Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint hearted
Outside of the Bible, this is the timeless heart of the Christian message. This was not written for priests or holy orders, but for those of us living in the world, coping with the pressures, battling with sin and temptation, holding down jobs and so on. And yet, it is a forthright rejection of our world and its temporal gods. This translation by Leo Shirley-Price is the...
Published on 5 Dec 2007 by A. D. Peel

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars WRONGLY LABELLED TRANSLATION! THIS IS NOT SHIRLEY-PRICE
This is NOT the superior translation by Shirley-Price, but the more readily available Croft-Bolton translation! For those who Care (and I DO) about style and elegance, this is not acceptable, to sell it as the 'Kindle edition' of the Shirley-Price translation when it is nothing of the sort.
Published 1 month ago by EStahl2


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint hearted, 5 Dec 2007
By 
A. D. Peel (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Imitation of Christ (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Outside of the Bible, this is the timeless heart of the Christian message. This was not written for priests or holy orders, but for those of us living in the world, coping with the pressures, battling with sin and temptation, holding down jobs and so on. And yet, it is a forthright rejection of our world and its temporal gods. This translation by Leo Shirley-Price is the best. It is a book you could sometimes hurl across the room in your frustration and weakness, but you will never find a passage or page that does not respond directly to your spiritual need. This is the narrow way that Jesus taught, laid out in the simplest language. There is no ambiguity here for those who prefer a more comfortable faith. It asks that you turn your back with contempt on worldly honours, wealth and power, and become, in all humility and as Thomas a Kempis says: one of the "few lovers of the Cross of Jesus". And it asks you to accept and embrace suffering if that is the result. Thomas of Kempen remains, even after 600 years, a spiritual director everyone can have access to, through this life-changing, Christian classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christian classic, 17 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Imitation of Christ (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Hardly my place to add to all the scholarly reviews and analysis of this work, but it is a classic book on how to live the Christian life. Despite being written ~600 years ago, it remains as relevant today as it has always been.
The translation by Leo Sherley-Price (1952) is faithful to the original Latin and still accessible today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Imitation of Christ hard back, 1 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. W. N. Kear (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a remarkable testimony of Christ from the 15th century. I loved to read of Thomas's candour and sincerity as he spoke of coming to know Christ and live the life of a disciple. He really knew his Saviour. The book is nicely printed and presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Imitation of Christ, 9 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. Gerald Milner (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Imitation of Christ (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Thomas a Kempis should be better known. His devotional aide is suitable to all Christians, irrespective of churchmanship. I wish I had read it years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 13 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Imitation of Christ (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
a true classic. I have read it a number of times and always find something new that I missed before. Very good devotional which will inspire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jesus is love and the way., 17 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: The Imitation of Christ (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Awesome and truly remarkable portrayal of a man who really connected with Jesus. Centuries old now but as relevant as it ever was. Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book for meditation...it is a must read for anyone who is really seeking God! I highly recommend it ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for anyone who is interested in spiritual development, 8 Feb 2012
By 
tina mohmed nurr (bristol, avon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are interested in spiritual development then this book will be of great help to you. Generally it teaches a lot about pride and how to go beyond this big obstacle to our growth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisitely profound guide to the Christian spiritual life., 20 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Imitation of Christ (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
This book is a thought-provoking exploration on man's relationship with God. It offers no simple answers, but is a meditation upon the path we must tread if we wish to achieve spiritual fulfilment in the world via the life and guidance of Jesus' teachings. Written a number of centuries ago it still has much relevance for any wishing to truly live in Christ, but be warned this is not a quick-fix guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breathe of fresh air, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not even religious and I can't have enough of this book. Very much needed new take on the philosophy of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Imitation of Christ (Penguin Classics)
The Imitation of Christ (Penguin Classics) by Thomas Kempis (Paperback - 26 May 2005)
8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews