Shop now Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Voyage Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Orlando Furioso: Part One: Pt. 1 (Classics)
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£17.99+Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
on 9 January 1997
This renaissance romance combines elements of the adventure story along the lines of J. R. R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings trilogy with satire in the tradition of Lucien, Ben Jonson, and Jonathan Swift. Barbara Reynolds' verse translation is well paced, easy to read, and displays a rich use of language. Be aware, though, that this is a two volume translation and the catalog, as of 1-9-97, shows only the first volume is available from Amazon. The prose translation from Oxford University Press is complete in one volume, but is not as easy to read in that it suffers from very small print and a language that is not as vigorous as that of the Reynold's translation.
J. D. Wilson, Jr.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 6 September 2006
Time for another review of this classic work.

It has adventure, lots of romance and many female characters, who appear as warriors and sorceresses as well as love interests.

Just to avoid any doubt - both volumes of the excellent Penguin edition are available from Amazon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Orlando Furioso (Oxford World's Classics)
Orlando Furioso (Oxford World's Classics) by Ludovico Ariosto (Paperback - 12 Jun. 2008)
£12.78

The Faerie Queene (Penguin Classics)
The Faerie Queene (Penguin Classics) by Edmund Spenser (Paperback - 22 Oct. 2003)
£10.99

Orlando Furioso: Part Two: pt. 2 (Classics)
Orlando Furioso: Part Two: pt. 2 (Classics) by Ludovico Ariosto (Paperback - 29 Sept. 1977)
£17.99
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.