Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NB
This is a lovely reprint of an old edition of zarathustra. A wonderful copy to read, but academics would do better to purchase the penguin classics version (Hollingdale trans.) principally because this edition has no bibliographical data.
Published on 25 April 2007 by D. S. Close

versus
52 of 57 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, pity I can't read it.
Before I start I should say that 'Thus Spake Zarathustra' is an excellent book. It sets forth the majority of Nietschze's views through the mouth of the prophet Zoroaster. The closest thing to a criticism I can levy is that his succeeding works like 'beyond good and evil' might be a bit more suitable if you're a philosophy student like me since they set forward his views...
Published on 24 Jan. 2008 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Most interesting but a bit hard to read at times, 7 July 2010
By 
V. Viale "Pretty Marjorie" (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really like this book which I read 20 years ago and did not understood much. At the time, I would have needed "Zarathustra for Dummies", but 20 years down the road it's a bit easier though a very dense book. To read during your summer holidays while you have little else to do. A must read if you are going back to your philosophy classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful existential work of art, 27 Dec. 2011
By 
Gongmaison (Reading, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thus Spoke Zarathustra (Paperback)
I read Nietzsche's book back in my youth and found it beautiful and profoundly moving as Zarathustra identifies with the conflict of individualism and belonging. I have just ordered this book to re-read so that I can experience again that sense of home coming with like minded existentialists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thus spoke Zarathustra, 7 Feb. 2012
This is a profound read, giving insight into the true nature of each individual. Thus spoke Zarathustra leads us into a self-analytic mental arena, signalling every humans 'will to power', and more importantly their inherent ability to create and dominate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning, bad translation, 14 Mar. 2013
This edition contains some egregious translation errors. For example, in the section 'On Science' 'Wildnissen' is inexplicably rendered as 'deserts' rather than wildernesses. This is not only inaccurate but downright confusing given Nietzsche's specific use of the concepts of 'Wuste' (desert) and Verwustung (desertification) in the very same section. For serious Nietzsche scholarship go for a different translation, such as Adrian Del Caro's (Cambridge UP).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great work by a great translator, 20 July 2014
By 
Mr. J. J. M. Omara "rabbitears" (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thus Spoke Zarathustra (Paperback)
In my mind the best English translation of this work by a long way, this is a classic translation of a classic and much more easily readable than some of the alternatives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A prophecy of things to come, 9 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
Without doubt one of the greatest works of philosophy and thought. Though all of Nietzsche's works are grand it is this one above all that fully captures his intense and positive belief in the potential for the future of man. It also reflects a self examining and lonely side of the sickly philosopher. The magic and spiritualism of the book is enough to unsure that anyone who reads the text will not be the same person upon completion as they were when they began. Though he may come to certain conclusions that others may feel a need to disagree with, its honesty and intelligence shines through and we are reminded that Nietzsche would have wanted us to challenge what he was saying. It is a text many justly treat as a bible and which is truly a great masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as my paperback (Penguin) translation by R, 5 April 2015
By 
L. Woods - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as good as my paperback (Penguin) translation by R.J. Hollingdale. The language is very old and there are some obvious spelling mistakes and typos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars on a technical note..., 2 Dec. 2010
I love the book. But I'm disappointed by this kindle edition. It has no table of contents which heavily limits navigation through the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible, a landmark for the big man, 22 April 2015
By 
E. C. House "Chalky" (Luuuundaaan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thus Spoke Zarathustra (Paperback)
My favourite Nietzsche book by a mile. This is his major triumph, it's like the Bible of his philosophy. Obnoxious philosophy at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Error of Consciousness as Spirit., 19 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Thus Spoke Zarathustra (Paperback)
Previously I had read a bad translation of"Beyond Good and Evil" and thought Nietzsche rather obtuse and fanatical,but this work redeems him and makes him more accessible.The book is written in a mock biblical style and divided into 81 brief chapters which makes it easier to digest and use as a reference.I should also mention that the syntax used is of an archaic style and although it reads straight forwardly it may be confusing and irritating for some who would rather not make the effort.
The story concerns a Persian prophet his travels and philosophical musings and his search for the "higher man".It is set in some indeterminate past and at time takes on mythological qualities reminiscent of more ancient texts.
This is a fine book to read if you find yourself despairing of the mob mentality that prevails in society and it will give you plenty of encouragement and support to plough your own furrow in life.Although it is not hard to see how Nietzsche's writings could be used to fuel fanaticism ,to see it for this quality alone is to miss the overall message and it is more balanced than some would have you believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thus Spoke Zarathustra
Thus Spoke Zarathustra by Friedrich Nietzsche (Paperback - 28 Feb. 1974)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews