Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Myths For Men & Gods
5 stars for the book rather than the translation as it strikes me this is one of those books that might benefit from being read in Latin but my Latin is limited to mea culpa.

Anyway, Ovid's book is a fantastic array of ridiculous fantasy stories of Gods snatching maidens and young boys and turning them [hence "metamorphoses"] into trees or rivers or birds or...
Published 22 months ago by demola

versus
17 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hmm...
Metamorphososes is on my reading list for a University module. I was really disappionted with this edition as although it is an ancient text, I expected a modern translation, which I didn't get. I spent more time trying to decipher the language than absorbing the story!
Published on 11 Nov 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Myths For Men & Gods, 13 Oct 2012
This review is from: Metamorphoses (Paperback)
5 stars for the book rather than the translation as it strikes me this is one of those books that might benefit from being read in Latin but my Latin is limited to mea culpa.

Anyway, Ovid's book is a fantastic array of ridiculous fantasy stories of Gods snatching maidens and young boys and turning them [hence "metamorphoses"] into trees or rivers or birds or ... and then only after fully enjoying the pleasures of the flesh. Wish I was a god. Ravishing stuff but after a few hundred pages of the same plot it becomes "Here we go again". It's replete with famous stories: Ganymede, Narcissus, Jason & Medea, the Deucalion Flood (an alternate version of Noah's Ark), Midas, Icarus, Scylla and Charybdis, the invasion of Troy, Adonis etc - all familiar western myths. Book Fifteen includes a section on Pythagoras' teaching who as a vegetarian really let fly at carnivores - made me wince.

In short, no [Western] education is complete without this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More enjoyable than you would expect, 17 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Metamorphoses (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
This is an enjoyable translation of some of Ovid's finest work. Infinitely easier than going through the Latin yourself this is a fascinating read for anyone. With classics such as the story of Orpheus and Eurydice it is a must have for those interested in the ancient myths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very readable, 28 Jan 2014
By 
Dr. K. E. Patrick (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metamorphoses (Paperback)
I use this text to teach homeschooling teenagers because it's a nice poetic version in modern English. The reading level is not difficult, and the stories of gods, nymphs, traitors, soldiers, murderers, and adventurers are all punctuated with how they turn into birds or flowers or trees or whatever, and are compelling for the students. A great resource for studying literature since Ovid was so influential to English writers through the centuries, including Shakespeare and the Romantics. Perhaps the most important source book next to the Bible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greek Mythistory, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metamorphoses (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Where it all came from - between this and Apollodorus you can find just about anything related to Greek Myth and history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great translation, 8 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Metamorphoses (Paperback)
This is a very readable translation of the complete stories of Roman mythology as assembled by Ovid. My favorite is the Romeo and Juliet-esque story of Pyramus and Thisbe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hmm..., 11 Nov 2001
By A Customer
Metamorphososes is on my reading list for a University module. I was really disappionted with this edition as although it is an ancient text, I expected a modern translation, which I didn't get. I spent more time trying to decipher the language than absorbing the story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most interesting and rivetting books I have read, 29 Aug 2001
This book has a collection of short latin stories, all about the metamorphing 'sinners' in the Roman times. Each sotry are also explanations to why we act or animals act a certain way and how some species became created. For example there is the atroy of Arachne whihc was about a girl who dared to challenge the god of weaving and beat her in a tapestry competition in whihc she got truned into a spider.
The stories are so grabbing to the reader as you have to read the wqhole book straight away as it is so compelling. It is also an interesting insight to may of the beliefs of the romans which believed in Apollo and all the related gods.
The stories involve thoguh many disturbing topics in whihc hare really only meant for adults, it includes, sex drugs, rape, incest and extreme violence, and bertrayl, whihc include a woman getting her tongue chopped off and killing and cooking her son.
It is a very good sel;ection of tales whihc could inspire anyone to write a piece on it, but don't read it if you are easily offended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Translation makes it confusing and boring., 12 Dec 2009
This review is from: Metamorphoses (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
This translation doesn't make any sense and saps the life out of the story. It needed to be seperated off into sections, because unlinked stories are seperated merely by a paragraph break, which is confusing. It also makes the stories mush together and seem dull and repetitive, rather than 'a set of variations on a theme.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars noteworthy translation of Ovid's masterpiece, 5 April 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Metamorphoses (Paperback)
Rolfe Humphries propounds a beautiful rendering of Ovid's Metamorphoses, written by the Roman poet in dactylic hexameter, much adorned, and related with almost equally sumptuous depiction as the original, acting to preserve the past and further in the dissemination and promulgation of such poetry and names as Ovids across space and throughout time. Surely something that can survive forever, semper, perpetuo, is worth, at least, perusing. Indefatigable Ovid and His fain knight, Humpries, merit examination, don't You think?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metamorphoses (Penguin Classics)
Metamorphoses (Penguin Classics) by Ovid (Paperback - 29 Dec 1955)
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews