Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under rated Icelandic / Viking Saga
This was the first of the Icelandic saga's that I read. Any misconceptions about them being overly scholarly or dull were completely removed within a few pages. I found the text surprisingly 'alive' and was gripped throughout. Tales of mythology, murder, intrigue with a flowing narrative and writing style, all based around the isles of Orkney. Without a doubt one of my...
Published on 3 Jan 2008 by Freewheelin

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars orkneyinga saga
As yet i still havent read the book fully.which, is possibly an indication that the book isnt engaging enough
For me.I find it difficult to keep track of all the names, but there again it is about the vikings!!!!
All in all well worth the money though and a nice book for any collection!!!!
Bill west
Published 6 months ago by william west


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under rated Icelandic / Viking Saga, 3 Jan 2008
This review is from: Orkneyinga Saga: The History of the Earls of Orkney (Classics) (Paperback)
This was the first of the Icelandic saga's that I read. Any misconceptions about them being overly scholarly or dull were completely removed within a few pages. I found the text surprisingly 'alive' and was gripped throughout. Tales of mythology, murder, intrigue with a flowing narrative and writing style, all based around the isles of Orkney. Without a doubt one of my very favourite books and one that has lead me into many other superb sagas. Particularly of interest if you've any connection to Orkney, Shetland or Northern Scotland, as the book gives in depth details of dates, names and place names throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not dated at all and gripping, 19 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orkneyinga Saga: The History of the Earls of Orkney (Classics) (Paperback)
It is truly incredible how these old stories remain gripping to the sensitive reader of today. The characters are surprisingly well rounded, and the events have a magic halo due to the many centuries that have gone by, so the result is a mix of myth, history, poetry, epic and legend that will no doubt appeal to any curious reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloodthirsty Account of the Norse Vikings in Orkney, 30 May 2009
By 
D. S. Parsons (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Orkneyinga Saga: The History of the Earls of Orkney (Classics) (Paperback)
My interest in the Norse Vikings relates to my R1a1 DNA. I had felt a thrill of being a descendant of Norse Vikings but having read the Orkneyinga Saga I must admit to being somewhat embarrassed to having such a bloodthirsty set of ancestors!! This edition is carefully translated so that the language and story flow smoothly giving the reader a good idea of the raw power, double dealing, murder and intrigue that was the life of these seafarers who settled Orkney a millennium ago. A must read for anyone interested in Norse Viking matters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rognvald Brusason, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orkneyinga Saga: The History of the Earls of Orkney (Classics) (Paperback)
As a direct descendant of Earl Brusason- Earl of Orkney- it was extremely interesting to connect with him and his times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THe Saga, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orkneyinga Saga: The History of the Earls of Orkney (Classics) (Paperback)
So full of history of the northern race of peoples and the doings of the vikings sin my area thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Surprise., 2 Feb 2014
By 
Mrs. Angela READ "Maturegrad" (Devizes, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orkneyinga Saga: The History of the Earls of Orkney (Classics) (Paperback)
A gift to me son and his wife who have spent many happy holidays in the Orkneys, so two delighted recipients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars orkneyinga saga, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orkneyinga Saga: The History of the Earls of Orkney (Classics) (Paperback)
As yet i still havent read the book fully.which, is possibly an indication that the book isnt engaging enough
For me.I find it difficult to keep track of all the names, but there again it is about the vikings!!!!
All in all well worth the money though and a nice book for any collection!!!!
Bill west
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Orkneyinga Saga: The History of the Earls of Orkney (Classics)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews