Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Selected Writings of Hildegard von Bingen
Hildegard was very much a 'one off': she was a twelfth century woman with a voice. Whether she was either a saintly mystic or merely someone who interpreted migraine induced hallucinations, her voice remains a fascinatingly original one and this selection is an ideal introduction to her writings.
The introduction is informative without being either too detailed or...
Published on 1 May 2005 by P. Donovan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to get through
I got this for research for my next project and found it quite hard to get into. The whole thing about German names in the twelfth century is that not only are they long and complicated in construction, but many of them are so similar one ends up wondering who is who, and losing touch with the central theme of the work. I will continue to use it as a research book, but I...
Published 7 months ago by Liz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Selected Writings of Hildegard von Bingen, 1 May 2005
By 
P. Donovan "cultural jackdaw" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Selected Writings (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Hildegard was very much a 'one off': she was a twelfth century woman with a voice. Whether she was either a saintly mystic or merely someone who interpreted migraine induced hallucinations, her voice remains a fascinatingly original one and this selection is an ideal introduction to her writings.
The introduction is informative without being either too detailed or too patronising. There is a well-balanced mix of her letters as well as extracts from her longer works such as 'Scivias'.
She was a polymath who wrote, composed and illustrated in response to her visions and whist it is disappointing that there are only a few colour plates of her extraordinary pictures, I would thoroughly recommend this book to all who wish to explore the writings of one of the most astonishing medieval figures first hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly epoch-defining experience, 16 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Selected Writings (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
It isn't very often that one comes across a book such as this, but I felt that I had to write in and comment on the brilliance with which the book has been edited by Mark 'Mak' Atherton. Never afraid to fly in the face of 'popular' (is that not a misnomer?!) Hildegarde scholarship, Atherton's thrillingly original and daringly subversive 'take' on Hildegarde reveals that, beneath the apparently saintly facade, a riot of passion and lust lay heavy upon her heart. I wait with baited breath for Atherton's next page-turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Medieval New Ager, 5 Aug 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Selected Writings (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
As a composer, poet and writer on theological, scientific and medical subjects, Hildegard von Bingen has bequeathed us a rich legacy. She is one of the few female medieval composers whose work is generally known and performed today. My favorite interpretation of her music can be found in four tracks on Meredith monk‚€™s album ‚€œMonk and the Abbess.‚€� Atherton‚€™s book provides selected texts from her visionary Scivias trilogy, her medical writings, songs and letters. Interestingly enough, Hildegard is known today in Europe by followers of holistic and herbal medicine on the one hand, and by lovers of classical and medieval music on the other. She is also admired for her life story and for having been a popular and influential author during a misogynist era. Although she was orthodox in belief and criticized the Gnostic Cathars to my dismay, I still admire her spirituality and the feminine expression of it (she saw man & woman as equals) and her understanding of humanity‚€™s unity with nature and the universe. Atherton provides explanatory introductions to her writings, and the book has a chronology of her colorful life, a discography of her music, notes, a glossary and commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to get through, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this for research for my next project and found it quite hard to get into. The whole thing about German names in the twelfth century is that not only are they long and complicated in construction, but many of them are so similar one ends up wondering who is who, and losing touch with the central theme of the work. I will continue to use it as a research book, but I don't think it is the best structure for that really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this World, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Inspirational, beautiful imagery/visualisations, added to my faith - a wonderful insight and offers hope. I personally dipped into it many times and in different places to get the 'feel' and slowly became more 'involved'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Selected Writings (Penguin Classics)
Selected Writings (Penguin Classics) by Oliver Davies (Paperback - 31 May 2001)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews