign all loving being and not the wrathful God of her Church.

If you struggle with the God fearing teachings of the Church then read this. There is another way that is love filled to find God or whatever name you want to call that Loving energy that is All That Is that does not require suffering to find it. She did ask to suffer badly in order to be like Christ and it was in the suffering that she saw her revelations but says that she realises that suffering is not what God intended, that it is just a sign of when we have moved away from our God self (sinning) and towards our physical needs and ego.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profound teachings, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelations of Divine Love (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
It is astonishing that a relatively uneducated girl in medieval Norwich produced such a profound and comprehensive interpretation of Christian theology. This places Christianity as part of the perennial philosophy, with passages of astonishing insight. Her language is always joyous and uplifting, her message unflinchingly positive, if heretical to a Christian fundamentalist, and her teachings radical, even to a modern audience. Only rivalled as a Christian text by a Course in Miracles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revelations of Divine Love (Penguin Classics)
Revelations of Divine Love (Penguin Classics) by Elizabeth Spearing (Paperback - 27 Aug. 1998)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews