Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The fairytales finally available in modern scholarly edition
This new edition of MacDonald's fairytales is the first I've come across which aims to offer an accessible yet scholarly detailed edition of MacDonald's fairytales. Given that McGillis' editions of the children's novels are now out of print, I was delighted to discover that someone still sees the value of publishing his work in an affordable and student-friendly format...
Published on 9 April 2001

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy this edition.
This review is of "The Light Princess, and Other Fairy Tales"

which is NOT "The Complete Fairy Tales (Penguin Classics)", despite Amazon conflating the two.

This edition is a terrible scan of the stories. There are multiple mistakes on every single page, making it completely unreadable.
Even the very first word of the very first story is...
Published 12 months ago by Rev. D


Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The fairytales finally available in modern scholarly edition, 9 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Fairy Tales (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
This new edition of MacDonald's fairytales is the first I've come across which aims to offer an accessible yet scholarly detailed edition of MacDonald's fairytales. Given that McGillis' editions of the children's novels are now out of print, I was delighted to discover that someone still sees the value of publishing his work in an affordable and student-friendly format. Knoepflmacher's introduction is excellent, and serves to locate MacDonald's fairytales within his own corpus as well as indicating their place with the tradition interest in the fairytales in the nineteenth-century, stemming from the Grimm Brother's first publication in 1812 and gaining ground throughout the intellectual revival via MacDonald, Ruskin and a number of other Victorian notables in the mid-century. Knoepflmacher's notes are also most intelligent, and he has a keen awareness of MacDonald's slightly uneasily innovative strain; I am particularly fond of the story of Ruskin's reaction to the swimming scenes in `The Light Princess'! This is a long-awaited addition to the growing MacDonald library, and I hope that perhaps in the not too distant future some of MacDonald's other writing `for the childlike' might be returned to us in a similar form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 12 Jun 2010
By 
Maureen Hunter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Fairy Tales (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Intrigued by this interesting book, which I was completely unaware of until recently. It is certainly worth reading, because it has a charm of its own. It is equally interesting to read as an adult or for sharing with grandchildren I am really pleased that I found it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 17 Sep 2000
This review is from: The Complete Fairy Tales (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I discovered George McDonald with Phantastes, an allegory about a young man's journey through Faerie, which is still my favourite book . However, many of his fairy tales still touch my heart and he'll always be amongst the writers I like most. He was a great influence to writers such as C.S. Lewis. It was time a good recopilation of his fairy tales appeared. If you're fond of fairy tales, this is a book you will surely enjoy regardless of your age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars teeny tiny writing to match delightfully inscrutable text, 24 Nov 2012
By 
D. Zoll - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Fairy Tales (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
i read two of these stories as a child and just recently tracked down the author by remembering the Maurice Sendak illustrations. (this isn't an illustrated edition). I've only read the first few of the stories but an essay by the author at the beginning on writing and the additional notes at the end were well worth the 2nd hand price of this book.
You can tell these stories were part of the fabric of Tolkein and CS Lewis' childhood and had a hand in hairy toes on the silver screen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Celebrating Childhood : Continuous Present Tense !, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly magical book of tales, enabling me to travel to worlds from my armchair . Much more than a 'Cook's Tour.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy this edition., 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is of "The Light Princess, and Other Fairy Tales"

which is NOT "The Complete Fairy Tales (Penguin Classics)", despite Amazon conflating the two.

This edition is a terrible scan of the stories. There are multiple mistakes on every single page, making it completely unreadable.
Even the very first word of the very first story is missing the very first letter.

I'm returning my copy, I suggest you don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Stories, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Fairy Tales (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Great Stories for adults and children. Would be great if list of all stories in the book was included in description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa65bc06c)

This product

The Complete Fairy Tales (Penguin Classics)
The Complete Fairy Tales (Penguin Classics) by George MacDonald (Paperback - 24 Feb 2000)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews