Customer Reviews


744 Reviews
5 star:
 (544)
4 star:
 (128)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


127 of 134 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A literary triumph
I was slightly reluctant to read Jane Eyre. In the past I have had bad expieriences with what people would deem 'intellectual' books and wrongly dub as 'contemporary classics', but I can honestly say that Jane Eyre deserves to be referred to as a classic.
It is written in an autobiographical style and tells the story of Jane Eyre (obviously), who was orphaned at an...
Published on 23 Aug 2005

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but abridged?
Good version, but not the full version - I don't remember this being stated when I bought it? Good if you jst want the 'gist' though.
Published on 27 Oct 2011 by Joy's mother


‹ Previous | 1 2 375 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic with all the excitement of a modern thriller, 5 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This book was recommended to me by a friend and deciding that I should be reading more 'classic' books I started reading. I couldn't put it down and was living the story, sharing all the feelings with the realistic and lively characters. A book for everyone young or old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 68 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On receipt, 29 Oct 2008
By 
J. Hopkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jane Eyre (Audio CD)
Just received this and disappointed to see that it is abridged. I cannot see any reference to this detail on the screen information. I have not yet listened to this item. This is just the first point to note. May I suggest that the word 'abridged' should be clearly shown on the screen information that we see when we are considering buying an item.
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless romance, 23 Jan 2003
Young Jane has a tough childhood growing up with her cousins and aunt after her parents passed away. Treated like a servant, and not like a member of the family, Jane felt she was all alone in the world, and it doesn't make it better when she's sent away to school. First as a student, and then as a teacher/guverness, but neither is like a dance on roses. Then her skills bring her to a mysterious and quite arrogant Mr.Rochesters house where she becomes the guverness...
This book illustrates very well the passionate love from a woman's point of view. No longer is the female character a background character, but becomes independant with feelings, passion, integrety and a strong mind.
The book is very realistic, and you can easily identify yourself with the feelings that the main character has. Her devotion for what she loves, and her effort to make the best out of her life.
Charlotte Brontė, who first published this book under a pseudonym, is probably the most well-known of the Brontė sisters who all died very young. Jane Eyre is a brilliant book of a woman who can be a role model for young girls of today. Her determination to make life the best for herself as no one else seems to bother, and her passion for what she loves. One of the first romance novels written. A true classic that I very much enjoyed to read, and I'm certain I will read it many more times. Even my friend, who doesn't like reading very much, totally loved this book. I warmly recommend this to anyone who loves a good novel, and most certainly to young girls. I think the language might be a little advanced for anyone younger than 16.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immediate Success, 8 Feb 2003
By 
Peter Kenney (Birmingham, Alabama, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
JANE EYRE is a wonderful story about a woman's struggle to survive and go on to realize her full potential. It is also a stirring tale of romance in which love conquers evil and despair.
The plot is interesting while the main characters are multi-dimensional and very intriguing. The book has almost too many characters but some are memorable simply because they seem so real.
The story begins with Jane Eyre as an unwanted orphan in the care of a cruel aunt who has two spoiled children of her own. Jane is sent to an austere boarding school where she develops into a remarkable young woman able to overcome tremendous obstacles and discouragements. She gets a job as governess for a young girl at Thornfield which is owned by Edward Rochester. The evolving love relationship between Jane and Edward becomes the focus of the novel whose broad message is uplifting in spite of the sombre mood and tragic events which often intervene.
I like Charlotte Bronte's writing style. It is easy to see why she became an immediate success with the publication of JANE EYRE in 1847.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Eyre, 15 Mar 2006
Definitely one of my 'Desert Island' book choices. I have read this novel dozens of times and the beauty of it never grows dim.
Jane is not your typical heroine; other characters view her plain and small and insignificant but not Mr Rochester. Then again, he is hardly the dashing hero either! This book is as relevant today as it has always been. People are people. That will never change.
There are some cracking lines in it too which show Bronte's humour:
Rochester[after the fire]: "Am I hideous, Jane?"
Jane:"Very, sir: you always were, you know."
A true classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real and inspiring Jane Eyre's life story, 24 Jun 2006
By 
A Passer By "Book Lover" (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Charlotte Bronte's "Jane Eyre" tells a story of a very likable personage - orphan girl Jane Eyre who, after her parents' deaths lived in a house of her aunt and three cousins who heartily hated her, then being of the age of 10 she was sent to a special school-orphanage where after spending 8 years she became a teacher and later a governess in a rich people's house...The fun part of a story starts exactly where Jane is felling in love and the reader is able to know more of the special Jane Eyre's character...

It is an excellent literature work, an amazing story and real pleasure to read. Having never read any works of Charlotte Bronte before I was quite sceptical about "Jane Eyre" at first thinking it is going to be another Cinderella like story about an angelically kind orphan girl who lets other people be cruel to her. Anyway Jane Eyre is a very strong, brave and independent personage as well as kind and all the other novel characters seem to be very realistic and believable too.

The story itself was very enjoyable and powerful, it didn't have any clichés, I couldn't expect it to end the way it did and what I liked most (and what surprised me most) that the author's goal did not seem to make all the story personages perfect and polished like in other works of that time but we may encounter with a great variety of REAL characters. Charlotte Bronte's "Jayne Eyre" is a brilliantly written story of young girl's life and real earthly love. I love it very much and recommend it to everyone because it was an amazingly written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 1 Feb 2011
By 
Jue (Deeside, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Eyre (Kindle Edition)
I had never read Jane Eyre and so glad I downloaded it
Mesmorisisng thoughly good read.
Its like being transported back in time, Jane Eyre a woman ahead of her time
Well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Book, 25 Dec 2010
This review is from: Jane Eyre (Kindle Edition)
I have now read Jane Eyre so many times that the count is well into double figures. I have read through three printed copies. Two of these printed versions ended up physically falling apart. To me, this book has something special, something that calls me back several times a year. even if you don't end up loving it as I do, it is a book well worth an initial read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beloved Classic & Remarkable Literary Work, 1 Mar 2006
Charlotte Bronte's "Jane Eyre" has been one of my favorite novels since I first read it in high school. It is one of those special books which can be read and savored over and over, and seems to improve with each reading. The tale is narrated by Miss Eyre, herself, inviting a special and intimate relationship with the reader. It is through Jane that we meet and grow to care about, or hate, so many of the memorable characters one becomes acquainted with on these pages. And it is through her narrative, first as a little girl, then as a young woman, that Jane's complex persona is revealed. From an early age her morality, wit, determination, sheer grit and romanticism are evident.
Published in 1847, the novel, at first glance, appears to be another well written gothic romance, of the kind so popular in the Victorian Age, with its mystery, horror, brooding hero, touch of the melodramatic, and dark castle-like setting. The rise of poor orphaned Jane, who against all odds, redeems her tormented hero through her steadfast love, is really not unique at all. Charlotte Bronte did not, however, write a mere romance, no matter how riveting the read. Throughout, the author makes some serious statements about women's equality, the treatment of children, and of women forced into a dependent state during the Victorian epoch, religious hypocrisy, romantic relationships between men and women, the nature of true love, and the development of self. This is a beautifully written work of fiction which combines a riveting storyline, compelling characters, vivid descriptions along with a powerful testimony about the period in which the book was written.
Young Jane, orphaned at an early age, is grudgingly taken-in by her Aunt, Mrs. Reed, who seems to despise the child. The Reed children are spoiled rotten, and the eldest son is somewhat of a sadist who abuses his young cousin terribly. Aunt Reed always finds a reason to blame Jane for the household's ills. When the boy takes his torture too far and Jane attempts to defend herself, her aunt has her locked in the room where her uncle died, terrifying the poor girl into hysteria. Unwilling to care for the girl any longer, Mrs. Reed packs her off to the harsh Lowood School, a miserable charitable institution which is more like a prison than a place of education. Lowood's despicable headmaster, Rev. Brockelhurst, does everything in his power to break Jane's spirit. At one point, when he asks Jane how to avoid going to hell, she defiantly responds, "I must stay well and not die."
A particularly compassionate teacher recognizes Jane's intelligence and sensitivity and befriends the girl. When Jane graduates she stays to teach at Lowood until her mentor leaves to marry. Jane then decides it is time for a change, and applies for a position as a governess. She is offered a job at the distant Thornfield Manor. Mrs. Fairfax, Thornfield's housekeeper, welcomes her warmly and introduces her to the staff and to little girl who will be her pupil, the precocious Adele. She is not, however, introduced to all the household's inhabitants - especially not to one who inhabits the uppermost floor. Thornfield's owner, Mr. Rochester, (one of my favorite literary heroes), is away when our protagonist arrives, yet it is he who will have a most profound effect on her life - and she on his.
If you have not read "Jane Eyre" yet, why wait any longer? If you have not reread it for a few years, now's the time! My highest recommendations!
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 19 Oct 2004
By 
Stracs "Stracs" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Jane Eyre was one of the books I read for my A-Level English. I imagined a wishy washy romantic novel that I would find the next month reading very boring. The lesson of "dont judge a book by its cover" was well learnt by me having read this! Jane Eyre is a wonderfully dark tale of the life of a young woman who suffered a terrible childhood, and her adult life that was shaped by that childhood. Jane Eyre is a brilliantly drawn character who feels like a living breathing person you can most definatly believe in. Mr Rochester is an equally well drawn, enigmatic character with some wonderfully dark secrets. He bears similarities to Mr Darcy in Pride and Prejudice, though is more secretive and a more brooding personality.
The story itself is intricatly woven throughout that book and paced very well. The suspense created keeps you wanting to read on, and indeed reluctant to put the book down. The descriptions of Jane's childhood are moving, and really set the context of the love story to come brilliantly. This is far more than a romantic tale of a couple falling in love. It gives you a view into how society at the time viewed relationships between the classes, and the love affair is fraught to say the least. Love conquers all, but it is not the walk in the park that too many authors portray it to be.
This book really deserves the description of a classic. Brilliant writing, wonderful characters and a suprising story with twists galore combine to make what must be one of the greatest books of all time. The fact that it is an older book should not put off readers. The language used is still beautiful and very understandable even if you have never read a classic before. Whats more, the subject matter still seems wholly relevant today. Much as I love Pride and Prejudice for example, to me it is really a book of its time. Jane Eyre somehow seems more relevant in the 21st century, especially with its darker view on life and love. However, it is not a "heavy" read in the way some classics such as War and Peace are. This book is highly entertaining and I would happily recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 375 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jane Eyre (Penguin Classics)
Jane Eyre (Penguin Classics) by Charlotte Bronte (Mass Market Paperback - 7 Mar 1996)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews