Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars31
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2010
I had to buy a second-hand copy of this work to replace a copy worn out over the years. The edition was far better than my old version, seemed almost untouched, clean and undamaged, a book well worth owning. The text was of course the same as always, but if you need or only would like a copy do not hesitate to buy second-hand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
My first Anthony Trollope, read it with our book group. Have ordered more!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
Anthony Trollope never fails to give us a good read. Have read this two or three times but it is as enjoyable as ever.
He should be on reading list for schools as his vocabulary is extensive and I have learnt quite a few new words over the years. The English language has been enriched by him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
I am a great fan of the Barchester Chronicles and this brings them all together beautifully. I like the pace and the humour and the happy endings. I feel sad to leave the Barchester world but Trollope was wise enough to write just the right number of novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
Yep, this seller is selling these ebooks, which are taken without permission from the free site, GlobalGrey. All his books are from that website, and are available there for free.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
Another purchase to replace a copy worn out by reading and re-reading. Trollope's portrait of the central figure - and I won't spoil anyone's pleasure here - is one of the masterpieces of our language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 February 2009
The thing that elevates this novel for me is its combination of humanity and a watertight plot. Trollope reintroduces Josiah, a character who on his previous appearance, in Framley Parsonage (World's Classics), was deployed to provide a contrast to that novel's central character's flaws. Here, with great humanity and understanding, Trollope shows how the virtues displayed there also have a negative side. The clergyman emerges as an unsympathetic, self-centred but above all realistic protaganist. His difficulties are caused by a straightforward plot device with a satisfying resolution which, despite (or perhaps because of) its simplicity, would put many a specialist mystery writer to shame.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
Book in very good condition . good price good service thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2015
How could a Trollope book be anything but excellent?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2001
Reading the Barsetshire novels in sequence, one finds it hard to believe that the man who created the insipid and pollyannaish Lily Dale also created the tortured Rev Josiah Crawley. Trollope's outstanding depth of insight into the human soul comes out in full force throughout the book, and the plot's not bad either. Absolute must for anyone who thinks Trollope is all about ladies and gentleman having tea in drawing rooms and hunting. OK, there are some ladies and gentlemen having tea etc but so much more than that. Just a shame some of his other books don't come up to this standard.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse