Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond PowerPoint. Be persuasive and good!
Rhetoric sounds dubious. Is it concerned about convincing people of what you think is right for you but not necessarily good for the person you want to convince. Is it about selling your ideas to gain power or wealth by overwhelming your audience with false arguments convincingly presented?
Aristotle tries to solve this dilemma insisting that all persuasion should be...
Published on 25 Jan 2010 by laurens van den muyzenberg

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well that was Aristotle
Well I tried to read this but found it too be, well disjointed and frankly I did not understand it. before you claim I am an ignoramus I do hold an LL.B (Hons) and I have done a bit of high level study in my time. Aristotle may have been a great thinker but it is the people who interpret his ideas and report upon them that teach us, not the man himself.
Published 14 months ago by J. Black


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond PowerPoint. Be persuasive and good!, 25 Jan 2010
By 
laurens van den muyzenberg "laurens" (Villa Lama, Super Cannes, 06220 Vallauris Golfe-Juan.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of Rhetoric (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Rhetoric sounds dubious. Is it concerned about convincing people of what you think is right for you but not necessarily good for the person you want to convince. Is it about selling your ideas to gain power or wealth by overwhelming your audience with false arguments convincingly presented?
Aristotle tries to solve this dilemma insisting that all persuasion should be with the intention of making a contribution to happiness by furthering virtuous behavior. He also presents the methods you should use to convince people to believe you. I find the book useful from both points of view.
Aristotle explains very clearly that to be persuasive you have to be rational and have the ability to understand and arouse emotions of the audience in your favor.
The book was written as a kind of handbook to be used 2400 years ago. Most of it, but not all is still valid to day. It has become a common practice to use PowerPoint presentations to convince people. The method of Aristotle is about content, structure, logic and emotions. Some slides may still be useful, but if you really want to be successful you better focus on the content using Aristotle type argumentation. All people that have to make speeches or presentations will find a wealth of ideas in this book. I found it a pity that the book does not contain complete speeches of Aristotle. The book should be of special interest to politicians and leaders in business that have to address large audiences with somecritical and skeptical members.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Praise, 24 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Rhetoric (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
It's a difficult read for the most part, but it's certainly worth the effort and perseverance. It's a very solid very impressive guide to public speaking, debate, persuasion. Everyone reading this should give it a go. It will improve any bookshelf instantaneously and has the power to transform your career. Seriously - better than any career self-help book, you really should buy yourself a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fundamental, 18 July 2013
By 
cris_telefe "Cris" (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Rhetoric (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
If you don't read this book you just miss the point... As in the Poetics, in The Art of Rhetoric, are the foundations of western writing and argumentation... It is were all begun... kind of genesis of persuasion...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug 2014
By 
L. Hughes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Rhetoric (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Great job, would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the novice politician, 7 Jun 2013
By 
S. Bradley (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Rhetoric (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
If you fancy being a cabinet member, say a Secretary of State for Education, try reading this book and you can talk about nothing endlessly, even if you know little about the subject under discussion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well that was Aristotle, 5 Sep 2013
By 
J. Black "JB" (Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well I tried to read this but found it too be, well disjointed and frankly I did not understand it. before you claim I am an ignoramus I do hold an LL.B (Hons) and I have done a bit of high level study in my time. Aristotle may have been a great thinker but it is the people who interpret his ideas and report upon them that teach us, not the man himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Rhetoric (Penguin Classics)
The Art of Rhetoric (Penguin Classics) by Aristotle (Paperback - 31 Oct 1991)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews