Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales of tragedy
I had to read both Medea and Hecabe as part of background reading to some courses on Greek Mythology and Shakespeare during my degree. 'Medea' came as a surprise offshoot mythological tale to the aftermath of Jason (from the Argonauts) and Medea's union towards the end of Apollonius' 'Jason and the Golden Fleece'. The romantic, flowery love affair we see at the end of the...
Published on 22 April 2006 by Farz_B

versus
2 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
Interesting but hard to get into and simply not for me. I had to read it for a course and was glad when I finished it. It isn't the worst thing I have read but this isn't really what I am into to so I found it a hard read.
Published on 30 Jan 2007 by M. C. Batson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales of tragedy, 22 April 2006
By 
Farz_B (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Medea and Other Plays : Medea; Hecabe; Electra; Heracles (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I had to read both Medea and Hecabe as part of background reading to some courses on Greek Mythology and Shakespeare during my degree. 'Medea' came as a surprise offshoot mythological tale to the aftermath of Jason (from the Argonauts) and Medea's union towards the end of Apollonius' 'Jason and the Golden Fleece'. The romantic, flowery love affair we see at the end of the tale turns out a sordid, tragic affair some 10 years later in Euripides' version after they're married with children. Betrayal, jealousy, self-doubt and eventual infanticide and suicide makes it one of the most horrific tales of human tragedy.

What makes Euripides so brilliant is his very human portrayal of the characters. You feel for them, you empathize with them, and you can anticipate their every emotional decision and thoughts of self-reflection. 'Hecabe', similarly deals with the immediate aftermath of the Trojan War and the death of the Trojans at the hands of the Achaens. Hecuba is the wife of Priam and mother of all the major Trojan warriors: Hector, Paris, Aeneus. She is grieving for the death of her husband and all her sons, except one and her daughter. She witness their deaths too, and her agony at the merciless hands of the Greeks (including Odysseus, whom we see here as very severe and inhumane, in contrast to his central heroic role in The Odyssey) make her suffering tragic beyond words. It was recently played in the West End by two productions in 2005.

I would suggest this book simply for the mastery of Euripides and his psychological dimension in human tragedy. Just because it is 'ancient' literature and a translation of the old Greek, does not in any way detract it from being so relevant and significant to the modern world. Raw human emotions, and you don't get that in today's literature much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tragic tales of the past intelligently related, 29 May 2001
By 
This review is from: Medea and Other Plays : Medea; Hecabe; Electra; Heracles (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Carefully translated, this informative copy allows for both first time readers and experts to enjoy Medea, Heracles and Electra. The sordid tales of tragedy are poetically woven into spoken form by Euripedes, and footnotes help the reader understand such oddities such as Medea's magical powers, or the murder of Electra's father. A highly enjoyable read, the Penguin Classics have again created a compilation useful in study and enjoyable in leisure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True to the spirit of the Greek originals, 4 Oct 2012
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Medea and Other Plays : Medea; Hecabe; Electra; Heracles (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Vellacott's translations of Euripides' tragedies are not new and neither are they, strictly speaking, true to the letter of the Greek originals - by that I mean they don't work well as cribs and so are no replacement for the Loeb editions for anyone needing help with reading Greek. Where they come into their own, however, is in turning these plays into accessible and sometimes powerful English.

As the last of the great Athenian tragedians whose work has come down to us, Euripides is, inevitably, responding to the tragic visions of Aeschylus and Sophocles. His plays can be quite difficult as they are unexpected, shifting and complicated: Medea is a fine example where we are, rather shockingly, made to feel at least some measure of sympathy for Medea herself despite her rather wonderful killing spree and her controvertial murder of her children. The chorus, too, whose response we, to some extent, mimic, show an empathy with Medea's situation and guide our moral response to the play to its still unexpected ending.

So I like these translations which are dynamic and vigorous: they may not be literally tied to the Greek originals but they convey well the spirit and essence of the texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Euripides, 8 Aug 2011
This volume contains four plays by Euripides which deal with women; Euripides in antiquity was criticised for his negative portrayal of women but these plays complicate the situation - Alcestis and Heracles' daughter are straightforwardly good, and the stories of Medea and Phaedra are far from being black and white.

These are very interesting plays and in many ways quite dark and disturbing. They do however make observations about the treatment of women in ancient Greece and raise questions of morality which are pertinent today. As such, they are well worth reading.

The translations are fairly close to the Greek as far as I can tell, and each play is prefaced by an essay discussing the main themes and moral questions Euripides raises. The notes at the back were also very useful for explaining the obscurer references to mythology contained in the plays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good collection of plays for uni, 6 July 2014
This review is from: Medea and Other Plays : Medea; Hecabe; Electra; Heracles (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Item delivered and receieved as expected, good collection of plays for uni study
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Medea and Other Plays, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medea and Other Plays : Medea; Hecabe; Electra; Heracles (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Excellent translation with very helpful notes in the Introduction and most necessary for any Classics students. I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cutting, heartbreaking, hilarious, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These plays will make you go through various emotions while reading each play. Alcetis is hilarious for the interaction between the son and father, 'vex your ears with the truth !' but Medea of course is the star of these plays. Some of the greatest writing of all time and definitely along with Dido, the best story of love in its deepest and rawest form i've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Medea and Other Plays : Medea; Hecabe; Electra; Heracles (Penguin Classics)... Euripides, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Chris Brown "C J M Brown" (Mount Victoria, Wellington, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medea and Other Plays : Medea; Hecabe; Electra; Heracles (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I had this, but lost it so this, the volume containing "The Bacchae" was a replacement and as I said, in the "Medea review, Euripides is one of my favourite Greek authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NOT the set text for OU A330, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medea and Other Plays : Medea; Hecabe; Electra; Heracles (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Warning! This is NOT the set text for A330, although the amazon search engine will bring this up if you put the ISBN in from the set book list. Dozens of students landed up with the incorrect version. And it has happened year in, year out.
Brilliant read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the money!, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This copy was only one pence!! It was in excellent condition with all the pages intact and the cover was undamaged too. There was some highlighting in part of the book and some notes in the margin, but the description had indicated this before I bought it. Super value as I needed it for a course I am doing and it has saved me a lot of money out of my book budget.Also it is a great read! Try it and see. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Medea and Other Plays : Medea; Hecabe; Electra; Heracles (Penguin Classics)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews